We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marvelous!”
Review of The Barlow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Barlow
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hudson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 8, 2014

we have stayed at the B and B owned by Russ and Duncan in the past so this time we decided to try out their hotel. everything is crisp and beautifully new. the multi-headed shower was amazing. the only improvement i can suggest is that they install a soapdish so that the soap doesn't go sliding around on the shower floor. we didn't have need of the fancy fridge or the fireplace since it was summer, but i appreciated the options. the bed was extremely comfortable. the location was right on the main strip in Hudson so you don't need to drive at all, and the parking lot is directly behind the building. the building is totally safe because you use your room key to get in. i really liked that the whole building is climate controlled so you don't have to worry about leaving the air on while you're out. plus it's greener! what a treat to stay at The Barlow!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jane_birkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal L, General Manager at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

We thank you for joining us at the Barlow Hotel. It is so gratifying to us and especially to our staff to know that you enjoyed the effort that they put into making your stay as pleasant as possible. I'm also glad that you enjoyed all of the amenities. We look forward to you staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 102 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

We arrived at Hudson on a Friday from New Jersey and went straight away to the wedding venue to help our friends set up.

Around 7pm I decided to call the Barlow and let them know we would be checking in late. I travel a lot and this is just a courtesy I like to do no matter where I'm staying if I know my check in will be late. Thank goodness I did. Said person who answered the phone stayed around until we got there to check in around 11pm. I'm not sure what would have happened if I hadn't called. I get the sense no one would have been there. So then what? I did not receive an email informing me of this detail. I thought I was going to a "hotel" with 24/7 staff. Overlooking this detail on informing guests is one of the reasons why I can't rate this place any higher.

This is a Bed and Breakfast without the breakfast and you don't have to share bathrooms. You will have your own. It should not be called a hotel however. There is no staff in the evening and no hotel amenities.

That said - the room was clean and just fine and I appreciated the nook with a couch and end table where I could check in on work from my laptop with free wifi (though .... a bit slow for this era.) The room was clean and the staff were wonderful when they were around.

Would I stay here again for the price? Probably not. I would stay somewhere outside the town for about half the price and drive in for the day. You only need a day on the main drag of Hudson unless you are seriously into antiques. There is antique store after antique store. I don't know how they all stay in business.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

V: We appreciate your feedback and comments and want to respond to them accordingly.

We market The Barlow as a European-style boutique hotel, which means we have neither a restaurant nor a bar. We apologize if you were under the impression that these were offered at The Barlow, but we don't advertise as such. In situations where guests will be checking in after our front desk closes (8:00 during the week, 11:00 on weekends) we do contact the guest personally to arrange alternative check in arrangements. Be assured this would have been extended to you if the need had arisen.

We're very happy to hear that all of your room amenities were excellent, a major factor for people when selecting a hotel choice, but this is the first we are hearing that the internet was slow. We will check to see if there are any issues, but this has not been an issue since we opened a year ago.

We are so sorry to hear you so disliked Hudson, which has been rated one of the top destinations in New York State by many publications including the New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and many prominent travel guides. We hope that, wherever your future travels take you, you will have a better experience than either The Barlow or the city of Hudson was able to provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Ooh, what a treat! My boyfriend and I stayed at the Barlow on a ski trip upstate from the city - just 40 mins from Hunter Mountain, we had to get on the road early, but it was a great alternative to the mediocre slopeside lodgings.

The hotel is recently opened, I believe, and you can tell - the rooms are shiny and new, and the bathrooms are incredible! The in-room keurig was a treat, as was the luxurious soaking tub, sweetly scented toiletries, and the multi-jet shower.

Parking is conveniently located just behind the hotel, which is situated on the main street in Hudson. While the Barlow has no dining on-site, you are just steps from a number of great restaurants, bars and shops.

As other reviewers have noted, some of the construction seems to be a tad shoddy and I would agree - some hardware fell off the bathroom sink while we were there. The in-room mini fridge gives off an unpleasantly bright light that affects sleep quality. Additionally, the fireplace is for show only and gives off no heat.

Despite these small complaints, we had a cozy and very comfortable stay - I would certainly return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesMK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal L, Manager at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed all of your in room amenities such as the walk in spa shower, keurig coffee maker, toiletries, and soaking tub. No better way to end a day of skiing then to relax in a hot bath.

We also appreciate your feedback about the refrigerator light. This will be something we have identified as being an issue and have addressed in almost all of our guest rooms. We apologize if you were not made aware of the heating option for the fireplace. We have included instructions on all of the mantles in every guest room to help future guests aid in using this great feature!

I hope you enjoyed your weekend in Hudson and the ideal skiing conditions that Hunter mountain provided. Come back to stay during our summer months to experience all of the great warm weather attractions that our area offers as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Our first time staying in Hudson. We very much enjoyed the Barlow.. rooms were very cozy. Love the fireplace, coffee maker and very high tech shower. Christine (I believe) was very friendly and explained all very clearly. More towels were delivered to our room promptly when we asked.
Our only comments, suggestions... We drove in from Virginia and I had a scare in realizing that the front desk basically shuts down at about 8PM.. not sure what we would have done if we'd gotten in late after a long drive, but perhaps there is a sign on the door if that happens.
Also.. what a lovely lobby, but never used.. Obviously we visited at a quiet time of the year (early April), but it seemed rather quiet and lonely.. would love morning coffee and muffins,, afternoon tea or wine and cheese in the lobby.. It would be a great place for guests to gather but we never saw anyone else there the entire time.

Room Tip: Take an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaVanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

E: On behalf of all of us at The Barlow thank you so much for the terrific review! We're so glad that all of your in-room amenities as well as our guest services met your needs so well. Thank you, too, for recognizing the efforts put forth by our staff to make your stay enjoyable. We will make sure to recognize their efforts accordingly.

For guests arriving after the Hotel's Front Desk is closed (8:00 during the week, later on weekends) our staff makes a concerted effort to ensure the guest is provided with all the necessary check-in information prior to arrival. Guests who have taken advantage of this service have been very pleased with the convenience it provides.

We invite our guests to make themselves comfortable in the Lobby, but not having a liquor license we are not able to provide any type of alcoholic beverages. Instead we encourage guests to take advantage of our Privilege Partners program and explore all the great places in Hudson to grab a cup of coffee, glass of wine, or a wonderful meal. Hopefully you found some favorite places of your own during your stay.

Thanks again for your comments and the great review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just a few things I'd like to review which I mentioned to the front desk twice - both people said "we'll let management know, but you probably won't hear from them." Great, thanks! Normally, something is done to the final invoice when there is an unhappy guest. Not here.
1. For cost of the room, bottled water should be provided and replaced daily. No vending machine in hotel and CVS closed at 7pm (on Friday) so were left thirsty for the night. Apparently there was a water cooler somewhere in the hotel, but was advised it was broken anyway upon checking out. There is an ice machine though?
2. WALLS ARE PAPER THIN, beware!!!! We were woken up both nights/mornings we stayed by our entire room and bed shaking from the couple above us. Also could hear conversations clear as day (or night I should say). Told the front desk about it and they said "We get complaints about this a lot and they might install more insulation, but that couple has checked out and there will be an older couple staying in that room now, so you shouldn't have that problem anymore!!" We still heard the new guests conversations.
3. No deadbolts on the doors, should have them!!
4. "Renovations" were done poorly, holes all over our bathroom by hardware and cracks in walls?

I must say the Barlow is clean which is important. The shower was wonderful. Nice clean white towels. And the bed was quite comfortable. The fireplace and flat screen tv were a nice addition.

Just way too expensive/pretentious for what we got overall. And the interesting part about this is that everyone we spoke to in town at the restaurants/bars who asked where we were staying made a face when we said the Barlow ...they asked how it was, as they've heard all negative things about it. So that didn't make us feel very good about choosing to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

S&R: Thanks for the comments. We're so happy you enjoyed most aspects of your stay - the room was clean, the shower (and hot water) worked well, and the bed was comfortable; important qualities one looks for in a hotel. For the category of room you booked and the amenities we provide our room rates are competitive with other properties in town. There are certainly less expensive options which may be a better fit for you should your travel plans bring you back to Hudson.

The Barlow is an environmentally friendly Hotel and, as such, we don't provide bottled water so as not to contribute to the already 2 million tons of water bottles that end up in our landfills. We do not advertise that we provide bottled water and we apologize if you were under the impression that we do.

We also apologize if other guests were making excessive noise. While this is difficult for us to control, in any situation where we were informed that another guest was being disruptive we addressed the problem immediately. Bringing it to the Front Desk's attention the following morning limited our ability to address the issue. While the insulation between rooms is enough for common noise, no amount of insulation would prevent loud televisions and/or arguments from being heard in an adjacent room. We apologize but there is a deadbolt on every guest room door.. However f you didn't see it we would have been happy to point it out to you had you asked.

The Barlow is one of five finalists for the 2014 Columbia County "Crystal Apple" Award, "presented to a Chamber member business to recognize an extraordinary contribution to economic progress, community improvement, and the quality of life in Columbia County" thanks to nominations from our fellow business members of the Chamber of Commerce. We're very proud of this accomplishment, and quite frankly find your final comments baseless, childish and petty and actually put your full review in a rather questionable light in terms of credibility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The management was rude and non existant, rooms were too hot (could not control the temperature-a.c blew in hot air). drapes did not cover windows so people could see inside our room as they walked down the side alley both day and night and the TV remote was missing so we could not use the TV timer. No water or refreshments in lobby until the morning we were leaving. As we were checking out, the staff was coming in the front door. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank KPB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Guests reading this review should be aware: this guest was issued a parking ticket because she parked in the incorrect area, even though instructions were thoroughly explained to her at check-in, printed on the parking permit she was issued, and clearly signed in the parking lot. She insisted that The Barlow pay the $15 ticket, even though it is Hotel policy that any ticket incurred by the guest is the responsibility of the guest as is indicated on the parking permit. This guest was extremely condescending and aggressive in speaking to Hotel staff. When it was explained that the Hotel was not liable for the ticket the guest responded, "Well if you don't pay this ticket I am going to go online and write a really bad review and tell everyone how awful this place is." Thus the review you have read.

None of the comments this guest made in her review reflect comments she made during her stay, which were actually quite positive, but instead are comments she copied from previous reviews.

TA refused to remove this fraudulent review, and we therefore were obligated to respond. As you will see from other reviews we take guests' comments quite seriously, but when they are outright falsehoods we felt it necessary respond accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I only live 35 minutes from Hudson. We had tickets for a dinner show at Club Helsinki and thought it would be a great winter getaway to stay at the Barlow for the night. It was very convenient to park the car and walk around town. The Barlow itself was awesome! There wasn't any amenity missing. The couch in sitting area was very comfortable. It was so relaxing sipping our wine in front of the fireplace. The shower had numerous jets and it felt like you were getting a personal massage. The staff was very friendly and helpful with restaurants for breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrosCrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

What a phenomenal review! All of us here at The Barlow say a big "thank you" for the sensational comments. We strive to provide all the amenities and services our guests require in order to make their stay memorable and it seems we did just that. Our Winter Special is an even better value than our regular rates, and we're happy you were able to use it during your visit. The Barlow's central location make it ideal for exploring all of Hudson, whether right across the street or down to the waterfront. We hope to see you back again soon. Until then thanks from all of us at The Barlow for a fantastic review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.7 mi away
The Wick, Hudson, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.2 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hudson
202 reviews
12.9 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom
0.7 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barlow

Address: 542 Warren St, Hudson, NY 12534-2826
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range: $158 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only locally owned and operated boutique hotel The Barlow is located in the heart of Hudson's historic business district and offers 16 fully appointed guest rooms and suites all with en-suite spa bathrooms. Guest room amenities include Keurig coffee brewers, personal safes, refrigerators, 32" flat screen televisions with DirecTV, and electric fireplaces. The renovation of the 1920's building has retained much of the historic charm while providing modern amenities today's traveler expects. The hotel's central location makes it a perfect base from which to explore all that Hudson has to offer. Our Privileges Partner program offers guests of the hotel discounts at most shops, restaurants, galleries and entertainment venues, making a stay at The Barlow and even better value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Barlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing