We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wharton Lives”
Review of The Inn at Hudson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Hudson
Ranked #7 of 16 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wharton Lives”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is an extraordinary find. We booked a room at the last minute (our luck) for a Friday night in early July, but were completely unprepared for what we found. Innkeepers Dini and Windle managed to make us feel relaxed and right at home within minutes of our arrival -- all the more amazing because we seemed to have stepped our of our car and directly into an Edith Wharton novel. The place is remarkable, lovingly and meticulously restored and decorated, a tribute to the taste and imaginative resources of its owners. These gentlemen know their history, and that knowledge is reflected in every refurbished board and stone of this lovely inn. Our room was spacious and beautifully appointed, the bathroom well-equipped. We wandered two blocks onto Warren Street with its wealth of antique shops, galleries and restaurants, and had a superb dinner at Swoon Kitchen/Bar, where the bartender knew how to make a perfect Negroni. But our dinner was trumped by Dini's breakfast, served next morning at the grand antique table in the Inn's magnificent dining room -- roasted tomato with poached egg in basil cream sauce, pancakes with fresh berries, accompanied by sparkling conversation with several guests and a Hudson neighbor who seems to have lived a life Auntie Mame would envy. The gracious living of another age is alive and well in Hudson, New York.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank waytogohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
83
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We recently stayed at the Inn for my brother's wedding weekend and we're completely impressed. The Inn itself, rooms and accommodations are absolutely amazing. The Inn has such great features, natural wood, leaded glass windows, great furniture that goes with the period, etc. One key item, the beds are comfortable! I was 8+ months pregnant and had a great nights sleep while there. The gardens are wonderful and well maintained.

The owners, Windle and Dini were very welcoming and accommodating the entire weekend. Dini makes an excellent breakfast! Everything that came out for breakfast was fabulous and he used fresh herbs from the garden.

We would recommend staying at the Inn for a wonderful break and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEVAFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Our three night stay at The Inn At Hudson was everything we could have hoped for and more.  Having never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, we were more than thrilled with the beautiful and spacious accommodations.  Our room (the Green Room) was absolutely spectacular from the lovely decor, large sumptuous bathroom (with a beautiful bathtub and separate shower with a really strong water flow ) to the large living space and very comfortable bed.  The room was extremely quiet and we were easily able to control the temperature... as warm or as cold as we liked. The breakfasts  were delicious and we were offered a wide variety of selections graciously prepared by one of our hosts.  Dini and Windel were always there to help us, but were  never intrusive.  All the public rooms are beautifully decorated and well thought out.  This is a wonderful place to stay whether you're here on business, to recharge or for a romantic getaway, which is why we were there.  It is just too bad that the Inn is so far away for us or I'm sure we would visit frequently. 

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The Inn at Hudson is fantastic. The inside of the house is unbelievable. It's fully restored. Dark wood everywhere and just generally epic. The inn is situated just a block from Warren Street, which is where 95% of the businesses in Hudson are located.

Dini is ridiculous. He picked us up and dropped us off at the train station, and also makes gourmet breakfasts. Our second morning, he sat down and had breakfast with the guests. Seared tomato with poached eggs and pesto. An omelet with extra sharp cheddar and oyster mushrooms cooked in red wine. Both were insanely good. We stayed in the Green Room which is huge. It has a queen bed, sitting area by a bay window, gas fireplace(remote controlled), enormous soaking tub, and a rain shower.

I hope we get to go back soon. Great place to escape the city for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akissner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed here with my husband from April 6 - 9th and it was the most relaxing place I've ever been too. The breakfasts were delicious, the room was so comfortable (we stayed in the Cocoa room), the bathroom was private, we had a warm fireplace for chilly nights, and the town is very quiet and cozy! Loved it. Would recommend it to friends and family for sure. Also, all the little collectibles on display in the house are awesome!

Room Tip: I only stayed in the Cocoa room so I don't know what the others are like, but this room exceeded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
429 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

On a recent trip to Hudson, NY to see the "Winter Walk" festival, we stayed here at "The Inn at Hudson." What a wonderful experience from the moment we stepped into this glorious B&B until we left. This is the BEST B&B I've ever stayed in. It deserves the very top rating of places to stay in Hudson, NY.

Upon arrival we faced an incredibly imposing 1902 stone Victorian mansion. Once inside the foyer we looked up at the stained glass skylight and all around at the wooden walls, staircase and balcony. It was a magical sight, taking one back to the "Belle Epoch". We were immediately met by one of our hosts and owners, Wendell, who proceeded to take us on a tour of the first floor. We entered the library / salon with its museum quality stained glass and imposing wood carved ceiling and fireplace. We next saw the exquisite dining rooms facing, what in summer must be, a beautiful garden. Next we toured the former butler's pantry and the modernized, huge kitchen.

Upon arriving in our spacious bedroom, for which Wendell apologized since it was, as he said, the smallest in the house since we had booked late and all other rooms were taken. In it was a large, very comfortable queen sized bed with a down comforter, night stands, chest of drawers, desk, two comfortable arm chairs, a flat screen TV and a huge walk-in closet.There was also a spacious private bathroom with soft fluffy Royal Velvet towels and wash cloths.

The next morning we met Dini, the other host / owner and as it turned out chef. Breakfast was served in the gorgeous dining room facing the garden. It was bright and airy, just perfect for morning and breakfast. Dini offered us a choice of around 5-6 breakfast options from eggs any-style to chocolate chip pancakes, to omelets, oatmeal, etc. We opted for the morning special, delicious poached eggs in a wonderful sauce with fruit on the side. The second morning, I opted for his special omelet,again a marvelous choice with magnificent locally grown mushrooms from the farmer's market, and avocados. Meals were served on beautiful Spode and Lenox china. Dini directed us to the local bakery where he buys his breads since we commented on how delicious they were (Cafe la Perche on Warren Street).

All in all this was a wonderful stay. The B&B is gorgeous, Dini & Wendall are charming and gracious offering tips about shops and restaurants in town. We plan to return and stay here on our next trips to Hudson and vicinity.

Room Tip: Although our room was lovely and by no means small, reserve early for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronco0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Everything about this place was terrific. The room was lovely. The building is magnificent. The food was amazing. The location is great. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.6 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
14.7 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 16 in Hudson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Stewart House
Stewart House
#1 of 1 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
7.2 mi away
1805 House B & B
1805 House B & B
#1 of 2 in Claverack
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hudson

Property: The Inn at Hudson
Address: 317 Allen St, Hudson, NY 12534-2438
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and newly refurbished, this boutique Inn is adding luxury features as well as continuing the tradition of opulence, elegance and period charm established by previous owners Dini Lamott and Windle Davis. The Inn at Hudson is centrally located in the most elegant and historic neighborhood of Hudson. The Inn is within easy walking distance of several excellent restaurants, as well as Warren Street's renowned stretch of shops and landmark civic buildings. The Inn At Hudson offers five very large bright rooms each with private bath, A/C, Wifi and flat-screen TV. The room rate includes a gourmet breakfast. Massage services are available and need to be booked in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Hudson Hotel Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing