We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stiefvater's Where Wonderful Childhood Memories Are Made”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inlet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stiefvater's Lakeside Cottages
Fulton, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stiefvater's Where Wonderful Childhood Memories Are Made”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My husband and I have been bringing our two boys to Stiefvater's every father's day weekend since 1997. We have wonderful memories and photos in our albums that not only make us smile but in a sense the boys grew up while having fun on the beach from year to year. It is the perfect place to get away and enjoy the beautiful back drop of the mountains and overall serenity. We are fast approaching our 15th consecutive year the week before our oldest son graduates from high school. I hope the boys will carry on this family tradition and return with their own children one day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gorton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

My family has been coming to Stiefvater's in July for over 10 years and we have thoroughly enjoyed each of our stays. The rustic cabins have every necessary amenity while the beach, playground, and included access to boats give us lots to do outside. The cottages are sited on/near the lake but just off the main road, a short walk to the 50's town of Inlet with its shops and diversions. I appreciate how change in ownership has continued the gracious, guest-friendly atmosphere, where no request is ever too much. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Higher number cabins are closer to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Our stay at Stiefvater's was wonderful. Its a very cozy, comfortable, peaceful, fun place to stay for the week: Stiefvater's has a very nice sandy beach and swimming area facing the afternoon sun. We've enjoyed the kayaks and paddle-boats (no extra charge), horse shoes, and games. And there are also nice spots to read, on the porch, under the trees (or in the sun), in the hammock, on the dock... all with beautiful views.
The cabins are comfortable. We enjoyed making numerous breakfasts and dinners (my wife is Italian!), with satisfactory accommodations to make it all. Sleeping is very comfortable as well. Its a family spot and doesn't stay noisy very late.
The location is very beautiful, with views of 4th Lake, the mountains and islands in the background, and the sun setting over those mountains and the lake.
The location is a short walk to the town of Inlet. It couldn't be more perfect. We've walked many times to Mary's Bakery for excellent coffee and doughnuts and sit outside and watch the world go by. The family restaurant with outdoor seating and the movie theater are right across the street. The town is quaint and small, not touristy, and we sometimes extended the walk to the ice cream, park, and various gift stores. I also like to go for a casual morning run or a bike ride, and its a good location for that too, as the hills are modest and manageable in the area around the property. If you like to enjoy some tourist activity, Old Forge is only 10 miles away.
The owners Carolyn and Dan are very nice people, and are good at keeping you informed.
We've enjoyed numerous trips to Stiefvater's since 2000, including one family reunion. We've often invited family or friends to join us for wonderful times. We love it and highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Check out the photos and rates, and ask questions
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CampMurwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We have been going to Stiefvaters for years and enjoyed everything about it, from the comfortable cabins, location to attractions and probably the best sunsets in the Adirondacks.The previous owner scott made us feel as if the property was our own and was quite welcoming. We stayed at Stiefvaters during Memorial Day weekend of 2010 and the new owners of the property, Dan and Carolyn were just as welcoming as Scott was. Their caretaker at the time was Larry and he completely reminded us of Scott in his personable and friendly demeanor, along with the ability to make an amazing bon fire. We are excited to vacation this summer at Stiefvaters knowing that Larry will be the full time caretaker.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lude7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We have been coming to Stiefvater's for about 5 years and always with extended family. What a wonderful time we have had! The accomodations were clean and ample, and all of the children had the opportunity to spend lots of time at the beach swimming, playing in the sand, and using the canoes & paddle boats. We have rented 4 different units throughout the years, depending on who was coming with us, and each one has been special. We look forward to being able to stay in "Scott's house" at a future time. It's also nice that we are able to walk into Inlet to shop, go to the park, or to pick up baked goods or ice cream daily!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrylady579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I was there for 2 nights with my mother, sister, wife and small daughter. Pleasantly equipped cottage, Rustic environment, which is what you expect. Cottages of all sizes. Weather was turning cold, and our place was nicely warmed by the stove. Comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen. Close to the beautiful lake. Convenient to town of Inlet, several good restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullseye51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I wanted my children to experience the same summer vacations I did as a child. We have been coming here since it reopened umteen years ago with the kids. Our children are grown now but my husband and I still come back every year. Like tradition all the owners have continued to maintain and always improve a wonderful place and experience. A great place for a family vacation even with the family back down to two! We still come to the same cabin, the same week. Great memories.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5ft12in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inlet
3.3 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#3 of 12 in Old Forge
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
156 reviews
9.5 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
187 reviews
6.1 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
164 reviews
9.4 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stiefvater's Lakeside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stiefvater's Lakeside Cottages

Property: Stiefvater's Lakeside Cottages
Address: 120 State Route 28, Inlet, NY 13360
Location: United States > New York > Inlet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Inlet
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Houses and cottages from 1-5 bedrooms on Fourth Lake on the Fulton Chain of Lakes in the Adirondacks. Free use of kayaks, canoes and rowboats. Sandy beach, nightly campfire, free use of dock. Within walking distance to Inlet, groceries, public beach, hiking, restaurants, shopping. Playground and recreation room. Free wi-fi. Open Memorial Day to Columbus Day ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing