We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe some of these petty reviews.”
Review of Oheka Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oheka Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
Inner Harbor, Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I can't believe some of these petty reviews.”
Reviewed October 25, 2007

The venue, the people, the entire event... was incredible.
End of story.....what a fantastic, magical place.
All I can is, there's about 300 people from all over the US that will be talking about this place until the day they cross over...thanks to the way they were treated this past weekend.

Great place...trust me.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank peterkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    53
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
40
142
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2007

My sister had her wedding at Oheka Castle yesterday and booked my husband and me a room there. I have to say that I was very impressed by the attention that was given not only to my sister, but also to all of the guests of the castle. The staff was very curteous and helpful. I was there with my 2 little children from 10 AM, and I even had the bridal attendant helping me with the baby.
The ceremony was amazing and could not have gone any better. Although 2 nights before, there had been a small fire at the castle due to a lightning strike and there was even flooding (I'm guessing because of the fire department extinguishing the fire), the castle was up, running, and looking expectacular in time for the wedding.
The actual party went without a hitch. My sister was extremely happy and enjoyed her day to the fullest.
My room was excellent. My only complaint is that there was no room service after 10 PM and @ 4 AM I was starving (after too much dancing).
Thank you Oheka Castle for making my sister's day so marvelous and our stay a happy one.

  • Liked — the scenery, the staff's attentiveness, the accommodations
  • Disliked — no room service after 10 pm
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patri79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2006

The castle and grounds are beautiful and feel a world away from Long Islands strip malls. That said, this was more like staying at a large b and b than a luxury hotel -- no food service after breakfast (which was very good for a continental breakfast), pool closed for renovations, very few people around.

I am picky about cleanliness and was not impressed with stained carpet and I believe that mushrooms (or a similar looking fungus) were growing in the corner of the rug. No, I'm not kidding. That said, the room was spacious and elegantly appointed and despite the weddings it was very quiet.

  • Liked — The setting, ambience
  • Disliked — the carpet in my room!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank itiner-rant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHEKA, Manager at Oheka Castle, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
There was indeed a tiny spot of mold which had developed between two panes of glass on the shower door. The door has since been replaced. Cleanliness is of the utmost importance to Oheka and our staff are constantly monitored to ensure the estate, gardens and guestrooms are always in top form.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

My fiance and I spent Valentine's Day at Oheka Castle in February 2006. To be honest, we were expecting more for paying $600 per night. We were guaranteed a deluxe room with a view of the gardens as well as a 5 course dinner.

The room we stayed in had nice marble bathroom...but that's about it. The TV did not work properly and the window was tiny that barely a ray of sunshine was able to peep through. I think the formal gardens were out there...but who could tell ?!?! I was also disappointed that there was no room service. When our stomachs started to growl the only thing we could do was drink some water - restaurants would not even deliver food to us.

Dinner was absolutely atrocious. Everything was over or undercooked and very bland. Oheka does provide a nice continental breakfast for guests but don't have the croissants - true sand paper.

The grounds are nice but definitely look more luxurious in pictures. In addition, the Castle is just too far out of the way - too far from NYC, too far from shopping, too far from decent food. it's not a treasure worth finding.

Overall, the castle and staff have a cold feel. We were going to have our wedding there and even left a monetary deposit but eventually we decided to move our wedding to a warmer environment.

  • Liked — Marble bathroom
  • Disliked — Poor food. Inattentive staff. Distance from activities
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not waste your money
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHEKA, Owner/Manager at Oheka Castle, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
The reviewer actually booked her wedding at Oheka a few weeks after Valentine's Day and then cancelled for personal reasons. The reviewer was then discontented with our standard cancellation policy. Oheka is always open to receiving honest reviews which help us to improve the service we provide to our guests. Unfortunately, this review is inappropriate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
2.2 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
6.8 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oheka Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oheka Castle

Property: Oheka Castle
Address: 135 W Gate Dr, Huntington, NY 11743-6052
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Huntington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oheka Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHEKA CASTLE is a majestic historic mansion located on Long Island's famed Gold Coast between New York City and The Hamptons. This French-style chateau is the second largest private residence in America and has undergone $30 million in restoration to transform this stately home back to its former 1920's grandeur. OHEKA is listed on the National Register for Historic Places and boasts 32 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites on the upper floors where guests can sleep like royalty. Guests can enjoy a leisurely stroll around the beautiful formal gardens designed by the Olmsted Brothers, take a mansion tour and learn about the rich history of OHEKA and Otto Kahn, or dine in the OHEKA Bar and Restaurant before retiring to your uniquely designed guestroom for an in-room massage. Breathtakingly beautiful, OHEKA CASTLE is admired around the world as a premier venue for exquisite weddings and gala celebrations and has been the backdrop to many prominent film and photo productions. The refined European atmosphere and the feeling of being transported back in time to the decadence of the Roaring Twenties consistently gives OHEKA the recognition as America's Grandest Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Oheka Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oheka Castle Huntington
Oheka Castle Hotel Huntington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing