We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for relaxing in Ithaca!”
Review of Rosebarb Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosebarb Farm
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family stayed at Rosebarb Farm for multiple days when visiting Ithaca. The cottage is homey, clean, and comfortable. Rita and Don were fantastic hosts, offering plenty of ideas to add to the itinerary. The horses, chickens, and of course Rubia (their fluffy polar bear-like dog) were an added benefit! It is a close drive to downtown Ithaca. There were really no negatives about our visit and I highly recommend staying at Rosebarb Farm!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 62 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were just passing through upstate NY on our way up to Toronto and wanted to visit Ithaca and the Finger Lakes. While searching trip advisor for B&Bs, we found this farm that sounded like a different experience. It turned out to be a very nice place and the owners - Rita and Don - were very friendly and helpful. We were only able to stay for one night, but had a very relaxing stay after a long drive from Boston. The room (more like a townhouse that is separate from the owner's house) had a kitchen and living room downstairs and a bedroom upstairs. Everything was clean and well decorated and the bed was quite comfortable. If you're in the area, this farm is definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davey314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We just spent a glorious week at Rosebarb Farm and were sad to leave. Our hosts, Rita and Don, welcomed us and made us feel right at home. It was nice getting to know them, exploring the farm, and learning a little about green farming. The views were spectacular with the Fall colors turning. The cottage is everything a charming country cottage should be. Clean and well equipped with a kitchen and two full baths. The view to the East from the 2nd floor bedroom was spectacular. We took advantage of hiking the many beautiful gorges that are nearby and also had time for some wine tasting at some of the vineyards along the lakes. We would definitely stay at Rosebarb Farm again! Bill and Diana, Connecticut

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband, daughter and myself were headed to Ithaca for our daughter's orientation at I.C.
I had originally booked a chain hotel before I found Rosebarb Farm on the internet. Switching to the farm was the best decision I made. We spent two lovely and relaxing nights at Rosebarb Farm. From the onset Rita and Don made us feel welcomed and comfortable. Over the next two days we and interesting and engaging conversations about Ithaca, the farm, etc.The breakfast Rita made from the eggs we gathered the day before was fabulous!
My daughter, an animal lover enjoyed spending time with the horses and their very sweet dog, Rubia. The accommodations were great; It gave us privacy and had everything we needed.
An added bonus was the pool which was so refreshing and relaxing. We strongly recommend this unique place to spend a few days and explore the lovely town of Ithaca.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our July weekend at this farm jewel was wonderful. As farmers in another life, the pace and activities tugged our heartstrings. Rita and Don are the ultimate hosts, attentive to our needs but
unobtrusive to a fault. The accommodations.are attractive, well equipped and pristine. One of our party recovering from a back injury repaired to the beautiful gazebo by the pool, reading the paper undisturbed and we found him there later sleeping peacefully. Ithaca has much to offer and RoseBarb is well situated to the lake, downtown and both Cornell and Ithaca Colleges. Strongly recommended to family and small group travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My parents actually stayed here and we visited them during their stay. The farm was lovely and the cottage large and roomy, very well equipped. There was a lovely gazebo and a pool, surrounded by beautiful flowers. The peace and quiet was amazing. Breakfast was served the first day which was also a treat, according to my folks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahjk0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just got home from a 4 night stay at RoseBarb Farm. We have a 1 year old and a 2-1/2 year old. We chose the farm because we feel that it is hard for our family to squeeze into a 1 room suite at a hotel and still have a place to wind down after the kids go to bed. And we don't yet need to stay in 2 hotel rooms. We considered other B&B's but sometimes our kids can be hard to get down for the night. We were concerned about disturbing others, plus we don't consider rooms full of antiques to be "kid friendly".

But all of those concerns went out the window when we found RoseBarb Farm. The cottage was the perfect space for all of us. The bedroom upstairs was huge and perfect for everyone to sleep in. And my wife and I were able to spend some time together downstairs in the living room after the kids were asleep. Everything a family needs was provided. There were even some vintage farm toys that our kids loved.

The farm was such an amazing experience and a great opportunity for our family to reconnect. It was fun to watch our older girl learn to help gathering eggs and harvesting vegetables. Our hosts Don and Rita made us feel like we were family and made sure everything we needed was taken care of. The entire experience will not be forgotten. The only thing we would have done differently would be to plan for less sight-seeing around Ithaca and spend more time around the farm. The farm experience alone is worth the 8-hour trip each way.

I know this has been a long review and there is so much more I can say. But if you are considering a trip to the Finger Lakes region, make plans to stay at RoseBarb Farm. Relax and spend some quality family time together. And be sure to make at least 1 trip to Brookton's Market, right down the road.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
5.7 mi away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ithaca, NY
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
716 reviews
6 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
6.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosebarb Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebarb Farm

Address: 108 Landon Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9821
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ithaca
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A farm vacation near Ithaca, NY, in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lakes, Cornell, Ithaca College, dozens of vineyards, boating, antique shops, with a peaceful farm cottage on a working farm as a relaxing base. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing