We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of The Woods Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woods Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Inlet
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Found this place on trip advisor after snowmobiling all day went on all the good reviews and found it to be excellent the owners were very nice nice atmosphere easy to get there on snowmobile .i had lamb shank was very good .friend had chicken pot pie he said same thing .will go back in a few weeks

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank outside1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 174 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We could not have imagined having a more amazing wedding than the one hosted by The Woods Inn in August of 2013. As a former event planner, I have an eye for detail and have a difficult time letting go; I did, with my daughters insistence, and can honestly say that our experience was wonderful beyond our greatest expectations. Joedda and Jay, the owners, and their staff, were attentive to our every need: the rooms were immaculate with generous amenities; the food was exceptional, the setting, absolutely charming, historical and elegantly rustic.
My daughter had the wedding of her dreams, thanks to The Woods Inn. I will be forever grateful for their hospitality and graciousness. I would recommend The Woods Inn Inn to if you if you MUST have it all, like we did, and everything MUST be perfect, priced reasonably; in addition, be given the assurance that you and your guests will be treated like royalty; we couldn't be happier.

Room Tip: You will find many amazing rooms, in various areas of the INN; we particularly like the ones upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just came back from a Columbus Day weekend at the Woods Inn. Yes it is an older building but it is also warm, cozy and homey. It has a lovely restaurant with good food. The tavern was lively with great music. Their living room has a cable TV. They also have a game room with a foosball and pool table. Next door was an independent boat rental facility if you wanted to get out on the lake. There are lots of hiking trails nearby. The best is the porch, lawn and new boat dock overlooking beautiful 4th lake. The innkeepers were friendly and accommodating. The Woods Inn in Inlet, NY is a great meeting place in the middle of the Adirondacks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1lfc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Woods Inn is THE BEST way to get away from it all in a rustic setting with all of the amenities. We've been travelling to the Adirondacks for about 10 years and find The Woods Inn to be the best place to stay. You get the historic experience, the wilderness experience and the creature comforts experience. They have the best food for many miles around. And the best sunsets. Excellent location. Wonderful people. We just left yesterday and I wish I was back.

Room Tip: Try to get a lakeview room. All rooms are different and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Woods Inn for one night. I am glad that is was not for more nights. We had a hole in the ceiling that looked like it was damaged for a while. The porch was dirty and the linens were old and worn. It was also overpriced. The location was gorgeous but needs lots of work. We did enjoy the tavern and the band was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bocachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Woods Inn is a beautiful place. However, the owners and employees were exceptionally rude. The rooms are over priced for what you get. The woman owner guided us to the breakfast dining area and tells us to help ourselves yet fails to mention it's $12 a person. The man owner was a jerk and rude to guests telling them to get out of the way so he can keep the fire going. When we arrived, one of the rooms rented was not ready and that showed us that they don't wash the top blankets. Also, a pillow that didn't have a pillowcase on had a what looked like a large blood stain. The bartenders were miserable and made ordering drinks dreadful. The place is gorgeous but needs a lot of TLC and friendly owners and staff. Hopefully someone great will buy the place because it is an amazing landmark.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie7728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Woods Inn in Inlet, New York is one of the last of the grand Adirondack Hotels dating from the turn of the 20th century! It overlooks Fourth Lake and offers a breathtaking view of the lake and the autumn foliage! We found the staff to be helpful and friendly! The rooms are clean and neat, decorated with rustic Adirondack style furniture! ( if you plan on staying overnight, bring your hair dryer!) The bed, while comfortable, did tend to squeak when one of us turned over!The owners in refurbishing the inn have furnished the parlor with antique sofas, chairs, and tables! A breakfast buffet for $6.00/person offered fresh fruit salad, cold cereals, eggs, bacon, home fries, coffee, tea, juice, bagels, muffins! Located in the heart of the Adirondacks, it is a short drive to Old Forge, Raquette Lake, Sagamore, and the Adirondack Museum!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake, preferably on the first landing as there is no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inlet
3.2 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#3 of 12 in Old Forge
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
163 reviews
10.5 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
6.0 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
180 reviews
21.8 mi away
Long View Lodge
Long View Lodge
#4 of 5 in Long Lake
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woods Inn

Address: 148 Rte. 28, Inlet, NY 13360
Location: United States > New York > Inlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Inlet
Price Range: $123 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored turn of the century inn with tavern and restaurant. Situated on Fourth Lake in Inlet with amazing Adirondack views. This is an award - winning historic property we designed to be a true Adirondack experience. The decor is meant to be campy shabby - chic. While we have added the modern conveniences that we think were lacking in the past century, we have tried to create a less stressful mountain environment that brings back another time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Woods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woods Hotel Inlet
Woods Hotel Inlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing