We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Barlow
Nearby Hotels
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western New Baltimore Inn(West Coxsackie)(Great Value!)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Lounge of Catskill(Catskill)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Elm Tree Motel(Craryville)
No availability for your dates from our partners
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
36
33
15
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
33
15
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexercise roomin townold buildingpublic lotnice boutique hotelking suitefront desk staffwarren stwithin walking distanceconvenient locationthis past weekendspacious bathroomcup of coffeethe main streetshops and restaurantsattention to detailmarlowe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 102 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were in town once again for the Annual Hudson Winter Walk, a really fun experience. We decided a little late that we were going again this year and the wonderful B&Bs in town, where we usually stay, were booked. It turned out we were glad they were. We remembered that last year one of the quaint old building on Warren Street (there are loads of quaint buildings in Hudson), the main thoroughfare, was being refurbished as a Hotel. The Barlow. Luckily we were able to get a last minute reservation there. The owners, Duncan & Russ did a fantastic job renovating the building and creating an elegant little luxury hotel. The lobby, although small is warm and inviting with arm chairs sofas and a nice fireplace.

Our room was one of the smaller ones but was by no means small. It was spacious, had a queen size bed and a seating area with a nice easy chair, two-seat sofa, coffee table and floor lamps. The room also had an electric fireplace for atmosphere as well as additional heat if needed. The bed linens were top quality and had a silken feel to them. The comforter was also excellent and pretty. A big plus was the free parking provided just behind the hotel on the municipal lot.

The bathroom was amazing, clean, bright with beautiful tile work. It was a good size with a full size tub and a spacious stand-alone spa shower with an overhead rain spout, 6 side jets and a hand-help shower head as well. Once in the shower it was hard to get out since it was so refreshing. There were plenty of thick, fluffy towels and face cloths as well as nice body soaps, shampoos, conditioners and body creams.

Other room amenities included a flat screen TV, an iPad / iPhone / iPod docking station and a Keurig Coffee Maker with a nice selection of coffees, teas and hot chocolate pods for the machine. There was also a small fridge to keep any snacks or drinks one may have purchased at a store or restaurant.

The one fault we found with our room was the lack of closet space for clothing. We brought this to Duncan & Russ's attention and they informed us that they were aware of that and had dressers on order for the rooms to correct that situation. Unfortunately for us the dressers were late in arriving and would not be in place until the week after our departure.

The hotel is situated half way up Warren Street making it the perfect location for Hudson's various restaurants, bakeries, antique shops, clothing stores, etc. Everything is in easy walking distance.

Last, but by no means least, is the wonderful and friendly staff from the owners , Duncan and Russ, to the receptionists and the house keeper. Everyone is friendly and there to make your stay enjoyable, and it was. Next trip to Hudson, The Barlow will be on the top of our list as the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronco0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

WOW! What an exceptional review - on behalf of all of the staff of The Barlow please accept our sincerest thanks! We're so thrilled that you found the Hotel and that everything we provide, from our services to our guest room amenities to our common areas, so thoroughly met your needs. Winter Walk is such a fun event and brings thousands of people to Hudson, kicking off the Holiday Season with lot of things to do and see. We hope you won't wait for next year's WW to return, but until then thank you so very much and all the best to you both this Holiday season and in the year to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed at the Barlow for 3 nights in middle of October, 2013. Room was great, spacious, had an amazing shower (see other reviews - I really want to find out where they ordered those so I can get one for my apartment). Front desk staff was very attentive, and very helpful with restaurant suggestions. Will definitely recommend when staying in Hudson.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K10025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thanks so much for your wonderful 5-star review! We're so happy you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially the shower. We've had so many guests ask where they can get one for their home! Our staff also thanks you for recognizing all they do to make our guests' stay memorable, including making restaurant and entertainment recommendations. On behalf of the Management and Staff of The Barlow we thank you for the sensational review and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

On our way driving upstate, a friend of us recommendedus to stay at the Barlow. When we arrived in the little town of Hudson we were happy to be warmly welcomed in this new hotel. It looked very fancy from outside. The lobby was very warm and the receptionist very friendly. We were, after a long day of driving, so happy there was an elevator to get to the second floor. There were boxes in the corridor but I'm sure this is due the hotel just opened and to finish it off. We booked the deluxe queensize room. At first sight wonderful; spacious, coffeemaker, fireplace, bathroom with shower and bath. After a wonderful meal in a restaurant near the hotel we went to sleep in the early evening. We had to find a way to darken the room as the fridge was lightening the room with a blue led light. Still jet lagged, we woke up around 5.30am. No problem we thought, let's take a hot shower, brew some coffee and plan the rest of our trip. Wishful thinking as there was no hot water. So we went back to bed after trying several times to wash ourselves with cold water. We tried again, again and again. No hot water. We didnt find a way how to use the phone so we went downstairs to find someone at the reception to help us. The desk was deserted. We washed ourselves with cold water and left kind of disappointed the Barlow.
We have stayed in so many hotels around the world and have to say that this one is comfortable with a warm welcome. But one of the most important things when you stay at a hotel like hot water and a way to do something about it was missing.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

T: Thank you for the feedback. We're not sure why there was an issue with the hot water only in your room. We didn't receive any other complaints (the previous review actually mentions that the water was too hot) and can only guess that you may have had difficulty with the operation of the spa shower.

Despite the above minor issue your other comments are greatly appreciated and for which we thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed for one night at the Barlow. Very clean, pleasant, recently refurbished hotel/historic building. Modern room with comfortable bed. Nice amenites - with unstocked fridge, gas fireplace, and wifi. Cute, comfortable front lobby with seating and fireplace. Parking available outside the back door and good location of hotel on Warren street. A little noisy due to traffic and local residents/kids out on the street at night. Our room/suite was in the front of the building.

One problem however, is the shower --it was difficult to figure out how to use properly. It has a rainshower head (very nice), body sprays and a handheld. After rinsing off, I turned shower off and then realized I still had some soap on and needed to rinse off again. Turned one of the middle handles that I thought was the handheld - and scalded myself. Fortunately, I shut the water off quickly enough so that it was not more severe. I would strongly suggest that the management have their plumbers check the antiscald mechanism on the unit and seriously decrease the max allowable temp. Also basic instructions /labelling on the multiple handles would be nice. Tried to tell the front desk on check out but no one was there - just a walkie talkie and instructions to press blue tape on walkie talkie to reach staff. No blue tape was on the walkie talkie and no one answered when I attempted to call over it.

With respect to visiting Hudson, we visited on a Monday - which I would not really recommend. I checked on line regarding the hours of the businesses in town - and it seemed to indicate that most were open Thurs or Friday through Monday (ie closed Tues and Wed). Found, however, that approx 50% are closed on Mondays. So definitely plan just a weekend trip if you are interested in shopping. On the plus side, it was quiet and very easy to get dinner (ate at Swoon- and had a very nice meal).

Room Tip: Rooms are probably quieter on the back side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We genuinely thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your recent stay with us at The Barlow and are happy to hear that your room met you needs so well and provided all the amenities you required. We're sorry to hear that some street noise may have been a slight nuisance. Being in the heart of Hudson that may happen, although very infrequently, on rare occasions.

The multi-head shower does take some getting used to, but each knob is labeled to indicate the function it controls. We're sorry if you were unaware or didn't notice these instructions. We will certainly have our plumber look into the hot water situation, especially since we have not had an issue with it in the 4 months we have been open. Again, our apologies for any stress this may have caused.

Like many towns during the off season Hudson is "quieter" at the beginning of the week. It is always recommended that guests check the hours of any shops in which they are interested prior to making a reservation to avoid any disappointment such as yours.

Again, thank you very much for the review and we hope to welcome you back to The Barlow in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is the place to stay in Hudson. Duncan and Ross have taken time to finish the place in an interesting manner. Its an old building with a new life. The sheets, bed, linens and supplies are great. The old of the hotel shows but not in a negative or dirty way. The location is perfect to walk the town. When they finish the gym and space in the basement it will be everything you could need in this cool little town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank International-Dov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

You've totally captured what we tried to accomplish with the extensive renovation of this historic building when creating The Barlow - thanks for the terrific review! We feel The Hotel is ideally located in the center of it all in order to maximize our guests' time in town. In addition to blending historic and modern we were also focused on our guests' comfort and we appreciate you recognizing our efforts to achieve just that.

We are currently working on the basement and hope to have that renovation completed shortly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews