We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitman Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whitman Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

A group of us stayed here as part of a golf trip to Bethpage. We had stayed at another motel the year before and were very disappointed. We just wanted a clean place at a decent price. Whitman Motor Lodge was perfect. The rate was very good, the rooms were exceptionally clean and the staff was friendly and constantly cleaning the grounds too. The place has obviously been upgraded recently. The rooms are not spacious, but adequate and comfortable.

Room Tip: Suggest rooms in the 200-300 block which are away from the main road and much less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ace091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    58
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
92
61
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jessup, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We arrived at 1:30 am without a reservation: Staff were very nice and courteous. Room was spotless clean. Very modern bathroom, nice color scheme. Convenient parking despite being on a major road "Jericho Tpke". We were very pleased with our stay and will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Picked this place on a recent trip to NY for a wedding. We didn't expect much but were very pleasantly surprised. Clean, recently updated rooms. Nice bathrooms. Super friendly and helpful staff. Great interaction after the fact when I inquired about some of the vintage posters in our room. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were facing away from the street. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdJ333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

What can you say- from the super friendly lady at the front desk who checked us in to meeting the owner, Andy, who obviously takes great pride and care if his establishment, this is now the only place I'll stay when I'm in Huntington. Super clean rooms, wi-fi and a good continental blast with fresh long island bagels!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Elroy192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I am a former resident of Huntington who grew up there, I was well aware of the Walt Whitman Lodge. It was known to be seedy and dirty, a place I would never want to stay. However, my brother had told me it had changed owners and he had a friend that often stayed there when in town. He knew first hand it had changed for the better. So under his advice, my boyfriend and I booked a room, though I was still leary.

I was pleasantly surprised when we got there, it was no longer that seedy little dump, it had become a clean and welcoming place. The staff that greeted us was friendly and gracious.

In January I came home for a visit and of course I booked a room at the Walt Whitman Lodge, once again the staff was super friendly and helpful, especially Andy. Our accomodations once again were clean and well kept, we were not disappointed. the location is great, close to everything for travelers ( including my parents for me lol).

I HIGHLY recommend the Walt Whitman Lodge. It's clean, it's convenient, it's old fashioned professional service, it's affordable. For once, I'm glad I listened to my brother.

Thanks Andy,

Helen & Bill

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the lot away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Greenwich, RI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Room was no frills, but very clean & comfortable. Looked like the bathroom was recently renovated. Our room faced the turnpike, so it was a little noisy but we were definitely able to sleep. Gentleman at the front desk was super nice. Can't beat the location or the price. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Try for the rooms in the back, probably a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

As former residents of Huntington, we were amazed at how this place has been turned around. Once we discovered it, it became our first choice on every visit. Its as though being nice is catching beginning with the staff and all the repeat customers.

Room Tip: Ask about the suites for longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodbury Inn
2.6 mi away
Oheka Castle
Oheka Castle
#1 of 3 in Huntington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chalet Inn & Suites
Chalet Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Centerport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Woodbury Long Island
4.6 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
3.4 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitman Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitman Motor Lodge

Property: Whitman Motor Lodge
Address: 295 E Jericho Tpke, Huntington, NY 11746-7309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitman Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the Cleanest and Most Comfortable rooms in town. We have 6 Full one bedroom suites and 2 one bedroom apartments, along with our spacious King and Double rooms. We strive to make your stay with us one of the best experiences you ever had in a mid-priced Motel. We are very proud of our 4.5 star rating with TRIP ADVISOR and plan to keep it up !!!! We look forward to seeing you soon ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Whitman Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitman Motor Hotel Huntington
Whitman Hotel Huntington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing