We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barry Rocks Hudson City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
“Barry Rocks Hudson City”
Reviewed January 1, 2011

It's all about Barry.....excellence is derived from the proprietor....it would have been just another nice B&B if it weren't for him.....our expectations were set by Barry and he was true to his word......nice rooms.......and go there for the BREAKFAST!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertdesalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    18
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
64
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We had initially planned to spend two nights at the Hudson City Bed and Breakfast , while visiting our son at college. We enjoyed our stay so much that we ended up spending four. The host, Barry, was welcoming and thoughtful. Our room was bright, spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed each morning's breakfast both because of the excellent food and the interesting conversations with Barry and other guests. Sitting on the porch in the evening, there was always a cup of freshly brewed coffee ready to drink, and an opportunity to read the paper or a book, relax, and chat. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BardParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stopped in Hudson NY on our way home from Lake Placid. Didn't want to drive the whole way back to Brooklyn in one shot so we planned on staying overnight in Hudson which looked to be about midway. Went on to TA as we always do. B&B's in Hudson were pretty pricey but the #5 rated one (Hudson City B&B) looked nice and was reasonably priced. Spoke to Barry the owner and reserved our room. Pulling into the town that late afternoon, we were pretty disappointed in how the town looked (like it had been prosperous once but no longer). We hoped the b&b was decent and that we could get a passable meal. Both the b&b and the meal exceeded our expectations. Barry was out of town for the night but we were ably greeted by his very young looking son, Luke, who politely checked us in, carried our bags up the stairs and gave us some restaurant recommendations. The room was spacious and spotless. Although pretty spartan in terms of decor, the room looked freshly painted, the TV and wi-fi worked and the bed was comfortable. Towels and shower were both top notch. The shower was a corner unit so not particularly spacious but plenty of hot water and an excellent shower head more than made up for the space. Overall the bathroom was large and airy.

One weird thing is that there is no door to the bathroom but it was in a separate room just without a door. Depending on your need for privacy, that may be a problem.

The b&b is on a quiet street so even though our room faced the street, noise was not a problem.

We went to Warren Street which is the main drag through town and armed with some recommendations from Luke, we set out to find a restaurant. We ended up in a place called Swoon. When we sat down and looked at the menu, we were dismayed to see that the prices were almost NYC level and we doubted that the restaurant could live up to its price point. However, we left thinking that we had had a very fairly priced meal for the extremely high quality we had received. I had sweetbreads which are on the menu infrequently and my husband had the loin of pork. It was the first time in a long time that we both so loved our dishes that we kept swapping them with each other so that we both could enjoy them.

The following morning, Luke was again on duty and he made us a wonderful onion and cheese omelet with toasted English muffins, juice and coffee. He sprinkled rosemary into the eggs and they were perfectly done. He did his parents proud and they need never worry about their guests when Luke is around.

All in all, a great, unexpected stay in Hudson, NY.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We spent 2 nights at Hudson City B & B and can't wait to go back. Our host, Barry, was so friendly and hospitable. He made us feel like old friends. He gave us great recommendations for restaurants and places to visit. His waffles were define. Our room was beautiful, sunny, clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lravdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2010

This B&B has huge well decorated bedrooms and bathrooms. Barry & Co. are well versed in the city and environs. They are fun, upbeat and creative people who contributed to us having a very good time. Hudson is a fun place with excellent restaurants which we enjoyed discovering thanks to their help. Traveling on a budget we appreciated the rates at the Hudson City B&B as well as Barry's suggestions for a delicious place to eat in our price range.

Barry went out of his way to help me with a personal request which I certainly am grateful for.
Go to Hudson and check out this beautifully historic town and stay at the Hudson B&B;
they will treat you well.

My one suggestion is that the Dining Room is so large and historic and it is spartanly decorated, (though I couldn't take my eyes out of the large book they had on the Cosmos)
It could have used the feminine touch, flowers etc.
But they will pick up on this right away and remedy it.
That's the kind of place it is.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainLifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We wanted to get away from NYC for the weekend and randomly wound up at Hudson City B&B. We could not have been more satisfied. Great location, cute town, rad folks, and delicious waffles. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brettmullin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay here in early April. The room and bathroom were clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. (The inside decor looks better and less fussy than the website photos.) We were so comfortable there that, as my husband put it to the proprietor Barry, we wanted to spend more time inside the B&B despite all that the town had to offer. Barry takes the "breakfast" part of "bed and breakfast" as seriously as he takes the "bed" part. The waffles are an event, though he can and does make other great things. The coffee is from Strongtree Organic Coffee Bar, just a short walk away. And there's a communal breakfast table, so you can get to know Barry and the other guests before venturing out into the world.

I highly recommend this for a quick getaway from New York City for people who don't have a car. Well-situated, the B&B is about 5-10 minutes on foot from the Amtrak station (uphill) and about 2-3 minutes from Warren Street, where many of the shops, restaurants, and bars can be found. There are also at least two theaters (that I know of) within walking distance, an opera house, and the Hudson River itself. Keep the local taxi service's number on your cell phone and you're also covered for visits to historic sites like Olana and Cedar Grove.

For those who do arrive with a car, there's only street parking, but the neighborhood is relatively safe and the street was uncrowded, so we didn't have to fight for a good spot.

All in all, Hudson City B&B makes for a cozy, uncomplicated home base in Hudson. Next time we're in town, this is the first place we're looking for accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.5 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
186 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
255 reviews
12.7 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 17 in Hudson
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Hudson
The Inn at Hudson
#8 of 17 in Hudson
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#6 of 17 in Hudson
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson City Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson City Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
Address: 326 Allen St, Hudson, NY 12534-2440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hudson City Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast, located in historic Hudson, NY, specializes in offering our guests relaxing and comfortable vacation getaways. Our location is unparalleled, as are our famous "Butterfield waffles!" Our delightful rooms each have their own charm and character. Amenities include private baths, large beds, TVs, free wifi, complimentary breakfast each morning, and use of the living room, dining room, and beautiful porch space. Our visitors look forward to our delicious breakfast served daily. Specialties include veggie omelettes, waffles, french toast, and the best coffee in NY. We are also accommodating of special diets - just let us know in advance and we'll work with you! Consider us for your next couples' getaway, family vacation, girls weekend, or business trip. Hudson and the surrounding areas are known for amazing historic architecture, world class antiques, natural spaces, and more. Give us a call and start your unforgettable getaway today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Hudson City Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson City b&b
Hudson City Hotel Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing