We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The room is spacious as a suite, with all good quality amenities. Microwave, refrigerator, nice tea collection. The bathroom has Pentene brand hair care, lotion and even cotton ball and stubs. Bedding quality is good and linen smells fresh. There are even bathrobes. Breakfast is great with all the decent hot stuffs. The location is very convenient and close to Ithaca downtown and Cornell.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bxz0052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
I'm so happy to see you noticed all the additional amenities we provide. Your comfort is important to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    158
    51
    26
    22
See reviews for
256
90
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Friendly staff, super clean, best cancellation policy and great location near falls. Walking distance to a cool bakery and creamery, also an Italian takeout or dine in restaurant. It's quiet without a lot of road traffic. Don't miss Buttermilk falls (Elmira rd entrance) and Treman state park upper entrance and lower entrances.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetzoom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
It sounds like you really enjoyed the wonderful things Ithaca and our area have to offer. We are happy you chose to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Next time stop in at Cornell Plantations, you will love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverett, MA
Level Contributor
391 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We found this Country Inn to be clean and comfortable. It was quiet. We visited on the occasion of an event at Cornell University, but it was not a busy time of year (late September). We had a room with two queen beds, and a separate "living room". Each had a telephone and a modern flat screen TV. The room had wireless (or wired) and it worked just fine. The air conditioner has a setting that allows the fan to remain on independent of the cooling, which helps to maintain the background sound at a constant level. A large bottle of water was provided with the room at no extra charge. There was a ironing board and an iron in the closet, a small refrigerator, a microwave and a good clock. There was a separate little closet to place articles like suitcases to get them out of the way.

Breakfast (we stayed two nights) consisted of a variety of cold cereals, yogurt, oatmeal, fruit, three types of juice, milk, coffee, tea, bread, other things like bagels, and a hot serving. One morning that was scrambled eggs and bacon (the eggs were likely from powder) and the other morning there was a cinnamon french toast. Each morning you could cook your own waffles from a prepared batter in an idiot-proof cooker that worked pretty well. Newspapers were available, but likely not enough for the whole set of guests.

check-in and out were easy. Little candy pieces are available at the front desk and coffee and tea are available in the lobby all day. Cookies also appear from time to time.

All in all a good place. Be sure to ask for the corporate rate if you are on some sort of official visit to a specific Cornell academic function that has been registered with the Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear likely have no road noise; some have a good view. Corner rooms (only a few) ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobHLeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
You have covered it all! Thanks for staying, we look forward to having you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Room was large, clean and comfortable. When we stayed here previously we were met by a large unleashed dog as we entered the pool. Luckily that didn't happen this time. We were on a fun trip and not in a rush and almost missed breakfast which closed promptly and early. We highly recommend visiting the Moosewood Restaurant in Ithaca a short drive away.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor in the back - quieter and a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nationalparkPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thanks for your comments. As you found out on the last trip, we are a pet friendly hotel offering a few 1st floor rooms to our furry friends. Leashes are required though! Glad you enjoy those quiet back rooms - and in the fall, there is a nice view as well. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

If you're taking your child to visit one of the two colleges in the area beware, you will pay double the price you pay for the same hotel/chain in any other location.

Rooms are clean, walls are paper thin. Offered late night shuttle service pick up at the airport when I called to make the reservation, however, no one was available to pick us up at the airport when I called the hotel upon arrival. We were left stranded at the airport only to compete with current college students and other travellers for the two cabs that showed up. Waited 20 minutes for a cab, the driver said the fare would be "shared" with another rider, which really meant I got a dollar discount on the $22 fare I was charged, which was an unexpected expense. Needed the shuttle to travel back and forth to campus and was made to feel like I was putting the staff out to proovide a service they advertise.

The breakfast service chef didn't show up on the third morning so no "hot" breakfast. Too bad I couldn't arbitrarily pay less for the stay.

Ilana please don't provide a rebuttal, no matter how you frame it, you're just an ordinary hotel alleging extraordinary amenties and services but not truly delivering.

Room Tip: Just okay if you can't find a better place to stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tac_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
No rebuttal. Just an apology that you were less than satisfied. High demand dates will result in higher priced rooms. Book early for best available rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here one night when dropping our daughter off at Cornell. It was the only place we could get a room, and I was worried that it would be pretty far from campus. But it was an easy drive (it's much closer to IC). The hotel was very clean, rooms comfortable. The suite worked out well as there is a separate bedroom and living room, so you can go to sleep while others stay up to watch TV, work on computer, etc....all in all, it was very good. Not cheap, though. Prices are up during student dropoff season, I guess.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
I'm glad you found the drive to Cornell quite simple. Our location is extremely convenient to Ithaca College and yet a simple drive to Cornell as well. We boast the largest rooms (suites) in Ithaca, so that is why our rates may tend to be slightly higher than other hotels in Ithaca. I think you found that we are quite worth it though! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We had a regular room with refrigerator & microwave. Very clean, no smells. modern decor with bold red color scheme. Tea and coffee available in the lobby all day and night. decent Continental breakfast. less than 3 minute drive from upper entrance of Buttermilk Falls Park (with great hikes and lovely waterfalls). across the street from a gas station/mini mart with water and snacks. less than 5 minute drive from ithace commons. laundry, vending and ice facilites all functional. Comfortable beds (slept SO deeply). Would definitely stay here again and made me start to consider this chain for future travels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpleasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Aaaahh, another guest sleeping well. We love the beds too. A good night's sleep is so important, I'm glad you mentioned it. You will find this good quality at all Country Inn & Suites and I'm sure you will feel just as welcome at all properties. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ithaca
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
3.0 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Address: 1100 Danby Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Ithaca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#6 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Country Inn And Suites Ithaca
Country Inn Ithaca
Ithaca Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing