We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Experience”

The Adirondack Trail Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Indian Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Adirondack Trail Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Indian Lake
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Good Experience”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Adirondack Trail Motel is typical of the type of motel that flourished before the Northway went in - spare, clean and comfortable. It's nothing fancy, but very good for value. We were in Room 10. We had two queen beds, a flat screen TV with good reception, a small bathroom (good water pressure, and by following the hand written instructions posted by the shower, no trouble getting and keeping a good temperature). Some other reviewers have complained of street noise, but perhaps because we were there early in the season it was no problem. Good eating at the Indian Lake Restaurant and Tavern. The staff at the motel were very pleasant. We slept well and enjoyed our stay.

LauraandTim

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauraandtim48411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Adirondack Trail Motel last weekend with a group of friends prior to our whitewater rafting trip. As with the prior reviewer, we were in the "wolf" room. I did see in our friends rooms and they each had a different theme. The room was clean with a nice flat screen tv. The shower was hot however not much water pressure. The major draw is that it is right next door to the Adirondack Rafting Company. We spent Friday night, had a decent breakfast at the Pig Deli down the street and then a great day on the river. If you are going rafting, it is reasonable and convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpstateNYtraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed just one night in room #3. The decor is fabulous - a wolf theme, perfect for the mountains. From the comforter covers to the lamps to the wall covering there were wolves everywhere. I could not peek into any of the other rooms to see if they were the same.
The room was spacious with two comfortable queen beds. There was a large flat screen tv, good wifi service, and microwave. No coffee maker.
The bathroom was clean - no wolf shower curtain, alas. You had to leave the door open to ensure it warmed up.
It is a very reasonably-priced motel and we have no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a plain and simple place. The fan in the bathroom makes so much noise you can't talk to anyone. The night light in the bathroom didn't work, the light on the desk didn't work and the water pressure is so poor you barely can rinse your body off & you could never wash your hair and rinse out all the soap. We only stayed one night because we did not like the problems with the room. The person who runs the place Martha is very nice and pleasant. There is internet service, a TV and NO phone. Being right on the main road it is noisy when a big truck goes by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxy429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shokan, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A small lovely motel. The owner, who checked us in, was a most pleasant woman. She recommended restaurants and the check-in process was smooth and fast. Pleasantly surprised to find a REAL bathmat on floor outside of tub, not your typical, charming piece pf paper you usually get today. There was also a doormat inside the room where you entered. On the bathroom sink was a wicker basket, with autumn colored potpourri, holding soap and shampoo. There was a sign on the wall about how to get the best water pressure, but, it was fine, no problems. Everything was clean and neat, and quite comfortable. Outside the room were hanging baskets, that were still doing quite well for this late in September. Previously, people had cautioned about road noise, but we stayed in the room closest to the road - no problem. All in all, if in the area, based on price, cleanliness and "adirondack charm" - this is the place to stay - you won't be disappointed!!!!

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are good rooms, as long as you are looking for a real adirondack experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMF53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Indian Lake is a remote village in the Adirondacks. We decided to visit this area to experience the peacefulness and chose Indian Lake and the Adirondack Trail Motel. The motel was very accommodating, clean and friendly. The price was reasonable compared to other motels I checked. We arrived late and the office was closed. They left the room key in an envelope for us and we checked in the next morning. The clerk was very helpful in recommending restaurants and sites for us to visit. This is a small, family run motel that cares about it's clientele. We saw several other motels in the area that appeared to be quite run down. The Adirondack Trail was well kept and the rooms are comfortable and quaint, decorated with older furniture. We stayed in the Wolf Room which has a wolf motif. The only negatives are that there are no phones in the rooms (and there is no cell phone reception in the area) and no refrig (which we like to have). They have a pay phone outside and the clerk also allowed us to use the office phone to make a long distance call. None of the motels in the area have pools but there is a nice town beach nearby. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

I love the Adirondacks region - the hiking, the whitewater rafting, the warm sunsets. And in July 2009, my girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights. The price was very reasonable ($75 per night) and the location is excellent. It's right next to the Adirondac Rafting Company, across the street from both the Bear Trap (a local bar and restaurant) and a quaint little bakery. It's also within minutes of several great hiking paths (try Blue Mountain) and the Adirondack museum.
The rooms are pretty average, nothing special but comfortable for folks used to roughing it. Bathrooms were a little dirty. Apparently (when talking to locals) the motel is in much better condition than it was years ago. Great for families interesting in getting out of the commercialization of Lake George and couples wanting a weekend in the outdoors.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharmingAdvice27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Lake
0.0 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adirondack Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adirondack Trail Motel

Property: The Adirondack Trail Motel
Address: Route 28, Route 30, Indian Lake, NY 12842
Location: United States > New York > Indian Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Indian Lake
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing