We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential but lacks careful attention to details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 16 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Has potential but lacks careful attention to details”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I booked this B & B after being closed out of others that were my first, second, third. and more choices. Existing reviews said it was acceptable but not exceptional. I must concur. Upon arriving in the city I called the phone of the house but got no answer. A later call was answered by the owner and he said he was out of the country. The check-in was done by as assistant (who was exceptionally nice; actually two gentlemen ran the house and their courtesy and manner were of the highest order). The room we received was nice and the house is a high Victorian mansion, quite nice. The furnishings however are quite mismatched and a building this majestic from the outside needs some quality interior pieces to complete the experience; they are not here. The bathroom has no door; this was mentioned in previous reviews and is rather odd and uncomfortable, why not correct it? The room was not made up after the first night. I had to ask the assistant for clean towels and was told to get them myself from the linen closet which was not well stocked. (To be fair, this man had some knee problems and was not up to the task so I do not blame him). However the owner should be aware of this and tend to business. There were no drinking glasses in the bathroom. The
hallway smoke alarm seemed to beep regularly indicating it needed a battery. The house a bit cool the first night (heat could have been on stronger). BUT the breakfast-preparer made great simple meals we requested and they were delightful. A request for a dinner plate we could prepare in-room snacks made late one night was kindly granted. The house is quiet and has atmosphere. Overall our trip was not seriously affected by the shortcomings. I will conclude by saying this B & B will get the job done but as others have stated "you probably can do better".

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pastdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    18
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
63
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Okay but you probably can do better. A bit shabby. Nice room (for $150) but no door between bedroom and toilet. That made for an interesting experience. Nor was room made up after the first night so the same used towels etc. Breakfast was nothing special though far too much the first day. Other reviewers say the host made the stay but he was off in Italy. Also, could never figure out TV remote and very limited TV selection.

Room Tip: Do not assume anything, things like working windows or door to bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobWeissberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at Hudson City B&B for 2 nights and had a good time, mainly thanks to Barry, the B&B innkeeper. Breakfast was amazing (we watched him make us waffles) and he also provided us with an impromptu snack during the day! He's very accomodating (he let us check out late one day due to the rainy weather), answered all of our questions, gave us good recommendations on what to do in Hudson and where to dine, and is a very entertaining host. Our particular room seemed rather old, it definitely needed a bit of touch up (bed and furniture refurbishing, cleaning of the lamps). Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this B&B to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctsui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed in the Hudson B&B last week, August 5th and 6th, and we would love to go back again. We were actually there due to an emergency hospital stay for someone travelling with us and Barry, the owner, was so thoughtful and kind. I hope you get an opportunity to talk with him a bit because he is both very interesting and empathetic. The house is lovely, a wonderful piece of New York history, and our rooms were a real treat. The beds were beautiful and comfortable and I wish I had that room at home! The breakfast was very special with Barry's homemade buttermilk waffles and the most scrumptious fresh local peaches I've had in years. When Barry learned one of us was a diabetic, he went out his way to suggest other delicious choices, such as an omelet and sausages, which were also very good. The coffee alone was a big treat! We were lucky to find the Hudson City B&B and I hope you'll be as lucky!

Room Tip: The big bedroom on the 3rd floor will make you feel like a turn of the century lord or lady!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAnnElk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2011

It's all about Barry.....excellence is derived from the proprietor....it would have been just another nice B&B if it weren't for him.....our expectations were set by Barry and he was true to his word......nice rooms.......and go there for the BREAKFAST!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertdesalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We had initially planned to spend two nights at the Hudson City Bed and Breakfast , while visiting our son at college. We enjoyed our stay so much that we ended up spending four. The host, Barry, was welcoming and thoughtful. Our room was bright, spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed each morning's breakfast both because of the excellent food and the interesting conversations with Barry and other guests. Sitting on the porch in the evening, there was always a cup of freshly brewed coffee ready to drink, and an opportunity to read the paper or a book, relax, and chat. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BardParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stopped in Hudson NY on our way home from Lake Placid. Didn't want to drive the whole way back to Brooklyn in one shot so we planned on staying overnight in Hudson which looked to be about midway. Went on to TA as we always do. B&B's in Hudson were pretty pricey but the #5 rated one (Hudson City B&B) looked nice and was reasonably priced. Spoke to Barry the owner and reserved our room. Pulling into the town that late afternoon, we were pretty disappointed in how the town looked (like it had been prosperous once but no longer). We hoped the b&b was decent and that we could get a passable meal. Both the b&b and the meal exceeded our expectations. Barry was out of town for the night but we were ably greeted by his very young looking son, Luke, who politely checked us in, carried our bags up the stairs and gave us some restaurant recommendations. The room was spacious and spotless. Although pretty spartan in terms of decor, the room looked freshly painted, the TV and wi-fi worked and the bed was comfortable. Towels and shower were both top notch. The shower was a corner unit so not particularly spacious but plenty of hot water and an excellent shower head more than made up for the space. Overall the bathroom was large and airy.

One weird thing is that there is no door to the bathroom but it was in a separate room just without a door. Depending on your need for privacy, that may be a problem.

The b&b is on a quiet street so even though our room faced the street, noise was not a problem.

We went to Warren Street which is the main drag through town and armed with some recommendations from Luke, we set out to find a restaurant. We ended up in a place called Swoon. When we sat down and looked at the menu, we were dismayed to see that the prices were almost NYC level and we doubted that the restaurant could live up to its price point. However, we left thinking that we had had a very fairly priced meal for the extremely high quality we had received. I had sweetbreads which are on the menu infrequently and my husband had the loin of pork. It was the first time in a long time that we both so loved our dishes that we kept swapping them with each other so that we both could enjoy them.

The following morning, Luke was again on duty and he made us a wonderful onion and cheese omelet with toasted English muffins, juice and coffee. He sprinkled rosemary into the eggs and they were perfectly done. He did his parents proud and they need never worry about their guests when Luke is around.

All in all, a great, unexpected stay in Hudson, NY.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.5 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
183 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
247 reviews
12.7 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 16 in Hudson
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Hudson
The Inn at Hudson
#7 of 16 in Hudson
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#6 of 16 in Hudson
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson City Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson City Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
Address: 326 Allen St, Hudson, NY 12534-2440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hudson City Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast, located in historic Hudson, NY, specializes in offering our guests relaxing and comfortable vacation getaways. Our location is unparalleled, as are our famous "Butterfield waffles!" Our delightful rooms each have their own charm and character. Amenities include private baths, large beds, TVs, free wifi, complimentary breakfast each morning, and use of the living room, dining room, and beautiful porch space. Our visitors look forward to our delicious breakfast served daily. Specialties include veggie omelettes, waffles, french toast, and the best coffee in NY. We are also accommodating of special diets - just let us know in advance and we'll work with you! Consider us for your next couples' getaway, family vacation, girls weekend, or business trip. Hudson and the surrounding areas are known for amazing historic architecture, world class antiques, natural spaces, and more. Give us a call and start your unforgettable getaway today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hudson City Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson City b&b
Hudson City Hotel Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing