We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Weekend for a Milestone Birthday”
Review of The Inn at Hudson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Hudson
Ranked #8 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 30, 2012

For a milestone birthday my husband and I rented out the Inn and invited 10 close friends for a weekend of celebration. The charming Innkeepers Windle and Dini threw themselves into the spirit of the event and provided us with everything we needed for an old-fashioned house party: recommendations for sightseeing and shopping, a birthday dinner that could have been served without apology at Le Bernardin, a birthday cake personalized just for me, even an after-dinner piano player (who turned out to be one of the antique dealers from town!). After a few glasses of wine we discovered that Windle and Dini had been founding members of the seminal post-punk band Human Sexual Response. After some begging, they produced a copy of their video "I Want To Be Like Jackie Onassis." It was almost worth turning 50 for :-). Some of our guests have subsequently returned to the Inn or rented it out for corporate events -- the nicest compliment of all. It was an extraordinary experience, in an exceptionally beautiful and gracious setting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Hudson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 134 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our recent stay at The Inn At Hudson was simply magical. The Inn owners, Windle and Dini, made sure that our stay was perfect. Our room was upstairs in the front on the south. It was very, very clean and very, very comfortable. The bed was large with a great mattress and luxury linen. Our bathroom was all white tile and large, again- it was spotless. There was a large tub and a big walk in shower with great pressure and lots of warm water. This unique Inn must be seen to appreciate the beauty and grandeur of its design. What a great stay!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank twostick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in the Cocoa Room. It is absolutely beautiful. Very comfy bed, lovely fireplace. It is a VERY large room. The house itself is just gorgeous and the staff was very welcoming. Breakfast was perfect. French toast made from a croissants (the breakfast menu was quite extensive), fresh fruit and coffee. We had dinner at Ca'Mea which I would also recommend. Overall a really nice play to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowchild3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was my sixth and final B&B in as many days on a drive from Toronto to Connecticut. I did not think anything could top the others on my trip, but as it turned out I had saved the best for last. The Inn at Hudson is one of a kind, like something out of a movie. An enormous entry hall, fabulous furnishings, an atmosphere that made it so cozy to curl up on a couch and read a book. Dini's breakfasts are amazing. The hosts are relaxed and full of good humor. I highly recommend this to anyone passing through Hudson, NY.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our fourth visit and like the other three it was a 5 star affair. Dini and Windle are perfect hosts. The inn is clean, spacious and unique. The scrumptious breakfasts prepared by Dini can't be beat. Can't wait to go back in 2013. Joe/Laura

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunningTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is an extraordinary find. We booked a room at the last minute (our luck) for a Friday night in early July, but were completely unprepared for what we found. Innkeepers Dini and Windle managed to make us feel relaxed and right at home within minutes of our arrival -- all the more amazing because we seemed to have stepped our of our car and directly into an Edith Wharton novel. The place is remarkable, lovingly and meticulously restored and decorated, a tribute to the taste and imaginative resources of its owners. These gentlemen know their history, and that knowledge is reflected in every refurbished board and stone of this lovely inn. Our room was spacious and beautifully appointed, the bathroom well-equipped. We wandered two blocks onto Warren Street with its wealth of antique shops, galleries and restaurants, and had a superb dinner at Swoon Kitchen/Bar, where the bartender knew how to make a perfect Negroni. But our dinner was trumped by Dini's breakfast, served next morning at the grand antique table in the Inn's magnificent dining room -- roasted tomato with poached egg in basil cream sauce, pancakes with fresh berries, accompanied by sparkling conversation with several guests and a Hudson neighbor who seems to have lived a life Auntie Mame would envy. The gracious living of another age is alive and well in Hudson, New York.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank waytogohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We recently stayed at the Inn for my brother's wedding weekend and we're completely impressed. The Inn itself, rooms and accommodations are absolutely amazing. The Inn has such great features, natural wood, leaded glass windows, great furniture that goes with the period, etc. One key item, the beds are comfortable! I was 8+ months pregnant and had a great nights sleep while there. The gardens are wonderful and well maintained.

The owners, Windle and Dini were very welcoming and accommodating the entire weekend. Dini makes an excellent breakfast! Everything that came out for breakfast was fabulous and he used fresh herbs from the garden.

We would recommend staying at the Inn for a wonderful break and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEVAFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hudson hotels
0.6 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#1 of 2 in Hudson
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 17 in Hudson
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#6 of 17 in Hudson
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hudson

Address: 317 Allen St, Hudson, NY 12534-2438
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: $319 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and newly refurbished, this boutique Inn is adding luxury features as well as continuing the tradition of opulence, elegance and period charm established by previous owners Dini Lamott and Windle Davis. The Inn at Hudson is centrally located in the most elegant and historic neighborhood of Hudson. The Inn is within easy walking distance of several excellent restaurants, as well as Warren Street's renowned stretch of shops and landmark civic buildings. The Inn At Hudson offers five very large bright rooms each with private bath, A/C, Wifi and flat-screen TV. The room rate includes a gourmet breakfast. Massage services are available and need to be booked in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Hudson Hotel Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing