We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birmingham, Alabama”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitman Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birmingham, Alabama”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Whitman Motor Lodge for three nights while in New York for my step brother's Travis Rittenhouse funeral. The two room with the kitchenette was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niecy_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    63
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
94
62
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My sister and I traveled to Long Island last month, and stayed in 4 different hotels. Three of the hotels were large hotel chains, and although they were pleasant enough, our favorite was the Whitman Motor Lodge. It's an old motor lodge, but they have certainly made the best of this property. It was spotless, our room in the back was very spacious and quiet, and the price was reasonable. Donald, who checked us in and out, was a person every hotel would like to have working for them. He was personable, helpful and conscientious. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others, especially families.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyanne2448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed at the Whitman Motor Lodge for four nights while on a business trip. I was worried that because the price was lower than a lot of other hotels in the area that it might not be very nice. I read reviews before I made the reservation, and they seemed to be generally positive, so I booked a room. My room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The people at the front desk were pleasant to deal with. The breakfast buffet was better than I expected. The only complaint I have is that the carpet in the room could do with a shampooing. In the area around the door it was very dark and dirty.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room in the back of the main building. It is probably quieter back there, and it was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidUpstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasant valley
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed in the 2 room unit with the kitchenette. It was very clean and comfortable. I also requested a microwave and was accommodated. It was nice to have 2 tv's as I was traveling with my 2 nieces. the beds were really comfy; the sofa bed was comfortable as a sofa but not so much as a bed. There was a huge variety of breakfast food - muffins, danish, bagels, waffles, cereal, yogurt etc. Only thing that would have been a nice addition was fresh fruit as one of my nieces is not able to eat wheat or dairy.
Walls seems solid too, never heard anyone on either side of us or traffic in the front. Really close to the mall, restaurants and attractions in the area. Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Loved the room with the kitchenette which was in the back away from the traffic on Jericho turnpike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercPleasantValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have stayed at Whitman Motor Lodge several times and can't say enough about the accommodations. The rooms are very comfy and very clean. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Love the continental breakfast.....just perfect to start your day. Anytime coffee is great! We visit family, and this location is very convenient. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Just love everything about Whitman Motor Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prish25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed only one night for business. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating (we checked in early). Donald at the front desk was extremely helpful and downright fun. The room was exceptionally clean. Our step down shower was wicked in design. I've already told several business associates about what a nice place it was to stay for an affordable price.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the quiet of the rooms to the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The fact that I had such a good experience the first time that I stayed at the Whitman Motor Lodge prompted me to stay again for another satisfying experience. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the facility is well maintained. The staff is courteous and helpful. They offer a nice Continental breakfast and the motel is located within easy driving distance of restaurants and shopping malls. The Long Island Railroad is within 10 minutes away (a short cab ride since commuting residents use the station's parking spaces). Penn Station is a little over an hour away. I would recommend this motel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms 401 - 404 are in the back, away from the parking lot and road, and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A_Former_New_Yorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
4.2 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
2.6 mi away
Oheka Castle
Oheka Castle
#1 of 3 in Huntington
231 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chalet Inn & Suites
Chalet Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Centerport
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Woodbury Long Island
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitman Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitman Motor Lodge

Property: Whitman Motor Lodge
Address: 295 E Jericho Tpke, Huntington, NY 11746-7309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitman Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the Cleanest and Most Comfortable rooms in town. We have 6 Full one bedroom suites and 2 one bedroom apartments, along with our spacious King and Double rooms. We strive to make your stay with us one of the best experiences you ever had in a mid-priced Motel. We are very proud of our 4.5 star rating with TRIP ADVISOR and plan to keep it up !!!! We look forward to seeing you soon ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Whitman Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitman Motor Hotel Huntington
Whitman Hotel Huntington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing