We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“drinks”
Review of DABA Restaurant - CLOSED

DABA Restaurant
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: DABA opened in 2006 and since then has been offering a fine dining menu in combination with bistro style fare leaving something for everyone on the menu. Coupled with a full bar and a great eclectic wine list DABA also offers a tasting menu, with or without wine pairing. Reservations are a must on weekends. Also a charming double bar leaves opportunity to dine solo or keep it casual. DABA... How we advertise locally? "Ask Anyone."
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“drinks”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We only got to sit at the bar, as they did not have room for a large party. The bartender was quite entertaining and while we waited for the other guests, we had quite a good time having a few drinks.
Would like to go back to try the food. What we saw go by looked delicious.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    33
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Craryville, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not worth the Trip”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had a chance to dine here the other night, very disappointed. A very expensive menu for the quality of food received. The bread bowl was stale crackers with a butter garnish, that way the crumbs don't choke you. I had the Filet Steak for $27, had a smear of mashed potatoes, a pinch of baby asparagus and a berry smear for either a garnish or to add flavor to a very tasteless steak. For dessert had the lemon meriquen, that was a scoop of lemon filling, sometype of cookie bottom and stale lucky charms marshmellows for the topping, what a waste for $8. If your looking for value and quality, seek another restuarant in the Hudson area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Swedish Meatball Meal...perfect for cold winter night!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I came here with a craving for real Swedish Meatballs and they were delicious complete with Lingonberries, pickled cucumbers and potato puree! The plate was beautifully presented. This place has a lot of non-Swedish food on the menu (eclectic) as well and it all sounded wonderful.

They also serve an "amuse" to guests which is a nice little detail. On the night I attended, it was an anchovy and goat cheese crostini with honey. I am not a goat cheese fan but the combo of flavors...slight saltiness of the fish, sweetness of the honey and savory goat cheese was divine!

The ambiance was very nice, dimly lit. Service good. Limited but good wine list. I was not served any bread or roll with my salad and that would have been nice. That's the main reason for the 4 stars...which I really wish could have been 4.5.

However, this left me more room to finish my entire entree so no doggy bag to tote home. A bit pricy, but, based on the quality of the food I ate, it's worth it. I also noticed that nearly all their entree offerings featured a starch and vegetable. This makes it worth the price, in my opinion. I am a huge fan of places that serve vegetables with the starch on the same plate. IT seems like so many restaurants give you "starch only." I like a balanced plate and this place seems to understand this concept well. My mouth was watering over some of their other accompaniments to their other entrees.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chanterelle Soup”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Late fall, mid-week, and treated like royalty, Amazing innovative and delicous. Stayed at the Inn at Hudson for the first time on business, and a short historic walk was highly recommended for dinner. Could not have been more pleased. A fresh delightful three course meal beyond expectations.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BobandVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coxsackie, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Casual, comfortable dining”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We've eaten at DA|BA a number of times and, even though the menu is limited, have had very good meals. The chanterelle mushroom soup, often the night's special, is absolutely wonderful. The menu is broken into appetizers, salads, and main courses featuring some Swedish specialties (herring three ways, delicious). The reverse side features smaller plates such as burgers, BLT, hummus, and their desserts. We never fail to find a reasonably priced nice bottle of wine from the wine list. A double-sided bar separates the back dining room from the front area. Service staff are always pleasant. Consistently an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LinG12192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DABA Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing