We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Effecient, cost effective, and close”

Mountain View Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hunter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Lodge
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Effecient, cost effective, and close”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The lodge is very close to hunter mountain ski resort, which made getting to and from the mountain a cinch. The price was affordable and the accomodations were adequate. A simple breakfast bar was available in the morning. Nothing about the hotel was above and beyond, but its location and affordability made it one of the best locations in the area.

The town of hunter mountain shuts down around 10PM with very little to offer for after hours. Also to note is the drive to the hotel and resort can be a diificult one in moderate to heavy snow, so be prepared.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoreyHatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2010

I stayed at the Mountain View with my wife for a long weekend in Feb. As far as I'm concerned, it was the best deal on the mountain. Our room was immaculate, the owners were kind and courteous, we recived a complementary continental breakfast, and we got it all for probably the lowest price on the mountaintop. Next time we come up, we're going to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ospfilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

After feeling dirty and ripped off in other Catskills motels, I'm glad I found Mt. View Lodge. I hope to become a regular guest.

This tiny motel is convenient to skiing or hiking the Catskills. The carpet, beds, sink, shower, toilet and tables were very clean with new furniture and decorations -- much nicer than I expected for the price I paid. There's a little area inside the room to remove your shoes so you don't track mud or road salt/sand through the room. The view out the window is of the mountains to the south (East Rusk and the Colonel's Chair of Hunter). Discount Hunter lift tickets were available. The room does not have a microwave, refrigerator, or internet access. The decor was flowery and effeminate.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inthewoods115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Small motel with immaculate rooms and very friendly and helpful owners. Very close to Hunter Mt, about a mile. You actually can see some of the trails from your room. A simple continental breakfast is included. Beds were comfortable and plenty of hot water. They run a great midweek deal in Feb. Well worth the money!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joskiNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We were a family of two adults and two teens and found this mom-and-pop place on the internet after searching for a long time for a place we could afford that wasn't a dive. We were able to take advantage of their special mid-week rate of $40 per night. If all you are looking for is cleanliness and the basics, then this is the place for you. It is immaculately clean. The rooms have soft thick towels, plenty of forceful hot water, and pretty curtains, linens and docorative touches. The owners are very nice. Continental breakfast is served at 7:30am which is coffee, tea, cereal, instant oatmeal and various pre-packaged goodies. Some apples or bananas would have been nice, but for the price, we couldn't complain. The location is great for skiiers -- right in between Hunter Mountain and Windham Mountain. Now, these are the things which you should be aware of before arrival: The heat is centrally controlled. You do not have a thermostat in your room and therefore you cannot adjust the temperature in your room. The doors do not latch easily. Just make sure you press them firmly to latch. Like many small motels, you can hear people walking by or in the next room if they are loud. The matresses are on the firm side and have a plastic cover. None of these things really bothered any of us, and we therefore had a great time and enjoyed our stay. At this value, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms Patty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunter
0.9 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#4 of 6 in Hunter
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairlawn Inn
Fairlawn Inn
#1 of 3 in Hunter
201 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cuomo's Cove
Cuomo's Cove
#3 of 8 in Windham
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Mountain Brook
Hotel Mountain Brook
#2 of 5 in Tannersville
195 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
434 reviews
5.8 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#5 of 6 in Hunter
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodge

Property: Mountain View Lodge
Address: 8294 Route 23A (Main Street), Hunter, NY
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hunter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Hunter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing