We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Outlook But Rooms & Service Need Improving”
Review of Twin Lakes Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Twin Lakes Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hurley B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were visiting from the UK on a road trip from NYC to Niagara in September and decided to stay here as our first stop outside of the city.

The setting was lovely - little bungalows in pretty, peaceful grounds with plenty of space for families to enjoy. It could be a lovely place to relax in summer.

However, our room was very dated. The bed was comfortable and the space wasn't bad, but the facilities were poor - no fridge, tiny bathroom and old fashioned TV. The thing that really was poor was the service. We had to wait an age for someone to check us in, and when we had, the toilet was blocked. I had to ask three times for someone to clear it - and it took three hours for someone to eventually bother to come and do it (after we had been out and come back it still had not been sorted). This is pretty poor. There was a wedding on at the time, but we were also hotel guests paying for our stay and should have been treated better.

I also thought our stay was overpriced, but it seems hotel prices in the USA are generally higher than the UK for not as a high-a-standard.

I enjoyed our stay here and it is a lovely place, but there just need to be some improvements made to the service of the staff and also the bungalows which could do with updating. If this were to happen I would definitely recommend it, but at the moment it would not be top of my list which is a shame as it has great potential.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rangeybull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Twin Lakes Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 25 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

stayed in one of their bungalows. Massive bath in the room but very loud heater and outdated interior. the bed was uncomfortable. the area is beautiful, nice lake and surrounding. Takes about 15 mins drive to get to some shops or restaurants. The breakfast in the Twin Lakes Lodge is only on Saturday and Sunday and very plain. So we went to the local places to eat there. A shame as the room prices are not that cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skidoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My son was recently married at Twin Lakes Lodge. The staff could not have been nicer. From planning to check-in to check-out, it was lovely. Gail was very helpful through the planning stages. The wedding itself was lakeside and very romantic. The cabins are a bit rustic, but comfortable. The grounds are well-maintained and beautiful. Our guests all had good things to ssay about the food and accomodations. All in all, it was great and I would highly recommend Twin Lakes Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller11598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Twin Lakes Hotel for two nights on our summer road trip through the Hudson river valley in the summer of 2013. We booked it based on the price, proximity to the Catskill Mountains and the advertised outdoor activities. The location of the hotel was very convenient, we were close to New Paltz, Kingston and Woodstock, which we visited while there. The rooms were pretty small, no fridge, the furniture and bathrooms were dated and the room had some bugs but it was not the worst we have seen. My wife wanted to leave the first night but because we got there late and really didn't have many options we decided to stay. I am glad we did though because the next two days my son and I had the best fishing experience we have ever had. In a small lake behind the cabins we caught the most and biggest number of crappie, blue gills and my record large mouth bass. We couldn't get enough of it. It was like fishing heaven. So, if you are looking for a nice comfortable room near the mountains you are probably better off paying a little extra for a nice bed and bathroom but if you OK with so-so and want to go fishing this place is totally worth it! Have fun.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IKE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My son's wedding was held the 1st weekend of October, 2012 We had a welcoming party Friday evening, instead of a rehearsal party, so that everyone in town Friday could participate. The food was excellent, as was the entire staff. The ceremony was the following day, on the lakeside, followed by the reception in the pavilion, and that was followed by a huge bonfire from 10pm to ???
Again, Saturday, the food, the staff, management and owners were superb. They all went above and beyond what you would expect. The entire weekend was major fun and relaxing.
Finally, the on site accommodations, 8 cabin/cottages and 6 motel style rooms were fantastic. Warm, comfortable and clean, and reasonably priced. Not pricey high end hotel rooms, but perfect for the immediate relatives and wedding party. The off site guests were easily shuttled back and forth. A great time at a great place, and a great couple were all smiles all weekend.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank PeterAllegany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Lots of amenities (gazebo, pool, lake)...we even saw a bunny hopping in the grass. The staff is very kind, the rooms are lovely …................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egokaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Here's the Truth & the whole truth, this is were I got married & engaged.
The owner Mark is a great guy & the site is immaculate, from the 1st time we stayed we loved it, the lodges are cute and the outdoor pool is clean & nice.

We got a great deal for pur wedding and for us what was really special was that all our 150 guests had to stay either on site or in the local Hotel, so of course everyone had a great time.

You know it's the truth!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TruthRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurley
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
889 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
321 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
170 reviews
12.0 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Lakes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Lakes Lodge

Address: 198 Heritage Dr, Hurley, NY 12443-6263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hurley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hurley
Price Range: $142 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Lakes Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Twin Lakes Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing