We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Highlight”
Review of The Barlow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barlow
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hudson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Travel Highlight”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Husband and I, fifty-something empty nesters with wirefox terrier, on eight-day camp holiday to The 1000 Islands and Adirondacks with a midweek stop (Wednesday 21 August) in Hudson to catch Nick Lowe (my ultimate fave performer!) and (new fan of) Kim Richey at Club Helsinki.

Warmly greeted by young staff lady, offered heated 100% Terry Cotton Refreshment Towel infused with essential lemon oils – nice(!) touch after day of travel. Elegant room, air conditioning crisp, marvelous bed made with linens like home, awesome bath & shower! Free car park accommodations for our vehicle and camp gear trailer directly behind hotel.
Days later, home in Cleveland, realized iPad charger left behind. Called – told housekeeping has lost & found. Needless to say, our charger was located and sent back immediately.

Key features:

*Excellent communication – many thanks, Duncan!
*Spotless pet-friendly room
*Warm staff
*Fantastic location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
N:On behalf of the staff and management of The Barlow let me thank you for the awesome review, we really appreciate it! We're so happy you chose Hudson as a stopover point on your journey and that the Hotel could serve as a resting spot for all of you. Thank you for highlighting some of your favorite aspects of the Hotel as well as the 5-Star services we look to provide. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Once again many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    30
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
15
51
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The owners and staff have made an incredible lasting impression on us during our stay. This place is beautiful and comfortable. Staff are friendly but not intrusive. It is obvious they enjoy what they do and know that small details can make big impacts. This is an excellent place to stay and makes you want to come back again! Thank you for a wonderful holiday vaction!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
L: Such an amazing review deserves an equally enthusiastic thank you! The management and staff of The Barlow thank you so much for the wonderful comments. Staying at The Barlow is great and working there is just as fun - so happy you noticed. We can't wait for your both to stay with us again. Until then, our sincerest thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Croff House before so we were really excited to see what the owners had done with their new hotel. We only were staying one night and many b and bs require two ( plus they fill up fast!) The hotel was fantastic! The lobby is chic and inviting, the rooms are mid century in vibe- very elegant and not overdone. Our bathroom was fantastic- a bathrub to die for and a really fun shower with lots of shower heads. Russ , Duncan and their staff are very plugged into the Hudson scene and are very helpful in planning dining and other activities. The location is excellent- it is right on the best part of Warren Street and literally surrounded by restaurants, boutiques and antique shops. The hotel was very reasonably priced, which is a good thing because it left room for lots of shopping! I would highly recommend this hotel, and will be coming back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the largest room- family suite. It was perfect; well decorated, spacious and a bathtub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
R&C: What an awesome review - thanks so very much! We were so happy to welcome you to our newest property and even happier that your stay exceeded your expectations so highly. Glad you enjoyed the shower (it is more like an experience), the suite, and all aspects of the Hotel. Additionally we appreciate you recognizing all our staff does to make our guests' stay enjoyable - they're a great group. We look forward to having you both back again soon. Until then our sincerest thanks for the wonderful praises!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had an unfortunate stay at the Barlow. It sounded like an upscale hotel on the website but it is not there yet. I believe the owners are trying, but they don't tell you the hotel is still in construction. We checked-in to our king room to find a large drywall section had been cut out in the wall and raw drywall on the ceiling. A little warning might have helped. The headboard, shelves, and other surfaces were dust covered. We got over that and wiped the room down. The room had a window air-conditioner that struggled to get the temperature to 75. We awoke the next morning to a plumbing leak coming out of the light fixture in the bathroom. We had to be moved to another room, which one of the owner's called an upgrade. Since we wanted a king bed and shower, and moved to two double beds and a tub, we did not quite view it the same way. The window air conditioner in this room managed to keep the room a toasty 78, and this room too was not finished with construction. For this inconvenience we were offered a 10% discount on one night. I don't mean to pile on but in both rooms lamps did not work and dead bugs in the overhead lights were unappealing.
There are some positives: good beds and linens, quality bathroom fixtures and mini-fridge in each room. But the overall experience was far below expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
A: Thank you for your feedback. Being open only 8 weeks The Barlow is experiencing a number of growing pains. We could not anticipate that the condenser for the air conditioning would overflow (it wasn't actually a leak), but as soon as we were made aware of it we immediately upgraded you to the other room. Had you needed a King bed instead of the two Queen beds we would have been more than happy to accommodate you, all you needed do was ask. We also could not have anticipated having to make repairs to the building prior to your stay, but such was the case and we did not have time to fully complete the repairs prior to your arrival despite our best efforts. This has since been corrected and all sheet rock/drywall has been taped and re-painted.

As new as the business is so too is the housekeeping staff and their oversight on some of the housekeeping issues you mentioned has since been addressed. Again, thank you for bringing it to our attention. As far as the air conditioning goes when I went into your room after we upgraded you I noticed it was warm and saw the temperature control was not set to the coldest setting, but thought that might be how you preferred it. Again, had you said something during your stay we would have addressed it immediately.

We felt offering you a discount on the single night was only fair, although you seem to disagree. To our knowledge (at that time) there was nothing wrong with your second night. Even when I asked how things were during check-out you did not mention anything as indicated in your review. Our apologies if The Barlow did not meet with your expectations. Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A quick review of a gem of a hotel in the exciting town of Hudson. The Barlow, recently opened this year, is beyond welcoming. The owners have done an incredible job of transforming what must have been an office / housing type building (only a few floors tall) into a modern and very comfortable boutique hotel. From the warm welcome we received at check in to the comfort of our delightful room, our stay was perfect. I highly recommend the Barlow for anyone coming to the charming town of Hudson. It fits the town perfectly - not too large but with the sophistication of a big city hotel. A perfect stay!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nednyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
N: What an awesome review - the management and staff of The Barlow thank you so very much for your superlative comments about your recent stay. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and could recognize all we have done to transform a long abandoned building into Hudson's newest boutique hotel. Modern. Charming. Sophisticated. Delightful. Words we think describe The Barlow perfectly. Our sincerest thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Love the charm and the sophistication of The Barlow! The green awning catches your attention....then you walk inside and are greeted by not only a welcoming staff but a relaxing environment ...The feel is modern, but not stark.....the clean lines say "CLASS"! The rooms have every convenience you could ask for! And if you should feel the need to ask for something (not sure why you would!) the owners, Russ or Duncan are there to make sure your stay is everything you could hope for and more!!!

The restaurants are awesome and Russ / Duncan are more than happy to help with reservations or suggestions to help keep you busy or to just relax and enjoy your stay!

Stayed for several nights and can't wait to go back! Even if it's just to sleep in the amazing beds!

Room Tip: From what I could tell....all rooms are fantastic! And 2nd or 3rd floor doesn't matter because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
G: Our first review and and excellent one at that - thank you SO much. We're so happy that The Barlow exceeded your expectations to such a great degree from the design to our service. All of the staff at the hotel do their best to make sure every guest has a fun, relaxing and memorable stay and it seems we did just that. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Once again our sincerest thanks for your outstanding praise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.2 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
184 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
248 reviews
14.8 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 17 in Hudson
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#6 of 17 in Hudson
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Hudson
The Inn at Hudson
#7 of 17 in Hudson
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barlow

Property: The Barlow
Address: 542 Warren St, Hudson, NY 12534-2826
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hudson's historic business district. The Barlow offers 16 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites all with en-suite spa bathrooms. Guest room amenities include Keurig coffee brewers, personal safes, refrigerators, 32" flat screen televisions with DirecTV, and electric fireplaces. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing