We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Vermont Skiing in Day Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Mountain

Hunter Mountain
Book In Advance
$600*
and up
Catskill Mountains Ski and Snowboard Day Trip
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Hunter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular ski resort providing excellent runs and trails for downhill skiing, snowboarding, snowtubing and snowshoeing.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Vermont Skiing in Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hunter is the only place you can have Vermont type challenging skiing on a day trip. Weekends are crowded, however the Vermont resorts are also crowded on the weekend.They also provide promotions to skiers. I have skied Hunter for over 30 years.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    95
    33
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Great Mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

first time skiing and even saw experts. Everything you need you can get at the mountain shops. The trainers are great and the experience was amazing!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mailene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My 10 year old took a snowboarding lesson, while my 5 year old and I went snow tubing. It was a lot of fun and there was something for each of them to do.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nutritiondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. James, NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Crowded the weekend before New Years but we expected it, good conditions, and the First Aide was top notch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

OK, so there were lift lines but compared to years ago they moved quickly and we never waited more than 10 or 15 minutes. The conditions were really good to great in the morning and got skiied off in the pm but there no bare spots or rocks to avoid. The cafeteria had a wide variety of food but was a bit disorganized. Tables were hard to come by on one of our three days but people were pleasant. It would have been a fun but not especially memorable ski weekend except that my son broke his wrist in the terrain park on the 31st (my husbands birthday) and we negotiated our first true ski injury (snowboard in his case) in over 30 years on the slopes. I have to say the most impressive part of Hunter was the First Aide--a full walk in clinic with a doc that x-rayed and casted my son's wrist in about an hour. He was knowledgeable and caring as was the rest of the staff. Yes, they took Visa and I'll probably not get reimbursed from insurance but when your kid is in pain you can't think of your wallet. The orthopedist at home verified that the diagnosis and treatment were correct.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice 3 Day Get-away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were 3 dads, with 3 daughters who got away on a snowboarding/skiing trip. Booked a 3 bedroom condo in the Pinnacle condominiums. Overall, I would say we had a great experience and great time! Booking the lodging was relatively easy and the telephone agents were friendly and helpful. I would suggest that Hunter might "detail" the accomodations a bit more on their website. Check in was a breeze. The condo was spacious, clean and very inviting. Note that the Pinnacle condos are RIGHT on TOP of the base lodge! Couldn't really get any closer to the slopes. Most/all of the night time action was over at the Kaatskill Mtn. Club (ie pool, hot tubs, bar, restaurant, etc.). This was a bit of a hike to get there. We usually drove. We found the staff on the slopes to be quite friendly and helpful AND most of the visitors were nice too. Conditions were great and Hunter did a great job grooming the slopes for the next day. We thought food choices in the lodge for lunch, etc were quite numerous and dinner at the Van Winkle restaurant was great too although the place gets pretty crowded at times. Overall, we had a great time and plan to go back annually for a snowboard/ski trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank drewpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Mountain also viewed

 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to Hunter Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing