We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“forgotten what great service should be like”

O-Co-Nee East Diner Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Islip
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Islip, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“forgotten what great service should be like”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Have been to this Diner many times before only to see the service and food decline with each visit.
Stoped in for a late breakfast and sat at the counter.
There was a man sitting at the end of the counter who may have been the mananger but all he did was distract the younger hostess from doing her job. He also seemed to distract the wait staff when they walked near him.
I heard all about the Hostess husband who just hired a new secretay and more gossip that kept them away from doing their job.
My server had an attitude of "who cares". She did not ask me how my meal was and if she could do anything for me untill the meal was over.
My sirloin steak was oily and not cooked properly, The coffee was not freshand my over easy eggs were placed on top of the steak which broke when I tried to take them off the steak.Really guys there is a reason people order sunnyside up or over easy and it's not to have the yolks break because they have to be moved off the steak.
These folks have clearly forgotten why they are in business....The customer.
I hope they read this and make the proper adjustments because I like the place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Italiamichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    42
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Greek food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The burgers and Greek food at this diner are the best in the area. The wait staff is very friendly. This diner will be packed so come early if you do not want to wait.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dschlott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport,NY
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best diner in the area”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have been going to this diner for many years. It's the most popular around, gets packed with people on the weekends. They always decorate for all holidays which gives it a nice atmosphere. The service is good and foods are well prepared. Just remember it's a diner, but one of the best in Suffolk.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonderling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Atmosphere with good food!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had the pleasure of eating here this week so it was all decorated in Holiday cheer. Busy - but that is because it is good. We got seated right away at the noon hour. The staff is excellent and is so attentive to your needs. Food is good! I had a sandwich, someone else had a wrap and another had a meatloaf meal. We were all very pleased with our choices. There are many diners in the area, if you had to choose - I would choose this one. The menu is very extensive, so it has something for everyone. It is not too expensive and we had a great lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank masterofdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Islip, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very popular diner”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We enjoy the food, but it's way to BUSY (meaning decoration-wise) for our taste. Too many TV's, too much glitz and sparkle...I think someone must own a Party Store. A bit expensive, too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O-Co-Nee East Diner Restaurant also viewed

 
Islip, Long Island
 

Been to O-Co-Nee East Diner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing