We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed in a suite here with my family recently. It is very convenient to get from this hotel to Cornell. The suite was clean, and the there was plenty of space in the room. The staff at this hotel is wonderful. They were all very friendly and addressed our requests for additional bedding promptly and professionally. This inn also has a nice, free hot breakfast, which is frequently restocked. There were coffee, tea, and cookies in the lobby throughout the day too. This stay was a great experience overall, and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks so much for posting about it. Our location IS convenient to Cornell and Ithaca College and I hope you got a chance to visit some of the state parks nearby as well. The gorges are simply that, gorgeous! Come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    132
    36
    19
    17
See reviews for
207
69
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Spacious, clean rooms with a friendly and efficient staff. Hot breakfast awaited our gang and then to the pool before check-out. Great place & quiet. Being a little way out of the Common area is not an issue, as it's a straight shot and no problem with parking. And oh yes - comfortable beds!

Room Tip: Whirlpool king is pretty romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I love the picture you posted! The kids were having a great time. I'm glad you found us great for families and groups. I hope you got a chance to enjoy the fresh baked cookies at night and hot coffee and cocoa! We look forward to hosting you and your family again real soon. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great stay when visiting Ithaca College or Cornell University. Clean, well managed property with a great breakfast and nice amenities like cookies and coffee all day. A great state park with a waterfall trail is just behind the hotel.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank scheskiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. We love our location too! Nothing like having natural beauty just outside the door. I'm glad your stay was a pleasant one - that's exactly what we strive for with each and evry visit. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel and had all the amenities we needed. When we visit our daughter at Ithaca College, we try to stay at this Inn. This hotel is the closes location to Ithaca College and its very quiet area. We stayed in the downtown area before which is very congested and noisy. This inn serves a free hot breakfast which is great way to start your day (waffle, sausage, cereal, and eggs). The rooms are very nice, spacious and comfortable. In addition, the service staff was very attentive and friendly. There are also fresh baked cookies, coffee and tea ready for all throughout the day. This hotel is nearby to all local attractions, downtown restaurants, wineries, Ithaca College and Cornell.

I highly recommended this place to stay!

Room Tip: The suites are very nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sterling L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for your great recommendation and your loyalty. We work very hard to service our guests visiting Ithaca College and the surrounding area. I'm so glad you have discovered all that we have to offer. Our suites are a real treat in Ithaca!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Sadly, this is a very nice hotel but I have to hammer them on the most important part of staying in a hotel: SLEEPING.

The beds are rock-hard, there is no blanket on the beds (it's hidden in the closet) and we had to use the heavy bed spread and turn up the AC. The pillows were like kleenex-filled bags. No support at all.

We slept little more than 1 hour at a clip and woke up in pain each morning.

Housekeeping also was lacking. Toilet paper rolls were at 15% each. Mirror was not wiped.

Free breakfast was good and there was 24hr hot coffee available.

Management - you have a nice place here. Buy better pillows and keep the blanket either on the bed or visible.

Also - too expensive ($420+ for Fri + Sat stay)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I'm so sorry to hear you did not sleep well. Beds are certainly a matter of taste, and with that in mind we keep foam pillows and blankets in the closets for our guests to change if they choose not to use the feather pillows on the beds or the duvet. Having a choice is nice and giving these options, it is our hope to not dissapoint any of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights to visit my daughter at Cornell. We paid for a 1 bedroom which we found was very clean and well maintained. Our room came with a mini fridge, microwave and 2 TV's. I was able to use the business center which was nice but only 1 of the 2 PC's in the room was working. This hotel also has an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, and fitness room, which can be used until 12 midnight which was really great. Also, hot breakfast was included with plenty of choices including, yogurt, fruits, cereals, oatmeal, bagels, donuts, muffins, waffle maker, french toast, eggs, sausage, juices, coffee and tea. The staff was very friendly and courteous and we appreciated the staff who made us feel at home with cookies and coffee/tea in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerfromMtKisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and described us so well in your review. I take pride in the great staff we have, and put a lot of confidence in them that they will continue to do all they can to make our guests' stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our room came with a jacuzzi, it was a very large room, and everything was spic and span. Breakfast was good as well, typical hotel continental breakfast fare. The only thing I wished for was a wall around the jacuzzi, so the room would not get wet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusuke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
2.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Address: 1100 Danby Road, Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ithaca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#6 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Country Inn And Suites Ithaca
Country Inn Ithaca
Ithaca Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing