We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cayuga Lake”
Review of Cayuga Lake

Cayuga Lake
Ranked #6 of 61 things to do in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the largest of New York's Finger Lakes, this area is used for swimming, boating, fishing and other outdoor recreational activities.
Binghamton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cayuga Lake”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Isn't that a great picture! Well when I went, we had been in a drought. So only a trickle of water in the water fall. We all walked right in the dry creek bed. There were some big puddles that the kids jumped in. We walked up the creek bed taking tons of pictures. Great canyon walls. Then we walked back on the forest path. We ended the day with a swim in Cayuga lake and a picnic. Great day had by all. :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    62
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reading, Writing and Reisling”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The second largest of the "Finger Lakes", Cayuga Lake boasts several top-rated universities on it shores including Ithaca College, Cornell University and Wells College. For those interested in wine, many vineyards hug the eastern and western shores of the long lake.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Scenic area with many hikes, views, etc.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

In summer. there are many parks on both sides of Cayuga Lake to swim, fish, boat and hike. many parks, including State Parks, are located a short distance from Ithaca. Historic, scenic, waterfalls, camping, etc.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank shanemaidele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endwell, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I travel to the Ithaca area quite often because of the spectacular views and wine trails. It is worth the trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice lake with good clean water”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The lake claimed my camera and girlfriend's GPS in an unfortunate kayak fiasco. It's very clean and the water is of a pleasant temperature in the summer because the lake is quite small. Usually, it's very calm and excellent for kayaking ... there are always exceptions to every rule. :(

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayuga Lake also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Cayuga Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing