We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous Falls!

What a wonderful place! The falls just keep on coming and the steps alongside are fantastic - a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
missionink
,
Oneonta, New York
The falls are spectacular

We came here at the end of October. If you want to see the falls, go to the upper parking lot, it... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
59ellenb
,
Bear, Delaware
via mobile
Read all 1,326 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ithaca
from $358.98
More Info
from $58.47
More Info
Reviews (1,326)
Filter reviews
1,326 results
Traveler rating
1,030
253
31
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,030
253
31
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lucifer falls diving board swimming area rim trail old mill upper entrance lower falls mile hike state park upper lot natural pool great hike robert treman on duty hiking trails stone steps ithaca area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 1,326 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2019

Very impressive park, both in terms of natural beauty and of maintenance. There are two primary trails to take, we started off at the Lower Park, took the Gorge trail and finished with the Rim trail. A lot of work is being done to improve the (easily 1000!) steps - fortunately it was not too wet – it would be quite slippery otherwise, and it appears from several signs and gates that at times portions of the trails are closed because of weather conditions. One highlight for a member of our group who is an admitted ophidiophobe – an Eastern Milk Snake slithered by (non-poisonous) - which generated a lot of non-specialist speculation as to what had just been seen. In terms of the level of difficulty between this walk and that at Watkins Glen - this one was more strenuous. Both, however, are quite photogenic. The Enfield Falls Mill and Miller's House are also quite interesting for a unique view into the history of this area, well before it became a state park.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Marshall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

We parked at the bottom, saw the Lower Falls and then hiked to the top...beautiful views...glad it was a cool day since the swimming areas were closed.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank SunshineIsGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

they have two entrances to the park.
I prefer going to the upper entrance, as it has a better view of the gorges and access to the waterfalls. Very pretty.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank 112heesungk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

We parked at the bottom, hiked in to see the Lower Falls with swimming area (closed), and then proceeded on to the actual loop from bottom of the gorge to the top and back again. Just spectacular scenery and the waterfalls were on point sparkling in the sun. The signs every .25 mile were so very encouraging and prepared us for some of the steeper challenges that awaited. In fact, there was one missing sign on the way back down and scratched in where it should have been was the word 'DAMN' and I must admit we felt similarly not to see a sign. Wear good footwear seems obvious, but maybe not for the unprepared day-tripper. Also need to have plenty of water as the hike will make you sweat. It was nice to find drinking water at the top and replenish our jug for the descent.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

The hike through this gorge is the longest of the state park gorge hikes around Ithaca - about 3 miles from top to bottom. The best waterfalls are at the upper end, and there is a great swimming hole at the base of a large waterfall at the bottom of the gorge. I'm local, and I always take visitors in from the top, down to Lucifer Falls, and back up. It's moderately steep, but short. And then we sometimes stop at the bottom. This is because visitors always undereatimate the number of gorges and their beauty, and try to cram in too many hikes in one day. If you have time, this one is best hiked from the bottom up.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank MPP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews