We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Weekend!”
Review of Fairlawn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairlawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hunter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a two night stay at Fairlawn Inn. I have to say that from soup to nuts Chuck is an incredibly warm and wonderful innkeeper. He is very hands on, told us great places to eat, board games to play and is so fun to be around. The outside patio is heavenly and we sat out there all day and chilled by the small waterfall. At night Chuck put on the fire pit and brought out smores! He really thinks of everything.
Our room, the Opal room, was so clean and eco friendly. The bathroom had a claw foot tub and the pressure was great. In the morning you get a wonderful breakfast and its fun to watch Chuck make it himself. After everyone had their breakfast he sat down and ate with us. So fun.
The inn is kept in great shape and you can tell that a lot of love goes into it.
Beautiful views! mini golf and Hunter Mountain around the corner.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Opal room- second floor, quite, great light and great shades. Huge bathroom and big...
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything is thought of. From what to do with towels to recycling to great reminders!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We appreciate your review and commentary. This couple was a pleasure to have around the inn and also nice to see them enjoy the property. Innkeepers relish the times when they see guests engaged and enjoying time with other guests and also quiet times as a couple. Friendships develop, commonalities come to the forefront and it makes for a good weekend for everyone when everyone interacts over breakfast, around the fire pit or in casual conversation. The inn offers many places to find a quiet area or be with others. We hope this couple returns often and takes advantage of our beautiful area in the Great Northern Catskills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    27
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
108
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are thinking of this B&B, think no more!!! Book it!!! The Inn is so well maintained and the grounds and so beautiful. Nice and quiet with friendly patrons. Very close and convenient to Hunter Mountain and other towns. The best part of the stay at the Inn was Chuck!! He was very friendly and attentive and he makes one helluva breakfast!! He was very knowlegable on the town and different restuarants to try and even directions on getting to everything. He truly made the experience outstanding!! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are looking forward to your return and appreciate the praise and compliments. Hope to see you soon and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at Fairlawn over the July 4th weekend and the inn was at 75% or better occupancy but it’s spacious enough that folks aren’t in each other’s way. Chuck is a wonderful host and has a spirited sense of world experience humor that isn’t lost on the well-traveled. I admire that he expects his guests to use common sense required in a B&B environment and of well-behaved human beings in general and won’t hesitate to run off undesirables – it’s refreshing to meet a professional innkeeper with that kind of backbone and charm all wrapped up in one overworked individual. The inn was first built in 1904 or so and Chuck is only the third owner of the property; it’s got some history to it. The rooms are unique and well appointed, eclectic with an emphasis on artwork and interesting furniture and ambiance. Many of the rooms are accessed from an outside door via a common covered porch upstairs and down, which we like as opposed to many inns that offer room access only from within the main structure. Obviously, there’s privacy upside to that aspect.

The common areas are delightfully comfortable and it’s the first inn I’ve seen with a nice billiard table available for guests until 10:00 PM. Two of our most important criterion in a B&B is the showers and the beds. And both are wonderful at Fairlawn; especially the showers that have great water pressure and rainmaker heads. Nice. The grounds in the summer abound with well cared for plants and gardens with plenty of quality, comfortable furniture to lounge and pass time in.

The breakfast part of the inn is a delight with multiple choices for discerning guests and food prepared by someone who knows their way around a kitchen. The food is served restaurant style where your order is taken and served at your chosen table as opposed to many inns that chose to serve a buffet style meal. Hunter is a quiet town despite all the summer and winter activity by it being the closest ski resort (Hunter Mountain) to NYC ; and the Fairlawn is directly across the street from that resort and provides easy access to eateries in Hunter proper or to Tannersville or Windham, the two closest towns in either direction.

All these good things said however, it’s not the kind of polished place that a $400 a night inn might provide. Because if you’re expecting 5-star hotel level service and accommodations in a B&B environment then this isn’t the place for you. But if you’re in touch with reality and want clean, comfortable accommodations at budget prices and don’t expect someone to unfold a linen napkin in your lap for you, then try a night or two at the Fairlawn.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
Green Features: My review didn't mention this but it's green-certified and that's something that's important these days.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcp303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
What a great review. I very much enjoyed this couple. They both had a great sense of humor and we shared many laughs. They were a pleasure to have at the Fairlawn and it was pleasant to see them interact with other guests and enjoy the property. I hope they return often as they made the time fly and the innkeeper feel appreciated. Guests like this make the Innkeepers late in life "retirement" career so gratifying. Thanks again and see you during Fall Foliage Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I just love this B&B! I have stayed twice and each time met the nicest people. The owner, Chuck is very hands on. He maintains the property and house meticulously! He has many interesting stories and is fun to be around and can cook very well. The area it is in has Antique shops and stores to browse around in besides skiing so you can go up any time and just chill. Just sitting around makes a perfect day to reflect, enjoy and relax!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tere56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Theresa and Robert are a great couple and we enjoy them when they visit. I appreciate the feedback and look forward to their return. This review is coming from someone with many years in the hospitality business is very rewarding for me personally. She has stayed in many five star hotels and so her compliments of the property are greatly valued and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this inn before we just love going back we have become friends with other regular guests as well as the inn keeper. Can't wait for our next visit. Highly recommend it at any time of the year. Skiing in the winter, festivals at Hunter Mountain or just a relaxing getaway to the mountains.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveST1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Steve and Janet are wonderful guests. They have become great friends and are always a pleasure to have at the Fairlawn. I look forward to their visits, some time around the fire pit and the breakfast table. Their wedding was a pleasure to host as the guests that attended were every bit as nice as the host and hostess. Thanks for great comments Steve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband & I recently spend a weekend at the Fairlawn Inn. It was the last weekend of the skiing season and the crowds had definitely left. We had the inn all to ourselves. Chuck was away for the week and Kathleen took over as the inn keeper and she was great. Very warm and friendly and helpful with her suggestions. The property is very pretty. I loved the interiors. The common areas were good. It was great fun to relax by playing pool at the end of a tiring day of activities. Our room, the Gazebo was very charming. I would highly recommend it to all.

Room Tip: The Gazebo is extremely pretty with great views of the Hunter Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enthuchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I wish that I could have been here for your visit but Kathy does a great job in my absence. Come back often and I hope to be here personally when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband,son and I spent 3 wonderful nights at The Fairlawn Inn.
The house itself is an absolute delight with beautiful furniture and furnishings throughout.We stayed in the Opal room which is light,airy, comfortable and beautifully appointed; it is a wonderful space in which to relax whether you have been skiing or enjoying less energetic pursuits.There is also a games room complete with snooker table and various board games as well as complimentary snacks and soft drinks.Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit,yummy homemade cakes/bread and a good choice of freshly cooked hot dishes made with good quality ingredients.
Chuck,the Innkeeper, is fantastic. Where do I begin? From the moment I made contact about our booking, Chuck went out of his way to ensure we had a fabulous stay.His advice about car hire,ski passes ,local eateries etc etc was invaluable. On our last day he even cleared the snow from our car; provided us with a delightful goody bag for our journey and, as we didn't have GPS in our hire car, he thoughtfully printed off directions to our next destination.
I could go on, but suffice to say that everything about the Fairlawn is a labour of love for Chuck and that was evident throughout our stay.He is more than generous both of his time and of his beautiful home; we had a wonderful time and we will be back.Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Your family was a pleasure to have in my home we hope you return to our beautiful area and of course the Fairlawn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunter
1.1 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#5 of 6 in Hunter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
6.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
11.0 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
5.6 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#3 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawn Inn

Property: Fairlawn Inn
Address: 7872 Main Street, PO Box 182, Hunter, NY 12442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hunter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairlawn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1904 fully restored and updated Victorian Mansion. Nine bedroom B&B all with private baths, free WIFI queen sized beds, Flat Screen TV's with DVD players, includes a full cooked to order breakfast. Centrally located in the Catskills with many attractions, within walking distance to Hunter Mountain a four season Ski Resort. Newest attraction is the Zip line adventure, the tallest and longest in North America. Adjacent to the Hudson Valley and many activities too numerous to mention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairlawn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlawn Hotel Hunter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing