We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Ithaca B&B”
Review of Hound and Hare Too

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hound and Hare Too
Ranked #12 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I recently took a trip to Ithaca in order to visit some friends and family, and the Hound and the Hare Too came highly recommended as the place to stay. The owners were extremely friendly and welcomed us upon our arrival before showing us to our room. The house was wonderfully decorated, clean, and cozy, and was conveniently located only a few minutes drive from everywhere we visited while in town. Our bed was amazingly comfortable and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic, one of the best meals we had the whole trip!! This is the perfect Ithaca B&B, and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JReyn0lds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Hound and Hare Too. The breakfasts were gourmet and we had many delicious choices. I think perhaps any choice would have been fantastic but we had the ginger waffles with sauteed fresh peaches, maple syrup, hot coffee, and fruit in their elegant dining room overlooking well manicured flower beds and lawns. It is spotlessly clean (shoes at the door) and our hostess was so welcoming she made us feel like old friends there for a visit. The master bedroom has its own bath, an elegant chaise lounge and very comfortable bed. The other three rooms are meticulously appointed and share another bathroom. Linens (freshly pressed!) are changed each day and towels were used once and replaced. We loved every minute of our stay!

Room Tip: The sitting room downstairs has French doors leading to a patio which we were invited to use. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjmatucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at hound and hare too after most other bread and breakfast's were full. Although it is convenient to Cornell University it had a bit of an oder and as we were the only guests in the house did not feel very welcome. Would not recommend.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Inn for Cornell graduation and everything was just perfect. The rooms are all beautifully decorated and very comfortable with lovely linens. The gourmet breakfast choices including lemon crepes, fritattas, homemade waffles and fresh oatmeal were all delicious--the table setting looked liked something out of a magazine- Highly recommended if you are in Ithaca area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The Hound and Hare Too is a perfect B&B within a five minute drive of Cornell University (we were attending a conference) and Ithaca. Karen the friendly innkeeper offers guests a selection of breakfast menus and asks what time you would like to start breakfast. She serves a full breakfast with hot dishes such as gourmet omlettes, frittatas or waffles, also fruit plates, coffee cake, bread. Or you can have hot or cold cereal. You won't need lunch. The house is spotlessly clean (take off your shoes). It is a very tastefully furnished house, and the breakfast is served on fine china. The air conditioning worked well during the heat wave. There are never more than two groups at the house: either two couples or one couple and one small family. Cayuga Heights (just north of Cornell) is a forested suburb, in which you shouldn't drive too fast because there are small deer and fawns about, especially at twilight. The Hound and Hare Too is a fine jumping off place for visits to the state parks, the Lake, the Cornell Ornithology lab. It is also within a ten minute walk of a fine restaurant, The Heights Cafe/Grill, our favorite in the region, which we have also reviewed favorably.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GC_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
4.8 mi away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
1.7 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hound and Hare Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hound and Hare Too

Address: Comstock Road, Cayuga Heights, Ithaca, NY
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing