We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid potential but avoid the offseason”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairlawn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairlawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hunter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Solid potential but avoid the offseason”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

The Fairlawn Inn is in a good location in a nice town. My issues may have stemmed from the fact that we visited in early November right before they were going to close up for the season. It was obvious that it is a one man show and on this particular weekend, the man in charge seemed about ready to close up shop.

The inn consists of a main house and what seems like a poorly-constructed addition jutting out the back. The room we reserved in the main house had already been given away by 4 PM, the room we were given had a leaky ceiling, the replacement room wasn't leaking but it was a bit less comfortable than the first. The basic amenities were fine. The heat, plumbing and television all worked. Overall cleanliness was average, the first room's pillowcase did have a blood stain on it. The teenage boy handling the housekeeping apologized and replaced it.

The proprietor had a lot of rules to lay out and really wasn't interesting in small talk. Also, I would avoid trying to contact him after 8 PM. We were feeling a bit put-off by being scolded for ringing the door bell to be let in at 8:45 so we didn't stick around for breakfast. As it was, we were told we could only get it from 7:30 to 8:30, a bit early for a Sunday morning. Based on the menu, it looked like it would have been a pretty good meal.

Given the location and the condition of the main building, I can see how this might be a real charming place during peak season. Unfortunately, we just didn't have a particularly good time with it.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larchmonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
First of all I do not understand when a guest waits four months to post a review. But regardless I would like to respond to it.

As you can see we normally get five stars and are proud of what we have to offer. The ceiling being leaky, is a result of previous guests not insuring their shower curtains are securely inside the tub when they use the shower, water leaks out and fills the ceiling below. We constantly maintain the inn and this may have been a time when we were waiting to get it patched and repaired. The section was covered as best we can to make it as attractive as possible and we did relocate the guest. We have since left more visible notices for guests to try and alleviate this issue. The inn is 106 years old and has that type of "Charm" let us say.

I will not apologize for any room at the inn. We constantly update linens, decor, clean carpets and insure it is impeccably clean. Unfortunately a stained pillow case got through the folding process but was immediately replaced with a clean one. Things happen and in this case and every case we address it immediately. You get incredible value when you stay with us.

The "poorly constructed" extension is the same age as the front of the house and is maintained to the same high standards, always. This is an opinion of a guest, not a construction expert and I would like to see what is poorly constructed about it . We maintain the property always, you cannot afford to let it go ever.....

The guest complained about ringing the bell to get in, had he listened to the orientation that is given to every guest so they can take advantage of every amenity we offer, he would have understood the second key on his key ring allowed him access to the house and all of those amenities 24/7. Breakfast - a full cooked to order gourmet meal is served from 8-9am with special requests entertained if a guest needs a special time. That timeframe was covered in the guest orientation also had he cared to listen. Coffee, fruit and pastries are left out later for late sleepers.

We are proud of the cleanliness standards, level of amenities and what we offer at the Fairlawn Inn. We are in the top three inns of distinction in NY from the New York State Hospitality and Tourism Association for 2009, another reason we are prideful of our property. Upon arrival if any guest is unhappy with their accommodations or any part of their experience we try to adjust it until the guest is happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    27
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
106
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

Came up to Hunter for a quick 1-night ski wknd. Called the Inn that saturday afternoon and booked Mt Dew room with 2 lift tickets for $238. Thought it was a great deal.

Inn is well located on 23A about a hundred yards past Hunter's main entrance. Exterior is lovely. Interior is uniquely decorated. a little cluttered with lots of antique style furniture. Dark and quaint.

Location is good for skiing, but for dinner and drinks you have head back to Tannersville.

Chuck, the innkeeper is a former executive at Sonic Restaurants, and extends warm hospitality.

Our room was nice, a little bit small, but had a small flatscreen tv, private bath, and comfy enough bed. Some of the colors were mismatched a little bit, but largely had an Asian motif going on.

Breakfast the next morning was delicious. Apple cider, coffee, fresh fruit, omelets or delicious blueberry pancakes. A treat.

Exactly what we expected and we would happily return.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
Thank gahlisary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2008

If you like fine eclectic Victorian interiors, this is THE Inn to stay at. This place is splendid, warm, inviting and clean. The gourmet breakfast is also worthwhile many repeated stays. The innkeeper is a wonderful host, pleasant and very accommodating. My wife and I highly recommend the Fairlawn Inn over any other equally or higher priced Inn or Hotel. We look forward to a return visit . . . accompanied by our friends.

Emilia & Hermann

  • Liked — Archtecture, Interior, Host, Breakfast
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank knippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

A group of friends came to Hunter for the weekend and rented the whole Inn. The food was superb, the Inn was so nice and comfy, rooms were perfect and I know that everyone enjoyed themselves. Chuck went above and beyond for sure. We arranged to have a winetasting and dinner there on Sat. night so folks wouldn't have to drive. We did the winetasting/appetizers and Chuck prepared a great dinner. Chuck went the extra mile to make the most wonderful centerpiece for the winetasting/appetizer table creating the right mood for the event. Chuck put the time and energy into making the weekend one to remember. We had the opportunity to see all the rooms in the Inn and each had its own ambience and all were nice and ensuite so no one felt like they got the short end of the stick! A great time was had by all.

  • Liked — old inn with character
  • Disliked — squeaky floors! but it comes with the old inn territory
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereverthewindblows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Janet and Steve, the wedding party and all the guests were a pleasure to serve and have at the inn. The inn patio and property was perfectly suited for the size of the party and I got special pleasure from the confidence and the flexibility provided by the bride and groom.

What a great group of family and friends, and a good time was had by all. As the bride said, "if they did not have a good time, they did not want too!" Innkeepers really enjoy when the property is put to it's best use. The planning and preparation for the parties was fun, watching it call come together seamlessly, everyone dance, whoop and share in the joy of the day was a pleasure to behold. There were not many leftovers so it seemed everyone left sated and happy.

Special thanks to the bride, her special planning and making for making it easy. We all had a good time before, during and after that weekend and I look forward to seeing them and their guests for many years to come. Congratulations again best of luck as you face the future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Fairlawn Inn. Innkeeper Chuck obviously has a passion for collecting antiques, and the decor throughout is eclectic and fascinating. Our room, while small, was adequate and tastefully decorated.

The breakfast fare was fantastic. Lots of lovely fresh fruit, juice and home-baked muffins . Hot breakfast items were available to order. We thoroughly recommend Chuck's 4-cheese omelet - it's out of this world!

If or when we return to the area we would not hesitate to again stay at the Fairlawn Inn.

  • Liked — Quiet, fascinating decor, good location.
  • Disliked — The room we had didn't have much storage space.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank silverlining2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

At last a B&B thats a B&B not a hotel/motel wanna be. Romantic and Charming describe the Fairlawn Inn. You are greeted by Old Victorian Architecture as you pull up into the driveway. As you make your way to the entrance you cant help but notice the warm colors of the old house welcoming you inside. But before you go in take a minute to enjoy the magnificent view of Hunter Mountain as you stand on the enormous wrap around porch. The decor of the Fairlawn is as authentic Victorian as you can get. The walls are feast of Picassos and Monets. There are little treasures all around to look at and enjoy. You cant help but think someone took pain staking efforts to furnish and decorate this house. The room we stayed in was immaculate and smelled like fresh flowers. The room was furnished just as I had hoped it would be. On par with the rest of the house. COZY!!! We awoke each morning to a potpouri of deliciously sweet smells. Breakfast was fresh and made that moment (NOT THE NIGHT BEFORE!!) . Served with your choice of juices it was a perfect start to the day. The innkeeper Chuck, added to the flare of the place. Trust me fellow travelers he has your best interest at heart. Great time-Great Place!!!! We'll be back!! Dan & Maria Long Island New York

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Traffic
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMBJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

We have just returned from our second weekend stay at the Fairlawn. When we arrived Chuck was waiting to greet us with a warm welcome. We entered into a very tastefully Victorian decorated Inn. Each room filled with Antique treasures.

As chuck walked us to the check in foyer he explained the Inn, where everything was located, and the time for breakfast the next day. Chuck was very helpful with directions around the area as well as places to go and things to do.

Breakfast was a delicious treat each morning; the menu was posted each day on an easel. The choices were far from limited; I had a hard time choosing each day as I knew each selection was going to be fabulous. Fresh fruit, homemade breads, or muffins were offered in addition to your home cooked gourmet breakfast.

The Common area of the Inn consists of a family room, pool table room, and dinning room, with snacks and drinks available through out the day and evening.

The Inn offers rooms in the main house or you could choose a private entrance room. The two story porch leading you to the private entrance rooms are filled with wonderful wicker furniture, rockers, and a beautiful view of the garden and Mountain top. A perfect place to relax.

Each room we stayed in was unique in its decorating. We found the rooms to be warm, cozy, and very clean. We have stayed in 2 of the nine rooms, planning our third visit this Valentines Day weekend.

Overall I would highly recommend The Fairlawn Inn for travelers who want a quite get away with clean, beautiful, and relaxing, accommodations.

Janet Poccia
Flanders, NJ
jpoccia12@optimum.net

  • Liked — The charm of the Inn and the personal attention from the Inn keeper Chuck
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jbaldwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunter
1.1 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#3 of 6 in Hunter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
6.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
5.6 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#5 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawn Inn

Property: Fairlawn Inn
Address: 7872 Main Street, PO Box 182, Hunter, NY 12442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hunter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairlawn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1904 fully restored and updated Victorian Mansion. Nine bedroom B&B all with private baths, free WIFI queen sized beds, Flat Screen TV's with DVD players, includes a full cooked to order breakfast. Centrally located in the Catskills with many attractions, within walking distance to Hunter Mountain a four season Ski Resort. Newest attraction is the Zip line adventure, the tallest and longest in North America. Adjacent to the Hudson Valley and many activities too numerous to mention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Fairlawn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlawn Hotel Hunter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing