We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 16 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have to say that when we first arrived, we wondered what we had let ourselves in for... as usual! Every B & B is like a present, you are not sure what you have until you go in! Barry was great! Our room on 3rd floor was magnificent: four poster and large bathroom with bath & shower. I did like the night lights round the bath - nice touch! and all lovely and clean.

Breakfast with homemade buttermilk waffles and local apples was great. We went to the Crimson Sparrow which was also enjoyable. My husband & Barry share an interest in photography... so the recommended trip to Olana was also much appreciated. We enjoyed talking to Barry and had a great stay.

Room Tip: Top floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    18
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
61
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Talk about being deceived! This B&B's website shows photos, including the photo here on Trip Advisor, that have absolutely no resemblance to the property in real time. It is dilapidated, over grown with bushes and badly in need of repairs, both inside and out.

Additionally, the owner has no idea how to run a B&B. At a minimum, the guest's room needs a daily minor sprucing up: bed making, used wet towels removed, trash removed. If the shampoo bottle in the shower is never moved during the cleaning between guests, how will the accumulated filth ever be seen?

How is it possible to have the towel bars removed from the bathroom but have their brackets just left on the wall?

Two good things; breakfast was delicious and the king size bed wonderful. These would not make me stay here.

Room Tip: Stay at another facility!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLgirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The house itself is very conveniently located and charming. Our room was very comfortable and cute, but the best part of our stay was the Breakfast! The owner really knows how to cook fantastic food. Sitting outside on the front porch at night was lovely and relaxing. We are looking forward to our next stay and would highly recommend this house!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely B&B. Barry, the owner, puts his heart and soul into making sure that his guests are happy. We had a third floor room with a king sized bed and lovely bathroom. Barry gave us recommendations for restaurants, one of which was The Crimson Sparrow on Warren St. Excellent NYC qualiy food and ambiance. Barry also told us about the historical site called Olana, which was the former home of artist Frederick Church. Our main reason for coming to Hudson was to go on our first hot air balloon ride. We were late coming back to the house and thought that we had missed the breakfast. However, Barry was very accommodating, made us wonderful food and also sat with us to chat, which was another highlight of the trip. We learned a bit about his life and he ours. We would highly recommend this lovely B&B owned and operated by an intelligent, caring and very engaging gentleman!

Room Tip: Every room looked good. Just a matter of how large and what size bed you would like. The house was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marchhare2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This B&B is charming and well situated, and the proprietor is welcoming without being intrusive.

The house is on the dilapidated side, but it is well appointed and the rooms themselves are newly renovated and very comfortable. The bathtub in our bathroom was ancient and could stand to be replaced, but all other fixtures were new or recently refurbished. It is a ten or fifteen minute walk from Warren Street and the riverfront.

It made for a lovely, and inexpensive, weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watlington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Hudson was the surprise discovery of our recent trip to the eastern USA and the Hudson City  B and B an ideal match for this fascinating town. If you are looking for perfect decor and obsequious service, as some of the reporters obviously are, then this may not be for you. If, like us, you value a warm atmosphere in a charming historic house,  a friendly, helpful,  interesting host, good wi-fi connection and a central location then it  will be. Add to that a delicious breakfast delivered in a relaxed style which encourages  leisurely conversation between guests and host and a good library of books and we had everything we wanted.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Watlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A charming room and host. This B&B is very laid back and Barry, our host and innkeeper is a delight, not to mention a master in the kitchen. My husband and I felt at home and very comfortable in a quaint and charming corner bedroom. A great night's sleep, excellent recommendations from Barry regarding the local flavor, and superb omelets and waffles in the morning, not to mentions just sitting chatting with the other guests and Barry about politics, cooking, books, and travel. Great fun! If you are looking for comfort and a less fussy environment, which is always our favorite, you can't go wrong at Hudson City B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.5 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
179 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 16 in Hudson
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Hudson
The Inn at Hudson
#7 of 16 in Hudson
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#6 of 16 in Hudson
48 reviews
7.1 mi away
1805 House B & B
1805 House B & B
#1 of 2 in Claverack
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson City Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson City Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
Address: 326 Allen St, Hudson, NY 12534-2440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hudson City Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast, located in historic Hudson, NY, specializes in offering our guests relaxing and comfortable vacation getaways. Our location is unparalleled, as are our famous "Butterfield waffles!" Our delightful rooms each have their own charm and character. Amenities include private baths, large beds, TVs, free wifi, complimentary breakfast each morning, and use of the living room, dining room, and beautiful porch space. Our visitors look forward to our delicious breakfast served daily. Specialties include veggie omelettes, waffles, french toast, and the best coffee in NY. We are also accommodating of special diets - just let us know in advance and we'll work with you! Consider us for your next couples' getaway, family vacation, girls weekend, or business trip. Hudson and the surrounding areas are known for amazing historic architecture, world class antiques, natural spaces, and more. Give us a call and start your unforgettable getaway today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hudson City Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson City b&b
Hudson City Hotel Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing