We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!!!”

Purity Ice Cream Co
Ranked #1 of 12 Dessert in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Premium ice cream from upstate NY milk! Fresh baked pies, muffins, cupcakes and other goodies. Saturday and Sunday Breakfast 7:30am-1:00pm Monday-Friday Lunch 11:00am-2:30pm Fresh food, local ingredients. Fun setting. Happy times.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I live in Ithaca, and Purity is by far the best ice cream place I have ever been to! I love hanging out there with friends and family and eating the delicious ice cream. I go all the time (especially during the summer, even though it is open all year). Amazing!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGH4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    81
    37
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing beats Boomberry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Purity is located where route 13 becomes divided downtown, so if arriving from the north, stay to the left. There is parking available.

There are so many flavors, I find the banana split a bit high priced. Try some of the unusual flavors, tea, super sleepers awake for caffein lovers, but the fresh fruit in boomberry is my fav.

I also recommend buying their cupcakes and muffins. Buy one to save for the next morning!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missustoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The ice cream is high quality and delicious! Big servings from friendly staff. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mizner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Acres, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“My favorite food group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

It's real ice cream - what else is there to say? You'll like it! There is nothing to not like unless you don't like ice cream. There are brownies, cookies and cupcakes for the non-ice cream lovers.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank titi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Purity ice cream is not vegetarian :(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

For a place that is this popular, I was astounded to discover that the ice cream is not vegetarian! Ice cream is not a food where I would expect to find meat by-products. In fact, it was an unhappy accident whereby I hoped to buy a pint of Purity to take with me and casually looked at the ingredient list...discovering that they use gelatin as a filler ingredient (they also put gelatin in their egg nog, btw).

This was a shock. Even grocery store brand ice creams do not contain this cheap ingredient. I read ingredient lists as a matter of routine, and Purity is the very first non-vegetarian ice cream I have ever come across. Gelatin is something I am accustomed to finding in processed foods such as PopTarts, not in "homemade" ice cream.

I find this especially strange in a town such as Ithaca, home of the Moosewood Cooperative, which has a long tradition of vegetarian-friendly dining. An odd choice on the part of the management to seemingly go out of the way to exclude a large percentage of the community from enjoying their products.

They do serve a vegan version of ice cream, which is great for vegan customers, although it is not made by Purity, so there is little reason to stand in the long lines at this location to get it. But for those of us who are simply looking for good quality dairy ice cream without unexpected meat by-products, we are out of luck at Purity. So disappointing.

Staff appeared to be confused by questions about vegetarian ingredients. No one working our front was aware that the ice cream was not vegetarian, and have seemingly not been trained to understand the main product they sell.

Locals report that Purity is no longer made in Ithaca, so this is not even a local product. There are several high quality vegetarian ice creams that ARE locally made in the Finger Lakes, including Dennis's, Your Daily Soup (served at the Ithaca Farmer's market) and the phenomenal Cayuga Creamery, which is the best ice cream I have ever tasted. It may take a bit more effort to find these high quality ice cream locations, but no more time than standing in the long lines at Purity.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank NycDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purity Ice Cream Co also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Purity Ice Cream Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing