We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back for more!”
Review of Vico Restaurant

Vico Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Vico Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 88 Restaurants in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Vico offers a modern take on traditional Tuscan cuisine using the freshest local ingredients from the Hudson Valley in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Gluten-free and vegetarian options available.
Fairfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Going back for more!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Heard a local public radio show where all they did was read the menu from Vico and discuss the food. For an hour. Needless to say, we HAD to eat here after hearing the fantastic menu (especially dessert!) Vico's execution is even better than their menu read aloud. On the downhill end of Warren St and away from most of the "crowds", Vico is set in a lovely building on the corner. Enter into the long inviting bar room filled with friendly and welcoming staff. Two dining rooms, one with a cozy fireplace, had good sized tables comfortably spaced set with linens and beautiful place settings. Very pretty paintings of Hudson shops and sites adorned the walls in quality frames which added to the ambiance of the room. The menu allows you to have a few smaller plates or a multi-course meal. Quick to serve water, bread and drinks, our server was friendly, wise, and AWESOME! We chose the eggplant chips - thinly sliced eggplant, battered and deep fried to heavenly crisp-lightness and served with a marinara that made me want to drink it from the vessel. Oh wait, I did. We had the 2 entree specials - duck breast in an orange scented sauce and wild boar lasagna in a bechamel that would make Marcella Hazan proud. Dessert meant a shared Carlo - pistachio and chocolate mousse over a layer of cheesecake coated with ganache. Vico is as great for a date night or special meal as it is for a cozy Sunday evening dinner. Dinner and drinks didn't break our budget and was a great value to us for well-prepared food, fantastic atmosphere, and exceptional service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BluMerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    42
    7
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Food in a Most Pleasant Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My partner and I traveled to Hudson again this year for the "Hudson, NY Winter Walk". We arrived Friday evening and were delayed by horrendous traffic out of NY City. When we realized we would not make our 7:00pm reservation we called ahead to let the restaurant know. They were most gracious about changing our reservation to 8:30pm.

The restaurant consists of two very pretty and cozy rooms, one with a fireplace where we sat. Our server was very friendly and professional. She immediately brought a basket of good Italian bread and olive oil and took our drink orders. My partner had a excellent martini.

For our first course we split the Antipasto for two, their "Dal Salumaio", a delicious variety of Italian cured meats. We decided to split a "Pappardelle" for our next course, wide noodles with a great tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese. Again, it was an excellent and delicious choice.

For our entrees, my partner selected one of the evening's special, a stuffed pork chop. The chop was a very ample and thick cut stuffed with Gruyere cheese and platted with fresh crisp winter vegetables. I ordered the "Tuscan Chicken", a grilled half chicken on the bone with olives, rosemary and garlic. It was served with roasted garlic mashed potatoes, again a most delicious choice.

Vico is a restaurant, I am sure we will return to upon our next visit to Hudson, NY,

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronco0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“First Time, Great Experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent a night in Hudson and were looking for a romantic atmosphere for dinner. On a whim we tried Vico and immediately like the ambiance and spacious seating.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the food was very good. I had the linguine and clams and it was cooked just right and the serving was large. We also loved the fresh seasonal vegetable appetizer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NYC_Traveler064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A lovely experience!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Significant other and I dropped in here on a whim after wandering the neighborhood. What a pleasant surprise. The place was charming and the staff were friendly and helpful. The menu is not extensive, so that makes choosing a bit easier.
We split the crostini (wonderful) and the eggplant chips (could have been a bit crispier).
The entrees were quite good, the salmon and the ravioli both were done well and presented beautifully.
The wine selection was good. We had no room for dessert, but the y looked lovely.
We will return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank notshyaboutit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New York
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Fantastic!
My wife and i occasionally pay Vico a visit when in the area,never to be disappointed.The owner is always there to welcome us,make recommendations,and even wait on us,very hard working gentleman,beautiful resaurant,fabulous food,very pleasant even just to relax at the bar.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank robertbakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing