We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
81
68
38
25
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
68
38
25
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen hot tub steam room one bedroom suite hunter mtn valley view sofa bed lift tickets ski resort wedding skiing spa fireplace weekend condo convenience kitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 251 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2017

The property and rooms are about what you expect from a ski lodge. But, when you have a family that thinks it's o.k. for their kids to stomp around like elephants at 1am, and the staff threatens to remove YOU for asking that they do something about it, it doesn't matter how nice the rooms are.

We were here for a family wedding (off site thankfully), but there were 2 other weddings, and Oktoberfest this same weekend. So, the hotel was full. Again...that's all to be expected. But, threatening to call the police and remove *us* because we insisted that the management do something about the unacceptable noise at 1am is plain harassment. My father-in-law (in the room next door - which was also affected) actually started having blood pressure issues dealing with this crap.

The hotel management should be completely ashamed of themselves for their actions. They didn't even offer an apology (much less any compensation) after we finally had a maintenance person sit in the room to hear for himself what was going on.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HunterResort, Manager at Kaatskill Mountain Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

We would like to express that management was sympathetic to the noise complaint. As the guest stated we did have four weddings and an Oktoberfest at our resort so we were sold out for the weekend. We were able to secure a privately owned condo for the guests to stay in on property which we prepared and escorted them to see prior to checking in. The guests seemed satisfied with this offer, however once we arranged for this and the condo was viewed the parents moved with our assistance but, the guests who provided this review choose not to. We made every attempt to satisfy their complaint and make the remainder of their stay more satisfactory.

These guest said they would stay in the room they had and if there was noise when they returned from the wedding they were attending they would just continue to contact our front desk.

We refunded the parents for both nights of their stay, as well as one night for this guest who wrote this review. The parents were very pleasant when they checked out and satisfied with the monetary refund on both rooms that they paid for.

It is unfortunate that they felt we did not accommodate them, nor were we sympathetic to them, we tried very hard to assist them by creating a more seamless end to their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

NOT a place I would return or recommend. NOT a place for a nights sleep, unless
you can sleep to drunken wedding guests (not our wedding party, as our event is after this situation and off property), Children running and pounding above your room until 1am and a horrific staff of management.
I’ve had my share of hotel stays and this, by far, has been the worst.
Management with decent people skills can handle unhappy customers with a simple “I’m sorry this happened, what can we do for you.” After threatening US and our parents, we keep talking and made them realize this is a small community and they need to treat others properly. The one manager named (not Kim), kept telling me she would call the police because I was being a threat by sharing what has happened and asking for understanding.
They finally said they would “see what could be done”.
They told us we were in the wrong and the kids were just coloring at 1am after their security went in to our room and heard the feet pounding.
I could go on and on but the bottom line is, we were treated like criminals and the hotel is NOT a place you should spend your money.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HunterResort, Manager at Kaatskill Mountain Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

We would like to express that management was sympathetic to the noise complaint. As the guest stated we did have four weddings and an Oktoberfest at our resort so we were sold out for the weekend. We were able to secure a privately owned condo for the guests to stay in on property which we prepared and escorted them to see prior to checking in. The guests seemed satisfied with this offer, however once we arranged for this and the condo was viewed the parents moved with our assistance but, the guests who provided this review choose not to. We made every attempt to satisfy their complaint and make the remainder of their stay more satisfactory.

These guest said they would stay in the room they had and if there was noise when they returned from the wedding they were attending they would just continue to contact our front desk.

We refunded the parents for both nights of their stay, as well as one night for this guest who wrote this review. The parents were very pleasant when they checked out and satisfied with the monetary refund on both rooms that they paid for.

It is unfortunate that they felt we did not accommodate them, nor were we sympathetic to them, we tried very hard to assist them by creating a more seamless end to their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

This place is run like an amateur establishment. Fire alarm at midnight when I had to wake up at 5AM to drive back to NYC. Left me with 3 hours of sleep.
Shower handle fell off when trying to adjust water temperature.

No apologies or anything when complained to the front desk. GIVE ME MY MONEY BACK. HORRIBLE.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fourthandlong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

Where do I start.....ok...the beds which are most important absolutely SUCK !!
Mattresses are horrendous and I mean HORRENDOUS! !
Said the room was a mountain view....well....all I see on all 3 sides is wall...oh yes...some views of trees and the
Chair lift....but the view is not what they claimed.
Brochure makes it look like a 2 room "suite". ....NOT....one big room with efficiency kitchen.
Now...the good stuff...bartender was awesome....front desk help.....well... very helpful!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Ladylaw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

Booked a deluxe suite for a long weekend for a family wedding. Room had full kitchen, table & settings for 4, couch, TV and bed. However, no chest of drawers for clothes! Asked twice at front desk and by different people were told it was under the TV. The TV, however, was on the mantle above fireplace. Asked housekeeping and were told the room was as it should be. One person at front desk said there was a closet. The closet, however, had only 3 permanently affixed hangers. All in all the lack of drawer space was an unnecessary inconvenience but staff was decidedly unconcerned and unhelpful. Do ask for the crab cake in VanWinkles though. The wedding coordinator, Kristen, did a nice job.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews