We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GEM IN THE HEART OF LONG ISLAND”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitman Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2009

To The Wonderful Staff at The Whitman Motor Lodge,

I would like to thank you all for the exceptional accommodations and service at your hotel during my entire one month stay. Upon relocating back to Long Island from Atlanta in September, I needed a clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay while my wife and I searched for our new home. Your hotel exceeded my expectations with its cleanliness, extremely comfortable king bed, amenities (wireless internet, over 100 cable channels), and central location (on Jericho Turnpike- within 5 minutes of the 110 Corridor in Melville, Long Island Expressway, Northern State Parkway and plenty of shopping including the Walt Whitman Mall.

Yet perhaps it was the friendliness of the personnel who run the establishment more like a bed and breakfast, treating its guests like family that I will remember most. I will be certain to recommend The Whitman Motor Lodge to all friends and business associates visiting Long Island as the prefect place to stay. Its affordability (which can be difficult to find on Long Island) also makes it ideal for those returning from out of state visiting family for the holidays and reunions.

Two Thumbs Up For The Whitman Motor Lodge of Huntington!

Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Chris K.
East Northport, New York

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ck4874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 247 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2009

Friends from out of state stayed at the Whitman because of its conveinent location to a local affair & the fact that some rooms had a kitchenette & living room area in addition to the seperate bedroom. Due to the fact that I had a house fire, I was in need of a long term stay residence (more than just a bedroom) & remembered the beautiful clean apartment at the Whitman. There was an apartment suite in the main building that was available for my stay of over six months. Exactly what I needed, a fully furnished apt, beautifully appointed with everything from cutlery to dishes to WIFI. Despite the tragedy I was experiencing, the owners immediately made me feel like I would have a home to stay at, making my days as normal as possible under t he circumstances and allowing me to return to work, without the worry of my housing. The entire staff has been personalble, keeping the rooms immaculate, as well as giving me a sense of family. The location never made me feel displaced, as it not only still in my neighborhood, but in close proximity to all of Huntington, its restaurants, malls, railroad station & parkways. I honestly dont know where I would be without the Whitman. The owneres & the entire staff have taken care of me & helped me through worst time of my life & have been constantly encouraging & supportive of me. I cannot recommend the Whitman more highly to anyone who needs a place to stay if only for a night or two or like me to have a home for awhile...and ...the coffee is always on.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aptb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Although the first impression upon pulling up to The Whitman Motor Lodge doesn't seem particularly promising, this is an extremely clean and up-to-date motor lodge. If you're looking for a safe, clean, reasonable room with all the basics, this is it. We were delighted to find a dorm-sized refrigerator and small microwave in our room, both immaculately clean and ready to use. The bathroom was pristine, and the bed comfortable. The owner is sincerely concerned for his guests' comfort, as well as the public perception of his home/business. The breakfast offerings are very basic, but sufficient. I was delighted with the free WiFi. The location is extremely convenient to shopping, restaurants, attractions and more. We had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

This is the second time this year that I have been in this area. The value and cleanliness
made staying here an easy choice. The staf was very friendly and helpful which is gettingt harder to come by out there. We were made to feel like one of the family. We will always stay here when we are in the area, and recomend it to all that are looking for a great value in thier travels

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montauk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

What a deal! The rooms were spotless, beds comfortable and the staff was so pleasant. I can't believe that continental breakfast was also included at these prices. Much better than a Hilton or Marriott that I often stay at when I travel. Whenever on Long Island, I will definitely be staying here. Thanks to all the staff for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrlny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

The staff could not have been more accommodating. They graciously provided accessories I had forgotten to bring; looked up phone numbers and provided directions to local points of interest; when our heater did not work in the room we had reserved, we were immediately upgraded to a suite at no extra charge. The rooms are spacious, clean, sound proof and affordable...the complimentary breakfast is most sufficient. The very feel as i walked in was a warm "welcome". I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meant2b4kmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

My stay at the Whitman Motor Lodge was very pleasant. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. The free continental breakfast and coffee were excellent. I will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbeagle1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
4.2 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
4.3 mi away
Chalet Inn & Suites
Chalet Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Centerport
62 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oheka Castle
Oheka Castle
#1 of 3 in Huntington
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Woodbury Long Island
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Syosset by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitman Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitman Motor Lodge

Address: 295 E Jericho Tpke, Huntington, NY 11746-7309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range: $127 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitman Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the Cleanest and Most Comfortable rooms in town. We have 6 Full one bedroom suites and 2 one bedroom apartments, along with our spacious King and Double rooms. We strive to make your stay with us one of the best experiences you ever had in a mid-priced Motel. We are very proud of our 4.5 star rating with TRIP ADVISOR and plan to keep it up !!!! We look forward to seeing you soon ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Whitman Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitman Motor Hotel Huntington
Whitman Hotel Huntington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing