We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best food in Long Island”
Review of Meson Iberia Restaurant - CLOSED

Meson Iberia Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Established in 1997, Meson Iberia specializes in serving cuisine from Spain such as Paella Valenciana, Mariscada with lobster in Green Sauce, Rack of Lamb, Chicken Villaroy, Veal Chops, Black Angus New York Strip Steak, Grilled Prawns, Pulpo, and Honey Marinated Spareribs. It is a great place to have Tapas - small sampling plates which allow you to order several for your table to share, which is great if you feel like going out but not like eating a full meal, pitchers of excellent Red and White Sangria, as well as a fine wine from their reasonably priced wine list.
Elmont, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best food in Long Island”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The old school charm so lacking these days in the "modern" restaurants is available at this quaint family owned restaurant with amazing food. Old World Spain with attentive staff to see to your every need and desire. The green sauce with shrimp and the fall of the bone BBQ ribs were just the beginning of an amazing adventure in your mouth. The Paella was perfectly cooked and served with care and attention. The mussels in hot sauce makes you appreciate the perfection in the manner the food is prepared. Dining in this restaurant is going to definitely be a weekly event. Five stars all the way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NShah82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Island Park, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Spanish Food in an Old World Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A local gem of a restaurant right here in Island Park. As you enter it feels like you are actually visiting a restaurant in old world Spain. The owners always greet us with a smile and the service is always professional and friendly. The homemade sangria is excellent. Our waiter started us off with a mussel appetizer that was on the house and a nice basket of fresh bread. The veal chop and shrimp scampi special dinner is delicious and enough for two. The Paella Valencia contains seafood as well as chicken and chorizo and is a favorite of mine, always plenty to take home for a great lunch the next day. A superb Peach Melba provided the perfect ending to a delicious, reasonably priced meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This one time good place has gone south”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The good days of this one time very good Spanish restaurant are gone. The service was sucky and the atmosphere was as bad as can be.
They are in desperate need of a complete make over.
We won't be returning here, that is for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesofLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had not been to this restaurant for about 10 years, and now I remember why! The place hasn't been decorated or updated in at least 20 years, the service was awkward and the food was just OK. I had Catalana Seafood soup which is their version of Seafood Bisque. There were several pieces of seafood in it, but it was a little too thick and salty. My husband had the Stuffed Mushroom appetizer which he described as bland. My son had Clams in Green Sauce which he said were just OK. He was not really impressed with his Clam and Pork entree either. My husband and I both had the Paella Valenciana which was rather dry and not very flavorful. Overall, it was disappointing! We won't be going back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JZ4743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great bang for your buck”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Ate here with my wife on Sunday, December 9, 2012. Drove by this restaurant and saw the "Zagat rated" sign so decided to give it a try. The restaurant itself was nothing to boast about - it almost looks like an old diner and it was way too bright - how about dimming the lights just a bit??? But as for the food - no complaints whatsoever. My wife had the tilapia special, I had a beef stew ( more or less) and they were both quite tasty and delicious. Large portions, reasonably priced. The wait staff was attentive and friendly. And they even provided us with some free appetizers to try some different dishes!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPL_INC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Iberia Restaurant also viewed

 
Island Park, Long Island
Island Park, Long Island
 
Island Park, Long Island
Island Park, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing