We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Mercato Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #26 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open since November 2010, Mercato Bar & Kitchen offers Italian inspired seasonally conscious cuisine, an extensive specialty cocktail program and Italian and New York state wines.
Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
296 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our friends in Ithaca have taken us several times to Mercato when we have visited. Definitely a great choice- we had the fettucine & mussels and the fish in parchment paper. Very fresh sea food ingredients in great sauces. The waiter was very helpful with the wine choices. Service is always great.

Although, we are aren't big on dessert wines, the dessert wine flight had some great choices.

Look forward to our next time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    40
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good solid dining choice in Ithaca”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant dining experience here. Nice location in town, comfortable ambiance, attentive service, and tasty food. Not a 5 star restaurant, but that should be left to a special few.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drvalgemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ithaca's Best”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

As a local hotel owner and Chef; this is where I go to relax and enjoy a good meal. I also send my own guests here when they're looking for a fine place to dine.
Great ambiance, great menu and food, superior service etc...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, New York, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Ithaca, hands down.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I've dined at Mercato several times over the last few years - with my husband on dates, on double dates with friends, with the ladies, and with coworkers - weeknights and weekends. I'm never disappointed. It's always a pleasure.

Meals: Standards that remain on the menu include the steak and the scallops. Either one will make you very happy. I have also recently had the veal milanese, a huge pounded and then breaded filet with a large side of fresh arugula lightly and perfectly dressed. I've also had the chicken milanese -- breaded chicken filets are hard to order when you make them at home. But the chef rocked it. Super thin and crispy but light. The kitchen usually has a green side special. Order that.

Wine: The staff if happy to provide a taste if you're trying to choose between vintages. I recommend a quartino (250mL - a little beaker / carafe) to share, and then trying another, and another. This restaurant has the kind of wine list where you enter a wine store the next day asking about something you tasted the night before.

Bar: The real standout for me about Mercato is the bar. The waitstaff is great. Attentive, knowledgeable, willing to serve. Easy on the eyes. But it's the bar staff that is the great take-away -- and of course the bar. Mercato has a deep bar. You won't find any Jack Daniels on the shelf. But don't worry. You like Jack Daniels? Tell a bartender, and you will learn the history of JD, its forerunners, how to describe the taste, what other whiskeys they have, how they differ, and then, after you tell them what you like, they can make you a drink served in 1925 made with four ingredients that will blow your socks off. Or just pour you something neat that will haunt your dreams. I like to eat dinner at the bar because it's like attending a Cornell ag history lecture where the prof serves gin and crostini with chicken livers and pickled red onion (delicious $6 app btw - perfect while splitting a bottle of $25 wine).

Dessert: I've never had anything chocolate here. The dessert menu includes digestifs that are off the charts good. I recommend trying the amaro flight. Amaro is an italian herbal liquer, usually bitter-sweet. But the range in taste is what's so exciting. You find one you like in the flight, and then you have your answer to all the problems that come with cheesecake. They also have grappa flights. The bar is deep - liquor, wine, after-dinner. The parents of the owners also make limoncello that's offered on the menu. Delicious. Not too sweet.

If you're in Ithaca for a college visit with your kids -- don't miss this one. If you're a local and need a great date night (1st date or 25th anniversary) -- Mercato.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 409jenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode island
Level Contributor
140 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“DON'T BELIEVE THE GOOD REVIEWS!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

DON'T BE DECEIVED!!! This is a fast food restaurant masquerading as fine dining. Precooked pasta that turned cold in 5 minutes, served less than 10 minutes after we sat down. The orechiette on the menu had no sauce listed and when asked, our genuinely attentive but ill-informed waitress said it was in 'olive oil.' Assuming al'olio, I was disgusted to find it was only in 'broth': doubtless the very water it was nuked in. My companion's tagliatelle was equally reheated and equally quickly cold. Our bill came to $57. for a meal that should have been priced at $25. We were in and out on a busy Friday night in 35 minutes! It takes only minutes to cook pasta freshly. We should have noticed that the busy and big bar had 2 bartenders while the tiny 'kitchen' had 3 cooks --- each working a microwave, it would seem. Fuhgedddabowdit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fergrimes-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mercato Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing