We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, cozy, and convenient!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Country Squire B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Country Squire B&B
Ranked #10 of 16 Hudson B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Charming, cozy, and convenient!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Paul and his Countrty Squire B&B were just what the doctor ordered. My boyfriend and I took a short holiday weekend getaway to Hudson, NY where we were warmly welcomed to town by Paul at his cute B&B, The Country Squire. The rooms were plenty spacious, with a fire going in the commons area (living room). The claw foot tub in the Queen Room was an added touch of romance and charm. During breakfast, the owner Paul, politely serves quiche, fruit, juices, and coffee as he shares history of the building and town. Stories covering such topics as Hudson's red light district, the house as a nunnery, and more. We will most definitely be back to stay longer come warmer weather!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
70
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

The owner of The Country Squire B&B knows how to make a trip away feel like you are right at home. We rented the entire B&B for a family wedding and were thrilled with what he found. He is a spectacular host and has made the B&B so cozy and inviting. We would highly suggest you stay there!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cadistephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

If you are looking for an escape, Hudson and the Country Squire make a great combination. Owner Paul has done an amazing job restoring this old home into four beautiful rooms, each with character and style...and absolutely NO frilly lace, stuff animals and other trappings of Victorian b&bs! He has an eye for color. Everything soothes. And the breakfast, made fresh by him and his sister, was a perfect start. Yogurt, fresh fruit, muffins, banana bread, zuchini bread, orange and grapefruit juice, cereals, coffee and tea, and quiche. We were stuffed!

Just two blocks away is Warren Street lined with shops, especially high-quality antiques (no musty smelling "classics!") and great restaurants. We recommend each of the one's we tried: Baba Louie's for organic pizza; Mexican Radio (famous mole sauce); and Ca' Mea, nice light Italian. The only downer was a coffee shop called Swallow, which didn't impress us. But that was a short-lived experience and we moved on.

We went in the dead of winter with temps in the single digits. And people we as nice as they could be, but none nicer than Paul. He's a great asset for the city and so, please book your Hudson trip with him. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vokar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

Paul has a great hotel in Hudson. The service and rooms are charming without any of the annoying aspects of B&B's. The rooms are clean and fashionable and have none of the typical Bed and Breakfast tchotchkes crowding the rooms or public areas. A very affordable and pleasant way to stay in Hudson.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjpUWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

This gorgeous B+B is just off the main drag and features beautiful rooms and a great porch for just hanging out on a summer night; the host will not steer you wrong on restaurant recommendations or things to do in Hudson. Breakfast was amazing. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoverstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

Having stayed in other B&B’s in Hudson, I can without hesitation recommend the Country Squire as JUST RIGHT. The rooms are lovely (yes, I have stayed in both the double with the sun deck as well as the lovely queen with the black/white toile motif). The Country Squire is ideally located, with plenty of off-street parking, sparkling clean rooms that aren’t too frilly but are decorated with an artful eye. The proprietor (Paul Barrett) is very helpful, pleasant and is just available enough to his guests. And the breakfast: What a treat…fabulous coffee/teas, fresh baked goods that a dream (go for the vanilla poundcake), fresh fruit salad, yogurt, quiche. What a lovely way to start the day. Each evening there was a crackling fire in the parlor, comfortable place to relax and read some of the many books on the Hudson area. I felt a bit like Goldilocks…this place is JUST RIGHT and I’ll plan to be back to be sure.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HedgeFundGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

We came to Hudson to visit Olana, the magnificent country home of artist Frederick Church, and we stayed at The Country Squire. Hudson has gone through a major transformation in the past decade and it is quite evident on Warren Street...filled with lovely shops, boutiques, and fine dining establishments. The buildings have been lovingly restored and are very welcoming. Paul, the proprietor of the Country Squire B and B has been part of this restoration. His love for the town is also reflected in his immaculate caring for the old rectory that he has brought back to life in this inn. He is a charming host, very gracious and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the personal touch he brought to our visit. We will certainly return for another visit. And, by the way, treat yourself to an amazing dinner at DaBa on Warren Street. It was a dinner we won't soon forget.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.6 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
9.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Baltimore Inn
BEST WESTERN New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
14.8 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 16 in Hudson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Stewart House
Stewart House
#1 of 1 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Squire B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Squire B&B

Property: The Country Squire B&B
Address: 251 Allen St, Hudson, NY 12534-2112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Country Squire Hotel Hudson
The Country Squire Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing