We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding value, very clean with the nicest lady, Betty, at the desk.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whitman Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An outstanding value, very clean with the nicest lady, Betty, at the desk.”
Reviewed August 6, 2010

It was a pleasure for my son and I to stay at the Whitman Motor Lodge. Everything was neat and clean and the next time I go to Huntington I will stay there again.
Special thanks to Betty for her help when I thought I’d left my camera bag at the motel. Betty stopped what she was doing to look in several places for it. Thanks so much for your patience and help. As you know I’d left it someplace else and found it by calling a family member.
The motel is a few miles from the town of Huntington which is a fabulous town with some of the best restaurants you'll find, with lots of window shopping available.
Thank you.
A.L.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerAlVenice_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    63
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
94
62
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Little River, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We recently returned home after an eight day stay at "Whitman Motor Lodge". We have stayed at the "Whitman" as we call it, quite frequently over the last ten years.

The Whitman is our home away from home. The owners and all personnel working there are most helpful with any and all customer needs. If you have a special need or problem it will be addressed almost before you finish saying what the problem is.

The Whitman is centrally located on Long Island makig it easy to access all the highways, businesses, area attractions, historic sites and entertainment.

All those people we have recommended the lodge to over the yars were very pleased with the treatment they received. The amenities and decor are constantly kept in good repair and improved, with an eye to good taste, making you feel comfortable. You also get to meet many interesting people from all over the world and all walks of life. We are always treated like one of the family at the "Whitman Motor Lodge".

Go there, relax, and enjoy yourself whether alone, with a group, or family on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runnbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Loved this Hotel ~ had the two room suite for our family with 3 teens. Found it to be comfortable with plenty of space and very affordable. Staff was more than helpful. Room was clean and quiet, beds were very comfy, bathroom was clean. Even used the mini-kitchen which turned out to be incredibly convenient. Usually we stay in big name Hotels or condos, but since it was Graduation weekend couldnt find any available ~ very glad we found Whitman. Would definately go back to Whitman should we visit the area again! There's even a great little sports bar/Restrauant right across the street! Called over and ordered a late dinner for the kids and ate in the room! Couldnt ask for more....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firecracker7466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We needed an affordable place to stay to attend a family funeral in the area, and chose Whitman Motor Lodge based on the reviews here. It was a huge mistake. The sidewalk outside of room smelled of urine, and our room smelled strongly of cigarettes even though we requested a non-smoking room. The shower stall was not clean. The biggest downfall was the service, however. My parents requested extra pillows, which were brought while we were out to dinner, but the person who brought them left door open (not just unlocked, but actually not closed) - particularly unsafe considering the room doors open up straight to the parking lot. Additionally, we asked for late checkout to attend the funeral the next day, which was granted. The person working the front desk then proceeded to call repeatedly (while we were at the funeral) to ask us to come back sooner because the cleaning woman had to prepare the room for the next customer, and then complained about how much we had put him out. When we returned at the specified time, however, the cleaning woman was busy with other rooms and there were clearly other vacancies - not sure why he had to harass us at a funeral for no reason.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieg241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amosch, Owner at Whitman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2010
We are sorry if you were inconvenienced, however we investigate all complaints seriously.
Our front desk advises us that your were granted a later checkout, and that he had no way of
knowng what funeral parlor you were attending. You did call our front desk on your cell phone to say that you will return at 3:oopm. Our check in time is 1:oopm and since were were sold
out the arriving guests were not able to get into their room. When you finally arrived back at our
facility which was after 3:oopm, you inisisted and taking showers and changing your clothes for your trip home. Our maids had to stay over time to ready the room for the new guests, so
naturally your request was refused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I stayed at Whitman Lodge for a whole month. If I were staying in central Long Island this is where I would stay. Friendly, Clean, American owned. A great value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelinman31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Our June 12th stay was given exceptional customer service and generosity by Whitman Motor Lodge staff. If you want a trouble free accommodations and very nice people that go the extra mile, this place is it. In Minnesota, people expect nice. This was Minnesota nice. Easy place to stay with just a train ride into New York proper if you prefer not to drive in the Big Apple. Thanks again to Andy and the gang!

Rich & Ingrid
North Branch, Minnesota

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorSauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We booked this motel online and used other reviews, pics and location as our basis for deciding to stay. We were very pleased with our decision. Having owned an award winning B&B on Maryland's eastern shore for several years, we know good value, great service and nice accomodations. The front office and room attendants were not only efficient but quite friendly. We decided to stay an extra night and they made it very easy for us. The breakfast in the morning was great! There are vending machines with Soda, Water, OJ and other juices nearby as well as a good variety of snack items.

The room was trendy as most of the popular chain hotels in decor. The bed was comfy and the bath was nice. The shower was fantastic. Roomy, good water pressure and no variation in water temp.

PROS: Close to stores, mall and neighborhoods of South Huntington. Good food choices (bagels, danish, muffins, english muffins, waffles, pancakes, cereal, coffee/tea) for a continental breakfast. Clean, stylish, updated rooms. Friendly, helpful staff and all for $100 total per night!

CONS: No outlet in bath. Cars in lot pull up to rooms so it can be noisey if a diesel pickup parks next door, as was the case with us. It is on RT. 25A/Jericho Tpk so the car noise could interfere with light sleepers. Bring earplugs, I did and slept like a baby!

All in all this is a great place to stay if you want a good value and don't like compromising too much on the amenities.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoozieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
4.2 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
2.6 mi away
Oheka Castle
Oheka Castle
#1 of 3 in Huntington
231 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chalet Inn & Suites
Chalet Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Centerport
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Woodbury Long Island
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitman Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitman Motor Lodge

Property: Whitman Motor Lodge
Address: 295 E Jericho Tpke, Huntington, NY 11746-7309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitman Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the Cleanest and Most Comfortable rooms in town. We have 6 Full one bedroom suites and 2 one bedroom apartments, along with our spacious King and Double rooms. We strive to make your stay with us one of the best experiences you ever had in a mid-priced Motel. We are very proud of our 4.5 star rating with TRIP ADVISOR and plan to keep it up !!!! We look forward to seeing you soon ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Whitman Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitman Motor Hotel Huntington
Whitman Hotel Huntington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing