We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills, but you will lose weight, meet new friends and the food is fantastic.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunter Wellness Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hunter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunter Wellness Retreat
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
“No frills, but you will lose weight, meet new friends and the food is fantastic.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great experience and fantasatic food. The Chef, Chris Dunn, makes the place. The food is fantastic and he caters to your dietary needs. I have been to tons of spas and while this one is "no frills", it is set in a beautiful location, there is no pressure, the staff could not be more accomodating and it draws a very unique and fun crowd. The rooms are basic but large with nice decks and beautiful views. Plus, I lost weight without even trying even though I did not go for weight loss. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    6
    6
    20
See reviews for
9
8
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

My friend and I went to Vatra (aka Hunter Mountain Spa) after a Living Social deal. I had read some reviews about the food being amazing and the rooms being horrible but that is only half right. The food here is past amazing!!! The chef Chris Dunn is fabulous! No meal was a disappointment. I'm not a soup person and he got me to really love soup. All of this veggies are fresh and you are rarely hungry. Even when the hunger kicks in, it's almost time for lunch or dinner. He is also very friendly and like the other staff makes you feel right at home.

The instuctuors are awesome as well! My friend and I took yoga, Zumba, weight training, walks, water aerobics, and cardio while here. The instructors also make you feel very comfortable and will offer suggestions and guidance for those who are unable to do a full workout or have limitations. During out stay we had Inka, Celeste, Nicole, and Kathy as trainers. All fantastic and very personable.

We got here Wednesday at 6pm and left Saturday at 2pm. During this time we each lost 6 pounds. If you follow the program and workout you can lose the weight. Everyone is so supportive and I would definitely come back in the future! About the rooms, yes they are old but they aren't dirty at all. We stayed on the second floor and have a loft style room. I thought it was really nice. You aren't here to stay at a 5 star resort, it's to lose weight!

If you can make it here do it! You owe yourself a healthy life and this is a great jump start.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbritt815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Good spa for exercise and weight loss with calorie controlled dining. The chef is great at preparing meals for both 900 and 1200 calorie diets. Almost had too much food. Exercise classes are good and the unheated outdoor pool which I used a lot was nearly private. The air is wonderful and a good place to go to to escape city heat and humidity. Rooms are air-conditioned and have a ceiling fan as well. Furniture is catskill shabby - but clean and cleaned daily with fresh towels. Best thing is the variety of guests of all ages and I made new friends with whom I plan to keep up.

Room Tip: All rooms are essentially the same. However, one morning someone above kept tramping or exercising...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natakiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nine years ago Vatra jump started my 30 pound weight loss. This spring I realized I had gained back 5 pounds and knew I needed a Vatra refresher. I bought the two night coupon and so glad I did. While the hotel could use some new bedding, the food is good, the instructors great, the massage therapist and foot therapist excellent. You can't do better for the money! Thank you Vatra for setting me straight again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KatembNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Maximum weight loss in the minimum amount of time. Friendly atmosphere. Gorgeous scenery.Heated indoor pool. Old reviews are obsolete. Changes have been made and guests are pleased. The chef is beyond gifted in pleasing the palette.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Terrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Have been there three times this year for 5 night stays. Excellent for weight loss. The food is well prepared and there is choice of menu and calorie intake. Not organic, but healthy. They will also accommodate juice fasts. Exercises classes are good, but only 45 minutes which for me is not long enough. Instructors excellent. And if there are only a few persons, they will extend a particular class if requested. The massages therapists are also excellent. Downside is that the rooms are well past their prime and the mattresses not always good. Housekeeping needs to be improved. Reception and desk staff are helpful with one exception. Evening activities are virtually non existent so unless you can get to the town of Hunter to see a movie or hear a concert can be quite dull. You definitely need a car. The communal lounge area needs improvement. And the night staff not very helpful. Basically is shut down by 10PM. Best to go with a friend. Very laid back, good value but definite drawbacks. Probably best not to go in the winter. There is no communal sauna.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank divotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

VATRA is the place to go if your goal is to lose weight, and lose weight quickly! The food is actually very good and the portions are surprisingly plentiful. After lunch and dinner there's always a dessert to look forward to! Don't expect luxury and you won't be disappointed. The rooms are clean which is what is important to me when weight loss is my goal. The staff couldn't be friendlier and the facilitators who ran the exercise classes were very helpful, giving personalized suggestions to all who needed it. I'll be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are essentially the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JRM1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunter
9.5 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
7.3 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#3 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Wellness Retreat

Property: Hunter Wellness Retreat
Address: 48 Clover Rd, Hunter, NY 12442 (Formerly Hunter Mountain Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hunter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best weight loss & the most affordable spa in the USA! Welcome to Hunter Mountain Hotel And Spa, A Respite for Rejuvenation of Body, Mind, and SpiritWe at Hunter Mountain Hotel And Spa would like to extend to you a warm welcome. While some places may offer more luxuries - we are one of the best-known spas for weight loss in the world. We want you to have a stay here that is pleasurable and rewarding; not only in achieving immediate goals, but setting in motion fundamental ongoing benefits for your lifetime.The Spa, set on 15 acres in the Catskill Mountains, has a calm country atmosphere. The emphasis at the Vatra Mountain Valley Spa is on losing weight sensibly and the guests are encouraged to unwind and try new experiences. Crisp mountain air, sunshine, greenery and sparkling brooks make walking on nature trails an inspiring and exhilarating experience. Add years of fun to your life while participating in fitness and total nutritional programs. Follow your plan in the warmth and comfort of this health resort as you are completely pampered by the professionally trained and experienced staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vatra Natural Weight Loss Hotel Hunter
Vatra Spa Hunter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing