We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant and darling stay!”
Review of Batterby House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Batterby House
Ranked #10 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Paul is a remarkable and caring man. His quaint house and decor is forever inviting and his accomodating nature made our stay very welcome! Ill be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeilaBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 110 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights here last week when we drove up from Virginia to vist an elderly aunt. Paul went out of his way to make our stay an enjoyable one. As a former administrator at the Lyndhurst Mansion, he is a wealth of knowledge about the history and architecture of the Hudson Valley.
The Inn itself was a former rectory and then a convent. It has been beautifully restored and furnished by Paul. Our king-sized bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious (fresh fruit, juices, cereals, homemade breads, muffins and quiche). However, the best part of our stay was the superb service and intelligent conversation.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

This was a beautiful place to stay! Paul is so hospitable and maintains the perfect balance of giving people their privacy and providing a plethora of information about things to do/see in Hudson. Breakfast was delicious (I am still dreaming about those biscuts!) and the B & B had such a warm vibe, you felt immediately comfortable as your new home base for the weekend. Rooms were very clean, with nice amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariane321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Paul is a great Inn keeper, he is very helpful and respects his guest's privacy.
The Inn is nicely decorated, clean and very pleasant.
I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosaugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We went to Hudson for a weekend getaway from NYC. We selected Country Squire after reading about in guidebooks (City Weekends) and NYTimes reviews and as promised it was a great place to stay. The B&B is very close to the main street in Hudson, the room was very spacious and charming, and Paul (owner) extremely helpful in getting us information about activities around the area. Loved the small town atmosphere and how welcoming everyone was - our dinner reservations were booked by the owner of the specialty food shop. Overall, great experience for a quiet getaway from the city.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aromero0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

My husband and I wanted to escape from NYC for a weekend and decided on the historic town of Hudson.
We stayed at the Country Squire B&B and the owner Paul was very friendly and knowledgeable. When we arrived he recommended a variety of places to eat in town (all the ones we tried were great, especially Ca’Mea) and gave us a print out with all the events that were taking place locally that weekend. We followed one of his suggestions and watched a visiting blue’s band perform at a local bar called The Helsinki, which was very enjoyable.
Paul has put a lot of hard work into the B&B and has done a great job in decorating it to maintain its character without it looking old fashioned. We stayed in the King Room, which was huge and had a claw foot tub in the bathroom, the bed was really comfy.
Over breakfast Paul filled us in on the interesting history of Hudson while we ate cereal with fruit salad, quiche and a variety of delicious home-made baked goods.
We highly recommend the Country Squire and Hudson for a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I would echo all of the positive reviews the Country Squire has received on TripAdvisor. I think it's a B&B that has found the perfect balance of old world charm with contemporary elegance. In many ways a reflection of Hudson, NY. A town that has gone through an amazing renaissance in the past few years. This is not a B&B run by your doting great-aunt, but instead by a professional innkeeper who understands hospitality and has a passion for his work and the history of Hudson.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooklyn_Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hudson hotels
0.6 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hudson
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#1 of 3 in Hudson
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 17 in Hudson
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#6 of 17 in Hudson
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batterby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batterby House

Address: 251 Allen St, Hudson, NY 12534-2112 (Formerly The Country Squire B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: $195 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Batterby House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Batterby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Country Squire Bed And Breakfast
The Country Squire Hotel Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing