We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but you can do better”

VanWinkle's at the Kaatskill Mountain Club
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Hunter
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
new york
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ok but you can do better”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Generic. Stick with breakfast. Eggs and sausage were good. Pretend you are in the mid-west. What more can I say. Less is more. I hope this soon adds up to 50 characters.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kenneth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Milford, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must order the WINGS!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have a house nearby which we visit nearly every weekend so we've eaten at VanWinkle's several times (both at the bar and in the dinning room) with consistently great service and food. The salads with fruit and nuts are always a staple for me but the chicken wings are truly the best; so tasty and flavorful we have friends that must always come here. Eating at the bar is a pleasure (thanks Joe!) as the service is sometimes faster (when the dining room is crowded) and you can always have your favorite sports on the TV.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tenraq25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Service, OK food for vegetarians. Not many options”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I went here as part of a package deal while staying at the Kaatskill Mountain Club. The service at the restaurant was prompt and courteous. We were quickly seated and brought our menus. The decor of the restaurant was interesting. There are large pictures telling the story of Rip Van Winkle on the wall. The bar area is near the main entrance of the restaurant followed by table seating in the middle and the kitchen at the far end. The set up reminded me of some nicer diners that I have visited in NJ. The food options are plentiful, but being vegetarian, I was rather limited. I ordered one of the specials (squash ravioli) which turned out to be a bit too sweet for my liking. Others ordered pasta as well, and despite having asked for it to be a spicy, it was still rather bland. This place overall is a very convenient restaurant and it may offer many options, but if you are vegetarian, I would suggest trying elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harshp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Menu with lots of choices”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The menu offers a wide variety of choices and the presentation is perfect. Everything ordered was delicious and we want to come back and taste everything!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A small step above standard service fare”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our waiter was enthusiastic, friendly and untrained. I wish somebody would invest in this well intentioned staff.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CrowPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VanWinkle's at the Kaatskill Mountain Club also viewed

 
Tannersville, Catskill Region
Hunter, Catskill Region
 

Been to VanWinkle's at the Kaatskill Mountain Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing