We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Weekend”
Review of The Hound And Hare

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hound And Hare
Ranked #13 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Delightful Weekend”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I visited Ithaca for the first time for a get-away weekend. We are so happy we found The Hound and the Hare. The location is in the non-student area of Ithaca, about a 5-10 minute drive to Cornell University and/or the city's commons, where there are shops and restaurants. Our room was comfortable and clean and quiet. No tv in the room, but who needs tv if you have your ipad and have things to do? (There was a tv in the library, where we sipped tea in the afternoons between visits to the farmer's market and wineries.) Zetta was a lovely host and a superb cook. We enjoyed getting to know the other guests over breakfast each morning. The property is beautiful. If the weather were warmer, we would have been out on the back porch enjoying her yard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Zetta is a lovely person; however, she did indicate feeling overwhelmed as an innskeeper due to health concerns and her age. It was sad to hear that. We found this bed and breakfast to be lacking in several areas: extremely uncomfortable bed in "The Valerie"; 30 year outdated decor; repairs needed (broken blinds, new shower fixtures and switches). One visit and a sleepless night simply won't inspire a second visit for us; that is, unless major renovations are made. Or, a new owner/manager. There is a huge road construction project on Hanshaw Road making travel-ease into and out of Ithaca very challenging and inconvenient.

Room Tip: Avoid "The Valerie" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkerbell-hop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Zetta is the perfect host, and the B&B is just breathtaking. The rooms are incredible, the garden impeccable, and the whole place exudes a unique atmosphere.
We are a family of 5, so we took two rooms. The kids were delighted with their spacious beds and the fish pond in the back yard.
It's a bit like going back in time to another era. Ithaca itself is breathtaking a worth the visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This B&B is well run, spotless and welcoming. It is situated 5 minutes from the Cornell campus and 10 from the downtown area. The bedroom we stayed in, "Victoria", had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The bathroom was large and well-appointed.
The hostess, Zeda, was warm, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was served on fine china, silver and crystal. My only wish was that breakfast, although tasty, would have had a bit more protein. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I just stayed here. We had a wonderful time. The home is amazing. The gardens are exquisite. Zetta, the inn keeper, is a kind person who shared her home, her stories and her delicious cooking with us. We felt welcomed and cared for while visiting. The location is perfect because you are close to everything that Ithaca has to offer. We strongly recommend that you stay here when visiting Ithaca!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mzb2dag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sinai, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hound and Hare during our daughter's college orientation. We found it very welcoming from the decorative outdoor lights that greeted is on a very foggy night to the extremely well kept and beautifully decorated interior to the placid porch and gardens outside the dining room where we had breakfast. The website photos are accurate. I look forward to more stays here during my daughters college years! Thank you Zetta.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

An absolute delight; Zetta is the best. Plus her back porch and private spacious gardens with pond and sitting area - WOW. Zetta's living room, dining area, and sitting room are works of love. The three upstairs bedrooms have it all. We stayed in the ensuite for two (half-way up her heavily carpeted stairs): quiet, super comfortable, delightfully decorated, and has both a roomy closet and a roomy well-designed bathroom. Plus she is an excellent cook!

We also saw Zetta's two-room suite, which appeared ideal for a family of four.

Room Tip: The three upstairs bedrooms have it all. We stayed in the ensuite for two (half-way up her heavily c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pqueneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
1.5 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
670 reviews
2.1 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#13 of 22 in Ithaca
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hound And Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hound And Hare

Property: The Hound And Hare
Address: 1031 Hanshaw Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-2741
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hound and Hare Bed & Breakfast is located in a quiet residential neigborhood in the Town of Ithaca, one mile from Cornell University and 3 miles from Ithaca College. This B&B is an historic white brick colonial house located on a beautifully landscaped acre of land which includes private gardens, paths, Koi pond with fountain and wooded areas. The Hound & Hare is elegantly decorated with family heirlooms and antiques -- providing a delightful ambiance for rest and relaxation. There is also free off-street parking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing