We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Mtn Views, Cozy Rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaatskill Mountain Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hunter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaatskill Mountain Club
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hunter
GreenLeadersBronze level
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing Mtn Views, Cozy Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We went there for our friends wedding and have to say it was one of the best weddings I have ever been to. The rooms are cozy. We had one with a kitchenette, couch/tv, fireplaces and bed that comes down from the wall. I would of rated it excellent however, the mattress was a double and not as firm as I'd like. You can get a room that is larger with a queen bed that has a seperate room, full kitchen and jacuzzi tub. Our suite just had a a standard shower. The views where stunning with the lift to the base of the mtn right outside our door. The fireplace was nice as it had a setting where you can have it run for 60 min, 120 min, etc and fall asleep to it. I also enjoyed the food at Van Winkles restaurant. I highly recommend this venue if your looking for a place in the mountains to get married, or just a place to escape for the weekend. Very cute town.

Room Tip: Mountain View - amazing scenery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ar0undth3world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    62
    32
    19
    33
See reviews for
90
60
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn, new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

My wife and I dreamed of a wedding in the Catskills. We found a perfect venue in Boiceville but finding a perfect place for our party for the weekend was arduous to say the least. Then we found Kaatskill Mountain Club. The setting is stunning. Views from the room gorgeous. Staff is young, energetic and helpful. Rooms are not only surprisingly large but many have hot tubs in the bedroom. I not only found this super sexy but i am sure during the winter it is also perfect for a soak after a long day on the mountain. The pool and fitness area great. My favorite part is the fire pit outside next to the bar fully stocked with lumber to burn all nite. Overall, we had a great weekend and would recommend this place to anyone who asks.

Room Tip: during spring, summer and fall make sure to not be on the mountain side so you can enjoy the splendi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebeatpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Kaatskill Mountain Resort does not deserve a Gold Star rating –
Specifically, the resort misrepresents their accommodations and then nickel and dimes you on amenities

Misrepresentation –
Unit descriptions state that single bedroom units sleep 2/4 with 2 private.
Two bedroom units sleep 4/6 with four private.
If you book a 4/6, you will probably be jammed into a single bedroom with sleeping for four in the living area. The booking document does not say “bedroom” anywhere on it, so you don’t realize the cramped accommodation until you arrive. Complaints to the management are ignored.

Amenities –
There are no laundry facilities in the units, and tiny washer/dryer units down the hall cost $4 for a small load, washing and drying.
They charge $.25 a page to use the computer printer.
For a lodge that houses over 300 people, there are only 10 lounges at the pool.
There are no on-site recreational activities planned for guests.
Loud music is allowed until 11 pm.

If you want Gold Crown facilities and treatment, chose another resort!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hunter hotels

nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Kaatskill Mountain Club, Hunter - FILTHY with BUGS, SPIDERS, & NATS

Our Weeding hosts rented several rooms here for their event.
Every one had the same complaint:
This is NO 5 Star resort.
Sure the building are pretty - but the rooms FILTHY and loaded with BUGS and more.
The maid offered to spay our room - unfortunately not effective
The food was NOT 5 star but ok and extremely pricey.$$$$$
Unfortunately, there are few restaurant options in this old town of Hunter.
Only pizza and sub joints at Hunter, little to do, little to see.
Explains why 55% of the time shares are up for sale at extreme discounted prices.
Hunter Mountain may know how to make snow - but they DO NOT KNOW how to
operate a resort - again the buildings are pretty, the suites tiny, and the experience was terrible..
We would NOT COME AGAIN.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suejazzner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern nj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend. We were at Mountain Jam and it was the perfect location!! The room was great, nice view of the mountains. We also had a full sized kitchen which came in very handy. Every single person that worked at this hotel said hi to us and wanted to know if they could do anything for us. We did hang out at the bar for a bit one night and had something to eat. The food was good, the beer cold.
We could walk back and forth to the festival which was so nice!! Come back and hang out for a bit and head back down!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trrmht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, n.y.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We arrived to find that this place was empty. We knew it was off season but the sound of crickets could be heard in the entire place. They say they have a spa and we tried to book their services two days before we arrived with no prevail. The front desk told us on more than one occasion that they have to call someone in to open the spa when an appointment is made. With a couple of days notice it wasn't until a few hours prior to the appointment time did we get informed that the employee was NOT going to come in and open the spa for our services. There is really nothing on premise for the children to do except use the pool and you know that will only do for so long. Game room also was a joke with the 8 or so machines in there. We found the menu in their restaurant was pretty boring as well and will choose our next meal down the road to Poncho Villas. We recommend not to go there unless it's ski season then at least you have the mountain to enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neiko5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

The rooms are updated, clean, nice fire place, and kitchenette. Nice and clean bathroom, and less than a 5 minute walk or ski to the slopes. Good spa as well. It was pricy but it was definitely a very nice place to feel pampered and relaxed after a day of exercise and skiing. The restaurant food, although not bad, it was not excellent either. I would say it was pricy, boring, but maybe this is not the focus of the hotel, since the rooms have kitchenettes.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayte34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunter
6.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
10.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
6.0 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#3 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
6.9 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 10 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaatskill Mountain Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaatskill Mountain Club

Property: Kaatskill Mountain Club
Address: 7740 Main Street, Hunter, NY 12442
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hunter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaatskill Mountain Club 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the rustic elegance so prevalent in the grand Catskill mountain lodges being constructed in many of the top resorts nationwide, the Kaatskill Mountain Club is set to pamper guests with luxurious lodging accommodations, exceptional services and a full array of four-season mountain amenities. The Kaatskill Mountain Club is the obvious choice when only the best will do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaatskill Mountain Club Hotel Hunter
Kaatskill Mountain Hotel
Kaatskill Mountain Hunter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing