We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub Grub”
Review of Maxwells

Maxwells
Ranked #12 of 39 Restaurants in Islip
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner
Description: A great casual dining spot located in the heart of Islip. Maxwell's, American Bar & Grille, offers the best of everything: an innovative menu, family-friendly atmosphere- and a chance for us to bring our trademark "Main Street" restaurant style to our own hometown.
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Wanted to go out and eat and also watch a football game. Perfect place to both get a great meal and watch a game. A varied menu that was reasonably priced with a view of televisions to watch my game. Highly recommend the marinated steak sandwich. Tender meat with a fabulous marinade and a nice order of waffle fries for under $13.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Pub”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Maxwell's has a wide variety of food to choose from. The burgers are huge and mouthwatering. The salads are quite plentiful and very delicious. The atmosphere is pub-like and the bar scene is quite hectic and can be noisy at times. It's the place to be and be seen.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Every time we have eaten at Maxwells we have enjoyed a wonderful meal. The service is always top notch,the food is delicious and the beer and mixed drink selections are always varied and high quality. Try the Sicilian Wings!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drknite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Islip, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap food with fancy titles”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I went to Maxwells with my husband and my 2 kids. I have previously visited for lunch with colleagues and was satisfied with my burger and fries. We had a spinach artichoke for an appetizer which was good but everything went downhill from there. Our chicken florentine soup was very bland. My husband had fish tacos which were good but not anything fantastic. I ordered the marinated steak. The steak had so much overpowering marinade that you couldn't even taste the meat and the mashed potatoes it was wrapped around were boxed mashed potatoes and weren't seasoned in any way....very disappointing for a $20 entree. The waitress was nice but not very attentive as she was running after another employees rampant child.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, New York, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Crowd-Pleaser”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Great, diverse menu with classic American comfort food with a slightly upscale twist. Reasonable prices in a comfortable atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank SJDeSimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxwells also viewed

 
Bay Shore, Long Island
Bay Shore, Long Island
 
Bay Shore, Long Island
Islip, Long Island
 

Been to Maxwells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing