We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Finger Lakes Treasure”
Review of Rosebarb Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosebarb Farm
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our July weekend at this farm jewel was wonderful. As farmers in another life, the pace and activities tugged our heartstrings. Rita and Don are the ultimate hosts, attentive to our needs but
unobtrusive to a fault. The accommodations.are attractive, well equipped and pristine. One of our party recovering from a back injury repaired to the beautiful gazebo by the pool, reading the paper undisturbed and we found him there later sleeping peacefully. Ithaca has much to offer and RoseBarb is well situated to the lake, downtown and both Cornell and Ithaca Colleges. Strongly recommended to family and small group travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 62 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

My parents actually stayed here and we visited them during their stay. The farm was lovely and the cottage large and roomy, very well equipped. There was a lovely gazebo and a pool, surrounded by beautiful flowers. The peace and quiet was amazing. Breakfast was served the first day which was also a treat, according to my folks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahjk0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just got home from a 4 night stay at RoseBarb Farm. We have a 1 year old and a 2-1/2 year old. We chose the farm because we feel that it is hard for our family to squeeze into a 1 room suite at a hotel and still have a place to wind down after the kids go to bed. And we don't yet need to stay in 2 hotel rooms. We considered other B&B's but sometimes our kids can be hard to get down for the night. We were concerned about disturbing others, plus we don't consider rooms full of antiques to be "kid friendly".

But all of those concerns went out the window when we found RoseBarb Farm. The cottage was the perfect space for all of us. The bedroom upstairs was huge and perfect for everyone to sleep in. And my wife and I were able to spend some time together downstairs in the living room after the kids were asleep. Everything a family needs was provided. There were even some vintage farm toys that our kids loved.

The farm was such an amazing experience and a great opportunity for our family to reconnect. It was fun to watch our older girl learn to help gathering eggs and harvesting vegetables. Our hosts Don and Rita made us feel like we were family and made sure everything we needed was taken care of. The entire experience will not be forgotten. The only thing we would have done differently would be to plan for less sight-seeing around Ithaca and spend more time around the farm. The farm experience alone is worth the 8-hour trip each way.

I know this has been a long review and there is so much more I can say. But if you are considering a trip to the Finger Lakes region, make plans to stay at RoseBarb Farm. Relax and spend some quality family time together. And be sure to make at least 1 trip to Brookton's Market, right down the road.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had so much fun at Rosebarb farm. It is very close to Cornell, which makes it convenient to go to and from campus. I joined my parents at the farm after finishing my semester at Cornell. It was a great place to decompress. Don and Rita were fantastic hosts. We were treated to a wonderful breakfast (made from Rosebarb farm and local ingredients), followed by a horse drawn wagon tour of the farm. There is a wonderful little store, Brookston Market, about 1 mile round trip from the farm that makes great coffee and breakfast sandwiches. I can not wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My brother goes to school in Ithaca and when my family wanted to go for a visit we decided to stay at the farm instead of getting multiple hotel rooms so we could all stay together. Well, the description sounded interesting, but did no justice to the actual experience of staying in the guest house. The cottage itself is lovely, clean, roomy and has all the basic necessaties. The location is beautiful, great for walks or jogging, The farm animals are fun to see. But what really sets the experience apart is the company and hospitality of Rita and Don. Like so many other reviewers, we have so many kind things to say, but you should really experience it for yourself. Spending time time with Don and Rita became the highlight of our trip and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bahare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We are a family of two adults and four children with various ages.
The farm is fabulous, very peacefull, children loved the pool and the animals.
The two floor house is very spacious, clean and equipped well.
It is very near to Ithaca and close to all Finger Lakes attractions.
You usually see such farms in Europe, but there are not that many in the US.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farhi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Rita and Don are wonderful hosts. We stayed 5 days with our 4 year old and 1 year old children. They had a blast. The cottage was very roomy and comfortable for all of us. The farm itself was fantastic. Our children loved watching the chickens, turkeys and horses. They loved feeding the chickens too. And the pony ride was a highlight. And who doesn't love farm fresh eggs for breakfast!

Rita and Don really looked to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable--even helping us find a babysitter for the afternoon. Our 4 year old is still talking about every moment and has since become a dog lover after petting Rubia (she was scared of dogs until this point).

Rita and Don were so gracious...answering all our questions about farming and growing vegtables. And letting us pick fresh veggies for dinner too.

We all had a terffic time and we look forward to returning one day!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
5.7 mi away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ithaca, NY
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
716 reviews
6 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
6.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosebarb Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebarb Farm

Address: 108 Landon Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9821
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ithaca
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A farm vacation near Ithaca, NY, in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lakes, Cornell, Ithaca College, dozens of vineyards, boating, antique shops, with a peaceful farm cottage on a working farm as a relaxing base. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing