We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Scenery out of this World” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunter Mountain

Hunter Mountain
Book In Advance
$119.00*
and up
Catskills Hunter Mountain Ski Day Trip from Manhattan
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Hunter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular ski resort providing excellent runs and trails for downhill skiing, snowboarding, snowtubing and snowshoeing.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Scenery out of this World”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you have not seen the panoramic scenery of mountains, woodlands, rivers and majestic scenery I would suggest Hunter, NY. Such nature scenes, you will relish forever. We have friends there, so we were fortunate not to worry about motels etc.

Hunter Mountain is world class for skiing, the views are breathtaking, the people are friendly, mostly out of this world for city folk. Take a ride on the chair lift and see the beautiful surrondings which seem to be untouched from many years back. Atmosphere is genuine and restaurants aplenty, mostly smaller establishments where life is laid back and the food is excellent. I highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JRI646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    97
    34
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miller Place, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Celtic Festival”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Seems to get smaller every year but still worth a visit. Could use more top rated bands. Take the lift to the mountain top. Really nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great family vacation place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hunter mountain area is a great place for families to vacation. Great bike and walking trails. Stunning water falls and amazing scenery.
Do some homework and find the hidden gems.
Great for families with kids both teens and younger.
The mountain itself is nice with the chair lift and all.
The surrounding area is what we loved

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank toroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Spectacular View from the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

A wonderful eperience. Rode to the top of Hunter Mountain on the skilift (called skyride). Was able to hike wome paths and had some breathtaking views.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mid Level Zip Line”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was a good time and I am afraid of heights. Safety was of utmost importance. Guides were great. Now that I have done this one, I would try the longer and higher runs.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee0949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Mountain also viewed

 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 

Been to Hunter Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing