We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inn at Hudson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Hudson
Ranked #8 of 16 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
1 review
“We had a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

The Inn at Hudson was terrific, all around. We are glad to have discovered it. The Inn itself is very charming, inside and out. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed. The owners - Dini and Windle - were very hospitable and friendly and served a wonderful breakfast. One of the best experiences we have had. We would definitely return to the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
83
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
port washingon, ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Romantic, old world elegance greeted us at the Inn at Hudson. The gardens are magnificent as are the common rooms. I could not resist soaking in our huge claw foot tub. Our room was beautiful and the Innkeeper, Dini, accommodated our early breakfast needs. I would go out of my way to stay here again!

Room Tip: The pink room had a wonderful full flow shower and large free standing claw foot tub. Corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

A friend and I were pushed out of the Catskills by the after-effects of Hurricane Irene, and were lucky to get a recommendation for the Inn at Hudson. I was immediately charmed by Hudson, and the moment I saw the Inn, I was smitten. Beautiful outside and in, it is one of the most delightful buildings I have ever seen. The hosts -- we started our stay with lovely folks who were looking after the Inn for a bit while Dini and Windle, the owners, were away. -- were very accommodating with regard to choice of rooms, and all them are stunning. My friend and I opted for the smaller, but still spacious and elegant, back-hallway rooms with the shared bathroom; the main rooms are all gorgeous and welcoming, beautifully proportioned and decorated. The Green Room is the treat I am going to give myself as soon as I get the chance!

Dini and Windle returned our second day. They are charming and helfpul in every way (and Psyche the Maltese too!), and Dini's breakfasts are not to be missed: the house special of perfectly poached eggs with home-made pesto creme fraiche was exquisite. We felt entirely at home immediately, welcome to leave wine and snacks in the fridge, shown the coffee and tea making area, the stem ware. The back garden is a dreamy place to spend the late afternoon with a glass of wine after strolling through the town.

The bed was very comfortable, the room peaceful and charming, with wonderful old armoire that was much more fun to unpack into than a closet! Wifi and cell phones worked perfectly, the bathroom was spacious, the shower head tropical-rain-like. The common rooms are so inviting that I found myself almost wishing for a rainy day so that I could justify lounging in the library amongst the eclectic art, the huge and wide-ranging book selection, and the plump sofas. The other guests were great, and I had some very interesting conversations while visiting.

Many thanks to Dini, Windle, and friends for what were the most relaxing and soothing few days I have had in a long time!

Lara

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windledini, Owner at The Inn at Hudson, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I'm sorry you were chased out of the Catskills by hurricane Irene
but I'm glad we were able to accommodate you with such short notice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

We were in Hudson for a wedding and had the good luck to stay at the inn at Hudson. It was FANTASTIC. The house is a treasure and the owners have done an amazing job restoring it. If you have ever visited a historic site and wished you could stay there and experience being part of history you will really enjoy this Inn. Although there is every modern convenience (internet, flat screen, great water pressure, waterfall shower etc) you will get the sense of stepping back in time. When we next visit Hudson we will stay at the Inn at Hudson.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobnSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windledini, Owner at The Inn at Hudson, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
It's fun when people arrive and appreciate this house as much as we do.
We have worked hard to restore this over the top 1905 masterpiece.
Thank you for showing your beautiful artwork to us and it was a pleasure
having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Inn at Hudson for two nights, as part of a week-long tour of the grand estates along the Hudson River. This was, by far, the nicest place we stayed all week, and one of the best B&B's we have visited in over twenty years of traveling. The house itself is an architectural marvel, the rooms are huge and very comfortable, hosts Windle and Dini are helpful and entertaining, and even their dog is wonderful. Breakfasts are made to order, but I recommend you try Dini's daily special. I give this B&B my highest recommendation, and we hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

visited from los angeles..just before arrival in hudson by amtrack from nyc (gorgeous train ride that makes one see why all the hudson river painters were so attracted to the valley), we were called and offered to be picked up and driven to the inn. true, it's not a far walk from the train station to the inn, but the gesture was a nice start. on the way to the inn, we were given a quick tour of the decidedly small town, along with restaurant recommendations, etc., which was also a nice touch. this was our first "b & b" experience, and reluctantly so. i've always been fearful of the b & b for some reason, but can say that after our stay, my fears were unwarranted - at least in this instance. i found the entire stay to be pleasant, private and comfortable, and that a large part of this was due to the innkeepers interest in our having a great experience. we were offered rides to local attractions each day, and just enough attention to be not too much to interfere with privacy, but not too little to suggest apathy. plenty of advice was given for how to get around and what to see, all of which was very helpful. breakfasts were really outstanding. and not being a breakfast person, i just had to break tradition. our room was very, very comfortable, and we had great internet access and satellite tv, if that's important to one. the inn is also located conveniently near the center of town on a quaint residential street, which makes for an easy promenade to any of the local interests. it's also apparent that the innkeepers take pride in the upkeep of their property, as everything is neat and tidy. in general, our feeling was that we had a wonderful overall experience, and that it was the result of innkeepers who were excited about having guests and truly interested in the satisfaction of their customers. we didn't really see too many other lodging options in hudson, but would certainly and unreservedly recommend inn at the hudson if you're interested in seeing hudson and points beyond...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodrigocid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

The property is stunning, and the gardens are luxurious and immaculate. This is one of the finest B&B's we have experienced. Two blocks from the best antique stores and the auction house on the 500-block of Warren Street. We stayed in the cocoa room, which was large and bright, with a spacious sitting area and a nice bathroom. The bed was comfortable, with a great feather duvet (we wish the pillows had been the same!) Individually controlled split-system A/C kept our room at the perfect temperature. The breakfast was superb, with lots of different choices-- unusual for most B&Bs. The only negative-- and it is a small detail-- the interior of the room closet could use a freshening up. In every other respect, the care of the restoration and the fine details in the antiques and bedding were beyond our expectations.

Room Tip: The cocoa room has one of the best bathrooms in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucaEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windledini, Owner at The Inn at Hudson, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for your great review and I'm so glad you enjoyed your breakfast.
Dini loves to serve locally made breads and pestos along with eggs he buys at
Scare Crow farms just outside of town.
We try to keep a feather pillow in each closet and I'm sorry you didn't find one in the now repainted cocoa room closet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.6 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
14.7 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.4 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 16 in Hudson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Stewart House
Stewart House
#1 of 1 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
7.2 mi away
1805 House B & B
1805 House B & B
#1 of 2 in Claverack
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hudson

Property: The Inn at Hudson
Address: 317 Allen St, Hudson, NY 12534-2438
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and newly refurbished, this boutique Inn is adding luxury features as well as continuing the tradition of opulence, elegance and period charm established by previous owners Dini Lamott and Windle Davis. The Inn at Hudson is centrally located in the most elegant and historic neighborhood of Hudson. The Inn is within easy walking distance of several excellent restaurants, as well as Warren Street's renowned stretch of shops and landmark civic buildings. The Inn At Hudson offers five very large bright rooms each with private bath, A/C, Wifi and flat-screen TV. The room rate includes a gourmet breakfast. Massage services are available and need to be booked in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Hudson Hotel Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing