We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool is OPEN!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pool is OPEN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

All the reviews say pool is closed, well not anymore. We went without bathing suites and made a trip to the local Walmart to purchase some. My daughter and I choose the hotel for its location to Ithaca College, we made an EXCELLENT choice.

Everything about our stay was perfect. The staff was the best part of all. They not only provided us with great service at the hotel but they sold us on the town. My daughter and I were given directions cards to all attractions, they provided us with options for dinner and then made reservations.

Our hote room was not a room it was a suite. I booked on line and had no idea I would be relaxing in such a great room. The room was clean, bright, and very comfortable.

Maybe it took this NEW hotel a little time to get going in the right direction but they have arrived. We will be back for 4 years without any hesitation if my daughter goes to Ithaca. As we travel on our campust tours we campare the other hotels to this one and we are always happy when we can stay at a Country Inn, we are now GOLDPOINT members. Thank you Ithaca!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbird45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    151
    49
    24
    19
See reviews for
243
88
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

We spent 2 nights here. Room was warm, clean, nicley decorated, staff is polite & knowledgeable. The ground floor room had sliding doors that opened to the parking lot. Very convenient for loading / unloading the car. The breakfast is pretty good, same as other Comfort Inns. They are renovating & expanding the eating area. They are replacing all rugs this week, even though they looked pretty good to me.

  • Liked — Sliding doors adjacent to parking lot
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Drummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kk3117
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

The property needs to get their pool open, other then that they have no issues. The staff was wonderful, the minute we walked into the hotel we were in heaven. They have cookies in the lobby and books. My daughter was so happy, she could talk a book with her to read, no charge just help yourself. THey had childrens and adult books! Great idea!
Our rooms was a suite...I think they are all suites, but when we asked about the pool they offered a whilrpool room instead, if we would like so our daughter could "swim" in the jacuzzi...we declined, we needed the 2 beds, but how cool to at least offer us the option! We had breakfast in the morning, after our hot shower! Loved the hot shower...last hotel in Ithaca, no hot water!! We come to Ithaca for my husbands work once a month and we will always be coming to the Country Inn & Suites Ithaca!!! THank you for doing such a wonderful job!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kk3117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

Stayed at the hotel to bring my daughter to college. This is our second stay and we were very upset to learn that the pool is still closed. We would have really liked it much better if the pool was opened. The people at the desk did not have much to say about when the pool would be opened. The room was clean and brand new. Bed was very comfortable and the lobby was small but nice. Breakfast was just okay could have had more choices. The overall stay was good, but pretty expensive for not having all of the facilities open and running.

  • Liked — new and clean
  • Disliked — pool not opened
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank specialteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

We usually stay at a Hampton Inn when travelling, mainly because we have their points system and they are almost all the same, we know what to expect 95% of the time but, we were out sight seeing and decided to stay overnight.
This being a weekend when new students go back to College, every hotel was full, unless you wanted a smoking room and was told by Hampton Inn staff to try this Country Inn.
We did notice that it was less than a 1/4 of a mile from the entrance to *Ithaca College*, which is also Danby Road if anyone is interested.
Very nice lady in reception, asked if we would prefer the first floor(ground) or the second floor(1st), which was nice of her, we chose to go up a floor.
The room was a suite, which consisted of a double sofa bed, comfy arm chair, long coffee table, small coffee table, writing desk, small microwave and fridge, drawers.
The bathroom was nice with good power from the shower plenty of hot water and a low step in to bath with a great secure hand rail for those who prefer a hand rail in the bath. Hairdryer, plenty of towels.
large sliding doors wardrobe. Ironing board and iron.
The door at the end of the room led through to a bedroom with two beds, chest of drawers and a flat screan T.V. plus another comfy arm chair.
This room is a little small to hold two beds, you can only enter your beds from one side, unless you don't mind the squeeze of about a foot on either side, but if you are not sharing the beds, it doesn't matter.
We loved the fact that the windows open upwards and there are mosquito panels in situ.
The air conditioning is really good but give it half an hour to cool the rooms down once the windows are closed.
Being newish, the Hotel is clean-ish, but I don't think the furniture has been cleaned underneath since it opened. We moved the armchair to watch T.V. and you could see that the vacuum hasn't been under there for some time, not anything disgusting, just dusty.
The breakfast was a typical American style Continental breakfast, make your own waffles, sausage, eggs, cereals, yogurt, fruit, bagels, coffee, juice etc and the serving lady was very pleasant.
No time to view the pool.
All in all, a comfy night at a cost of $183.05 inc. State Tax at 8% and accomodation tax at 5%.

P.S. Wegman's Supermarket closes at 7pm on a Saturday, 1/2 a mile away.

  • Liked — Comfortable, close to wineries and Lakes, not too much traffic
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PansyPotter02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

Stayed overnight in a 2 queen suite with family of 4. Room layouts don't allow for alot of light due to only one window in the bedroom so it was dark. Furniture is too big for the room. The kitchen area had full size frig, microwave, 2 stovetop and sink.
No TV in the living room only bedroom.

Breakfast was good but room was small.

***Biggest issue was the POOL. People with kids will understand the highlight of the pool while on vacation. My kids excitedly walked over to the pool and were just about to get in when we were told that the pool was closed. We missed the small sign on the door that the pool was "temporarily closed". In reality, despite being open for several months they still hadn't gotten their health inspection certificate.

Luckily we were only there 1 night or we would have definitely had to check out. Yes, the pool is THAT important to the kids!

The cost would have been about $200 but I was able to use gold points.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mapsNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

I generally like the Country Inn chain and this property was just what we expected.
We stayed two nights, and found the hotel to be very comfortable.
We did encounter some problems:
*Our room did not get cleaned after the first day. At about 5pm I checked with the front desk, housekeeping had already left for the day, they asked if we still wanted it cleaned, we declined & just requested new towels.
*The pool and hot tub are closed awaiting some kind of inspection. The front desk had no ETA on when it might open.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ablabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Address: 1100 Danby Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ithaca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#6 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Country Inn And Suites Ithaca
Country Inn Ithaca
Ithaca Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing