We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Willow”
Review of Camp Driftwood

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Indian Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Driftwood
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Indian Lake
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Loved the Willow”
Reviewed June 25, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Camp Driftwood for four nights in June. Our cabin was called the Willow and was conveniently located just off the main road but was quietly tucked away in the surrounding woods so that we did not hear any traffic from the road. The cabin was big enough to fit 6 people. It offered us a perfect little romatic getaway. We enjoyed the outdoor firepit which was situated over a woodsy area where we roasted marshmallows on several occasions. We made BBQ each night using our own compact grill. Inside the cabin's wooden interior was a comfortable living/dining area with skylights, a wood-burning stove, a fully stocked kitchen, three bedrooms and a bathroom. The furnishings were rustic and simple. We had no problems with hot water or water pressure. The cabin was clean and we supplied our own towels and bedsheets. We used the lifejackets and rowboats supplied by the camp and went out on the lake on several occasions. The water and surrounding area was beautiful. The was also a small little island just off the camp where we rowed past. I read in one of the maps that there was a small cove nearby where you could dock your boat go on a short hike which offered gorgeous lakeside views. Unfortunately, I read about it after we went rowing and wasn't able to see it. We used the Adirondack Rafting Company about 10 minutes from the camp for our rafting excursion. The company was very professional and we had a wonderful first time rafting trip. Our guide was terrific and I highly recommend them. On our last day we went to visit Blue Mountain Lake and hiked the Castle Rock trail. For a non-hiker I found it to be moderately strenuous with rewarding views of Blue Mountain lake and its small islands. I would definately return to Camp Driftwood possibly next spring for some more relaxing and white-water rafting.

  • Liked — Convenient lake access
  • Disliked — No Cellular reception
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evenstar944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Our family spent a week at Indian Lake and used our cabin at Camp Driftwood as base camp for a variety of outdoor activities. Our family consisted of two older middle aged parents, three adult "children" (ages 25, 20, and 17 years old at the time), and our old dog. We liked being right by the lake and although we brought two of our own kayaks, we found it convenient to use the ones made available by the owners to tour the lake. I was recovering from a serious foot injury, and wanted a place I could kick back and read, sunbathe and swim while the adventurers went off and climbed mountains. This fit the bill perfectly.

We made our reservations pretty late--I would recommend no later than February for a good choice of cabins. But the owner had pity on us and allowed us to book the only cabin that was open the week we had available.--Hemlock Cabin, which is usually limited to four. While the cabin was a bit cramped for five big people, we didn't mind--we were just happy the owner had mercy on us so that we could spend a week at Indian Lake!

The cabin itself was rustic and simple, with lots of wood surfaces and walls. The bathroom and kitchen were adequate, although appliances and sinks were old, everything worked well and was clean. The cabin living room had a nice wood stove--which we actually fired up a couple of early mornings to take the chill from the air. We also used the little grill just off the front porch to roast hot dogs and marshmallows one night.

I loved being a just a short walk from the lake and that the property had both beach and boulder access to the water. It was a bit inconvenient to have no cell phone reception (couldn't easily make plans with relatives that lived a couple hours away--but hey it's the Adirondacks!)--the kids did pick up their wireless messages from the top of Snowy Mountain one day. But we all thought it was great to be removed from it all and really enjoyed the peace, quiet and remoteness of the location. We're planning to return this summer--can't wait!

  • Liked — Location, individual cabins, pet friendly
  • Disliked — No cell phone signals
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowRose125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2006

We searched the Internet for days for an Adirondack cabin on a quiet lake. We wanted something with limited tourist traps and views of lakes and mountains. That is exactly what we got at Camp Driftwood.
Our cabin, Apple Cabin, was just a little up the mountain from the lake, but felt very close. A walk down to the lake was a short, easy 3-5 minute stroll. We could hear the water splashing from the deck and the porch. All the cabins are surrounded by trees and thick shrubbery so that you feel almost completely isolated from the other cabins.
The cabin provided most of the conveniences of home: plates, glasses, cups, silverware, baking dishes, coffee maker, oven, fridge, and microwave. You will need to bring your own sheets and towels. However, there is a full grocery store in the village, about a 10 minute drive from the cabin.

  • Liked — Privacy, quiet, scenery
  • Disliked — Check-in process was a little confusing
  • Tips/Secrets — Call/email early for reservations
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rrpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

This camp has several cabins directly on Indian Lake and, if you want to avoid the traffic noise of Route 30 and be among the trees with the sound of waves lapping the shore, these are the ones to book. The two cabins at the rear of the property (advertised as the ones not having lake views) have convenient road access (their own private driveways and parking spot) but the traffic was heavy the first weekend of our stay (bikers etc) then the construction trucks doing work at Blue Mountain Lake started up in the mornings. This can be very annoying if you were expecting peace and quiet. The property itself is wooded with both a rocky beach and sand beach (with a dock for boats), and swimming areas at both, a lean-to where you can light a fire, ample firewood (but you might hear the electric saw going one morning when the woodbark runs out), canoes, rowboats and kayaks, a sunfish sailboat and plenty of lifejackets. Water activities are unsupervised, though, no lifeguards and there's a rule that children under 15 need adult supervision. There are some big bass in the lake, so beware or they'll make off with your kids hooks and fishing line! Our cabin was typical cozy Adirondack style, with pine interior, comfortable beds (linens and towels are extra), a fully-equipped kitchen (no dishwasher) with shabby but usable utensils, wood stove in the living area, plenty of hot water and heat when needed, and a great screen porch. There was an outdoor fireplace you can put an old grill rack on but I wouldn't cook a meal on it, although fine for marshmallows. Only gripe was the grimy bathroom. If we were staying longer than a week we would have made a visit to the hardware store for a new mat and showercurtain and soaked the tub in bleach. Otherwise a nice little camp! Tip: Indian Lake Village is the headquarters for whitewater rafting -- in summer the Hudson river can get very low and you need to rely on a good dam release (the gates are opened 10:30 to 11:30 a.m. four times a week) to get down the 17-mile raft run. Avoid the Professional River Runners of Maine rafting company: their guide arrived late and we spent eight hours on the river alone (the other rafters were long gone), heaving a raft filled with ten people over five miles of boulders! Beware!

  • Liked — Lake access
  • Disliked — Grimy bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Book lakefront cabins
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2006

Camp Driftwood has two swimming areas: one has a small but sandy beach, and the other a pier off a granite ledge. This second site has a lean-to where you can hang out or have a campfire; I'm a native Minnesotan, and I found the swimming here almost as good as that in the Boundary Waters. In fact, nearby Blue Mountain Lake has the cleanest waters in the country. Another perq of the camp is the free firewood and the fact that they allow leashed and supervised dogs. It certainly pays off to spend the extra driving time getting away from the crowds at Lake George. My only regret was that this wasn't a terribly social place since most families keep to themselves in enjoying the wilderness.

It's worthwhile to visit the little museum of the town of Indian Lake even though it only opens for a few hours once a week. Also be sure to visit the nearby Museum of the Adirondacks: your admission pays for two days if you keep your ticket, and there's plenty to see since they have moved some historical buildings there. The logging and the summer camp exhibits are particularly rich, and there are some craft shops nearby. You can also take a tour of three lakes in Blue Mountain, aboard 19th C steamers. Just keep your mouth shut if you're a liberal or animal-rights activist or look like one (my husband claims my haircut gave me away) since the pilots are not only fonts of local history but also of anti-Clinton and Kennedy rhetoric, as well as grisly anecdotes about animal trapping. I had to bite my lip because the tour took us to so many beautiful and inaccessible sites, and the pilot really did know the history of the lakes and all the major lodges.

The owner of Camp Driftwood is the opposite. In fact, he's so retiring you'll have to be assertive in asking about hiking Mt. Baldy or paddling to the cove across the lake. Be sure to get a cabin with a shower and to ask about the history of your cabin since they were all built at different times, going back to the early 20th C. There are discounts for renting in the off season, but it can also be hard to find food at that time, except for the excellent little cafe that has veggie and organic options--it's on the town's main drag--and that is run by a chef from DC. The trading post at Sabael, down the road, has the best collection of local books, including ghost stories that kids might enjoy over the campfire.

Helpful?
12 Thank annalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 31, 2004

Hello,

My boyfriend and I went for a three days getaway in the Adirondacks, at the Indian Lake.
We rented a cottage with great lake views. The Camp Driftwood is excellent, the owner, is excellent too, helping you to find the trails or to fix your fishing line, boats and canoes are at your disposition. The Camp is magnificient and the views are really relaxing...
We did also many trails, the Blue mountain, the Sawyer Mt, the Baldface... each of them offers very nice views on this beautiful landscape of the Adirondacks.
I had a really great time, and I highly recommend Camp Driftwood for your stay, there is everything nearby the camp to make your getaway perfect! I LOVED IT!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Lake
9.4 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
16.9 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Copperfield Inn Resort
The Copperfield Inn Resort
#3 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
23.7 mi away
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Chestertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Driftwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Driftwood

Property: Camp Driftwood
Address: 124 Driftwood Trl, Indian Lake, NY 12842-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Indian Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Indian Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique cottages on 870 feet of wooded Indian Lake shoreline ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Driftwood Indian Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing