We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My daughter LOVES this place”

Museum of the Earth
Ranked #15 of 62 things to do in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: PRI's Museum of the Earth was established in 2003 to provide visitors with a unique opportunity to explore our world through a mix of natural history displays, interactive science features, and art exhibitions. The museum's 8,000-square-foot permanent exhibition takes visitors on a journey through 4.5 billion years of history, from the Earth's origin to the present day. Through hands-on, visual exhibitions and outreach, the Museum of the Earth encourages critical thinking about life on Earth in the past and today, and how our species is affecting the natural world.
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My daughter LOVES this place”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A great place to visit on a hot summer day - or on a cold winter day! Lots of interesting exhibits and the building is beautiful. Great gift shop! Displays change periodically. If you are in Ithaca with kids - don't miss it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    49
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great family outting”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our family loves this museum which is designed for you to gradually descend into the earth, fossils beside you corresponding to the appropriate periods and epochs. Very beautiful outside as well as inside. Often you can do hands on activities, participate in special occasions like Darwin's Birthday, etc.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank missustoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Interesting especially for youngsters”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Have brought my children here a few times but as they grew older they seemed to like it less. I don't think it was due to knowing it too well as we brought different friends each time who also grew bored. I would say under 12 is perfect.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pegdafittr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conklin, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not for young ones”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lots of interesting facts/exhibits geared towards older children or adults. Our little ones were bored.

Helpful?
1 Thank bkplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth Going”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a small museum but it offers a good selection of fossils and has a really cool full mammoth skeleton. Too much of the space is devoted to children's amusements.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Earth also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the Earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing