We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very average hotel”
Review of St. Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hudson
Truro, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good location, very average hotel”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

First off I'll say the room was great, very good bed, clean, well appointed. The overall appearance of the place is (I'm sorry) a flop house, The building has a great old front on the village square, great location for food, antiques, hiking ect., but it looks neglected. Most staff were helpful, Check in at around 9pm seemed to be an inconvenience to the deck clerk. Good location, room, parking, Bad overall look, feeling secure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matheu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    51
    53
    27
    27
See reviews for
44
64
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel was the dirtiest that I have seen. The room wreaked of marijuana and the facility did not look like it had been cleaned. We were there on business, only one night and did not have time to find a different hotel, so we dropped our bags and went about our business. The next morning there was not a drop of hot water. The toiled would not work. And the management did not seem to care AT ALL! Trust the people who posted about the filthy conditions in the previous posts. This place was miserable. Really miserable......

Room Tip: Just find a different hotel. This place is not a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frequent_flier7755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hudson hotels

Asbury Park, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, and found the room to be more than adequate to fit my needs. There was plenty of parking in the hotel lot, the room was clean and comfortable, and I could walk to just about anywhere in Hudson that I wanted to go. Management was friendly and courteous. The free continental breakfast was not that interesting, but I saved some cash by eating there one of the two mornings. I recommend the St Charles for anyone looking for inexpensive lodging in Hudson.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Don't judge this book by the front cover or facade. The building is pretty but needs some TLC but the rooms are very comfortable, clean and updated. We really liked the location which is about a nice 20 minute stroll from the Hudson Amtrak station walking along Warren St which is the main shopping and eating street. We really liked the staff and the rates were great. Can walk everywhere from here. Glad we found it and almost forgot..free and strong WiFi!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cthom5261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm really baffled by some of the negative reviews on here. We went to the St. Charles to do some recon for our wedding in summer 2013, expecting the worst. Instead we found a warm, welcoming lobby with a Christmas tree, soft lighting, clean office area for business travelers... and a very helpful and sweet manager, Ricky. She had an injured foot but still took us on a tour of every type of room at the hotel. The hallways are old-school carpeting but they are clean, and the building has preserved charm. They have obviously done many renovations and the rooms are giant by NYC standards, with big beds, nice hardwood desks, flat-screen TVs, and in some cases living areas and mini fridges. One side has park views and you can't beat the quiet location just off Warren. There is also a little cafe area with complimentary breakfast (dry cereals, fruit juices, etc.) It seems a great place for those traveling with kids as you can order rollout beds and cribs for your room, plus there is the adorable Grazin' Diner down the block and a small park just across the street. Bonus: Big, free parking lot so you don't have the hassles of metered parking on Warren.

We immediately booked the entire hotel for our wedding guests, and would not have done so if Ricky was not so stellar at making everyone feel welcome. She has been kind to our family and friends while booking long-distance, too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, PA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here one night last week while attending a nearby family event. The hotel lobby is clean and well lit. Not sure when renovations were completed or if they are ongoing but the carpet, etc., in the lobby and the halls looked new. Our room was basic but clean and quiet. The bed was quite comfortable. This is not a luxury hotel and it doesn't claim to be one, but the rates aren't luxury rates either -- and we definitely will stay here again. Both the gentleman who checked us in and the woman who checked us out were pleasant and helpful. A continental breakfast was included in our rate, but we didn't try it because we had made other breakfast plans.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PATravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I admit it. I committed a sort of modern day no-no. I booked a room at the St. Charles and *then* read the reviews! Frankly, the reviews had me on edge as I had no other option for an overnight stay. Thankfully, this story has a happy enough ending.

Pulling up to the St. Charles I began wondering what I had gotten myself into. Walking into the lobby doesn't do much to ease your jitters either. However, the staff was very friendly. My husband and I kept our fingers crossed riding the elevator up to the third floor (I requested a quiet room after reading the reviews).

The hallway carpet seemed to be new. Our room was new, modern, and clean and totally adequate for an overnight stay. It was also quiet. Small shower/toilet room but I wasn't expecting a bathroom with a sitting area. The one thing I disliked was the duvet - it was not warm at all which forced us to have to use the heat all night.

The St. Charles offers a breakfast but we opted to go to a cute cafe in town.

The hotel clearly needs to be renovated and it seems like it's being done piecemeal. It could be a nice, smaller hotel. Hopefully the owners will take heed of the valid customer feedback and continue the necessary upgrades.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KABorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.2 mi away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#1 of 2 in Hudson
95 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
257 reviews
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Coxsackie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 17 in Hudson
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Hudson
The Inn at Hudson
#8 of 17 in Hudson
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Charles Hotel

Property: St. Charles Hotel
Address: 16 - 18 Park Place, Hudson, NY 12534-2532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Charles Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free continental breakfast, free onsite parking, free Wi-Fi, fitness center, meeting room, ballroom, Victorian ceilings, antiques, new lobby with fireplaces. All rooms come with attached bathroom, 32 + " flat screen TV, AC/heat, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and board. 24 Hour front desk staff, Located in the center of the town by Warren Street.beautiful view of park. More amenities available at front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Charles Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing