We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two out of three is pretty bad!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fineline Bistro - CLOSED

Fineline Bistro
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Two out of three is pretty bad!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I've rarely been disappointed when visiting a restaurant based on TA reviews. This was the exception. Three of us ordered dinners of Marlin, pork tenderloin and rib eye. Both the Marlin and the pork tenderloin were overcooked and dry. When the waiter came by and asked how everything was I pointed out the overcooked food. He said he would mention it to the kitchen and we never heard from him again about it. I found it strange that no one addressed two overcooked meals, let alone an apology or offer to order another meal. I usually give restaurants at least a second try if something is not right. This time I will not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FSolofood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    21
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyme
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite up to par.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a warm welcome at this restaurant. The "lemon" cucumbers (a light summer pickle) were an unusual and tasty treat offered by our server upon arrival. The atmosphere was very pleasant--not too noisy, with some interest provided by the working kitchen, which is highly visible in the front left portion of the dining room. For starters we ordered both a seasonal salad featuring beets and pomme frittes. The salad was great, but the fries were nothing special. Main courses involved fish in some form for everyone in our party. While paired with some inventive sides (pureed celariac), the fish itself was disappointing. A "blackened" catfish dish was more like a catfish fillet with some cajun seasonings--no blackening in evidence whatsoever. A grilled marlin dish was overcooked and dried out. We came away thinking we might try the restaurant again, but would avoid the fish entrees.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NellT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Came because of the other positive TA reviews and this place did not disappoint for food or service. Appetizers were all really good, especially the mussels. Steak frites special and the lamb were both excellent. Slightly disappointed that they only had one rack of lamb left as two in our party wanted it but the waitress suggested pork loin as an alternate which turned out to be very good with a delicious sauce.

We wanted a bottle of wine and the staff went out of their way to help us decide including some complimentary tastes. After our first bottle of good Spanish wine the bartender overheard us talking about being underwhelmed by our tastings at the local wineries. He actually brought us over a taste of two delicious local wines and we ended up ordering a bottle of the Pinot.

Bread pudding and chocolate torte made for a great finish. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien Center, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

After having lunch at the famous Moosewood and famished from hiking Buttermilk Falls this place was in for a little competition and did not disappoint.We we able to get last minute reservations and we're glad that we did. It's not a large place and it filled up quickly. My flank steak with pomegrante sauce was delicious and hubby ordered two appetizers for dinner- scallops and mashed potatoes were most yummy. The service was the best- friendly, attentive, but not intrusive. Afterwards we walked the four blocks down to the Commons. Very nice time- Great Restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“we missed this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our son had been at IC for over 4 years and somehow we missed eating at this FUN and DELICOUS restaurant! His GF was graduating and we spent Friday night at the chef's bar. Amazing food...great service. Interesting craft beers inc one we had never found in the states that we only were able to get in Quebec!! The chipotle mussels were amazing, the lamb spectacular and overall an amazing dining experience. We wished we would have gone when he was in school at IC!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kram5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fineline Bistro also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing