We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great snow in 2013!”
Review of Hunter Mountain

Hunter Mountain
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Hunter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular ski resort providing excellent runs and trails for downhill skiing, snowboarding, snowtubing and snowshoeing.
Rock Hill, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great snow in 2013!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

For a birthday present my Wife bought me a Hunter Big Mountain Pass, it came with two pre loaded ski passes and got me a 50% off discount at the mountain during the week and I don't remember what it was during the weekends...but the slopes during the week were groomed great and the lines were non existent. There were multiple weeks were the snow was so good that I was astounded to think is this really East coast in skiing? There was lots of powder and lots of man made snow also, but the weather was really great this year and the snow falls were perfect for a fabulous year on the slopes.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank foxtango15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    104
    41
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Good Snowboarding lessons”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Pros
Better snowboarding instructor

Cons
Too many icy spots on the beginner hill
Ski and snowboarding lesson sessions too close together
Equipment not as new as Windham

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bisi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First time snowboarder”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My daughter had a lesson, and I am not a skier. They were extremely well organized. There were lots of tables and locations for the family to wait, and everyone was so nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank peppersclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hunter Mountain Ski Lesson”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great experience.Had a lesson for my 4 year old.He liked it very much.

Tip: Get your equipment from somewhere else or come 1.5hr before you lesson time.Renting at the mountain is not a great experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank skosyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Descent mountain close to NYC”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Not the biggest around but close to the city and reasonable rates. About a 3 hr trip from NYC. Good intermediate trails and lots to do other than ski. I went here for a snowshoe trip and snowshoed to the fire tower at the top of the mountain. The views were unbelievable. You can rent snowshoes for very cheap. If your skiing, buy your tickets online in advance and save some money. Good mountain for family and day trips.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Coffeebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Hunter Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing